SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Nov 20, 2012, 05:42 AM
Registered User
u2builder's Avatar
USA, NH, Alstead
Joined Oct 2007
4,977 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SCVJeff View Post
Has anyone changed the Deans connector to an EC3? I'm not really interested in making adapters
Perhaps you could purchase and adapter and leave it in place. Seems like one could get in trouble soldering onto the board.
u2builder is offline Find More Posts by u2builder
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 20, 2012, 11:06 AM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2009
254 Posts
That's 8 connectors along with the additional weight to go bad on a Hex that doesnt glide real well. I'm one of the best soldering folks I know, and keep both 2 & 4% Silver Solder rolls here. I'd like to see how someone else's job came out first
SCVJeff is offline Find More Posts by SCVJeff
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 11:31 AM
Registered User
United States, NC, Wilmington
Joined Aug 2011
769 Posts
Mine had the xt60's on it and I swapped it for Deans. No problem in doing so. Going to EC3's would require a small pig-tale though to keep it simple.
MASHTON is offline Find More Posts by MASHTON
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 12:51 PM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2009
254 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by MASHTON View Post
Mine had the xt60's on it and I swapped it for Deans. No problem in doing so. Going to EC3's would require a small pig-tale though to keep it simple.
i was thinking about 12ga THHN solid copper. Should be easy to form. I hate to change it so soon, but that many adapters is just asking for a failure.
SCVJeff is offline Find More Posts by SCVJeff
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 01:19 PM
Registered User
squishy654's Avatar
Joined Jun 2010
523 Posts
I am having trouble just seeing all the settings in the software, see my picture...anyone else seen this or solved it?

squishy654 is offline Find More Posts by squishy654
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 01:30 PM
Registered User
u2builder's Avatar
USA, NH, Alstead
Joined Oct 2007
4,977 Posts
Yes, I have exactly the same problem. I love my Tiny OSD but the software is really impossible for me to use. I did the XP emulation. The last time I tried it wouldn't even connect properly and gave me errors. Very frustrating. I have given up. I sent a PM to Skylark asking if they could please work on the software and make it simple to connect to a Vista/Win7/8 computer.
u2builder is offline Find More Posts by u2builder
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 05:47 PM
Do it once, do it right
New Zealand
Joined Jan 2011
133 Posts
Hi all.

I have got a HK Tiny OSD III. I finally got it connected to my PC and then upgraded the firmware to V2.7 off the Skylark FPV site and now it doesnt work.

After it didnt work I checked and the firware seems to be for the Tiny OSD II.

Is it stuffed or can it be fixed.

I have ordered a Tiny OSD III from SkylarkFPV. I noted that the title is OSD III but in the description is saws OSD II.

Cheers
mrrf900 is offline Find More Posts by mrrf900
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 06:48 PM
Gary
glmccready's Avatar
United States, MD, Salisbury
Joined Mar 2011
2,257 Posts
mrrf900: I'm sure it can be fixed! Just write to Skylark or ask on their forum:
http://fpvlab.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?39

BTW: might try this v2.8!

I saw this on there and it totally confused me so it is not just you
http://fpvlab.com/forums/showthread....k-OSD-firmware

Only for Tiny OSD II/III [update: July 9]
Tiny II Firmware V2.8 [Download]
New features:
1. Support digital RSSI
2. Add Total Distance in flying summary
3. Enable/Disable flying summary by software
4. Add GPS coordinates on Summary screen
glmccready is offline Find More Posts by glmccready
Last edited by glmccready; Nov 20, 2012 at 08:20 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 07:28 PM
Registered User
Joined Apr 2011
176 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by u2builder View Post
Yes, I have exactly the same problem. I love my Tiny OSD but the software is really impossible for me to use. I did the XP emulation. The last time I tried it wouldn't even connect properly and gave me errors. Very frustrating. I have given up. I sent a PM to Skylark asking if they could please work on the software and make it simple to connect to a Vista/Win7/8 computer.
Dear u2builder,

Thanks for your concern and support.
Our technical teams are working on it.

Best regards,
Skylark FPV Service Center
http://www.SkylarkFPV.com
skylarkfpv is offline Find More Posts by skylarkfpv
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 09:41 PM
Registered User
Joined Apr 2011
176 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrrf900 View Post
Hi all.

I have got a HK Tiny OSD III. I finally got it connected to my PC and then upgraded the firmware to V2.7 off the Skylark FPV site and now it doesnt work.

After it didnt work I checked and the firware seems to be for the Tiny OSD II.

Is it stuffed or can it be fixed.

I have ordered a Tiny OSD III from SkylarkFPV. I noted that the title is OSD III but in the description is saws OSD II.

Cheers
Sorry for the trouble
The latest hardware is Tiny OSD III, firmware is V2.8
We will update the description in our website

If you'd like, you can send your OSD board to us, we can help you repair it.
Please confirm if the Configuration Tool can connect with the OSD board?

Best regards,
Skylark FPV Service Center
http://www.SkylarkFPV.com
skylarkfpv is offline Find More Posts by skylarkfpv
Last edited by skylarkfpv; Nov 21, 2012 at 12:20 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 09:58 PM
Gary
glmccready's Avatar
United States, MD, Salisbury
Joined Mar 2011
2,257 Posts
OK, how cool is that! Info direct from Skylark themselves! BTW: I really like my Tiny, just what I need for my Quad heli short range OSD!
glmccready is offline Find More Posts by glmccready
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 11:22 PM
Registered User
Perth, Western Australia
Joined Jun 2009
478 Posts
Very Cool!
I can report excellent customer service from the SkylarkFPV group. I listed a problem with my OSD on this thread and they picked it up, diagnosed it as a malfunctioning chip and invited me to return it for free repair/replacement. I took up this offer and although postage to China and back was slow, it only cost me $20 in postage for a free fully serviced replacment board :-)

Excellent product. Excellent Company - well done skylark!
-Matt
pheonix3 is offline Find More Posts by pheonix3
Last edited by pheonix3; Nov 20, 2012 at 11:32 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 03:22 PM
Registered User
squishy654's Avatar
Joined Jun 2010
523 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by skylarkfpv View Post
Dear u2builder,

Thanks for your concern and support.
Our technical teams are working on it.

Best regards,
Skylark FPV Service Center
http://www.SkylarkFPV.com
Thanks, I really want to be able to calibrate my OSD, my RSSI reading is hard to use like this.
squishy654 is offline Find More Posts by squishy654
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 03:33 AM
Do it once, do it right
New Zealand
Joined Jan 2011
133 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by skylarkfpv View Post
Sorry for the trouble
The latest hardware is Tiny OSD III, firmware is V2.8
We will update the description in our website

If you'd like, you can send your OSD board to us, we can help you repair it.
Please confirm if the Configuration Tool can connect with the OSD board?

Best regards,
Skylark FPV Service Center
http://www.SkylarkFPV.com
Hi, no it will not connect to the OSD. Was going fine prior to uploading V2.7 firmware. After that it wouldnt connect and a blip of the led when plugging in or pressing reset button
mrrf900 is offline Find More Posts by mrrf900
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 01:29 PM
Gary
glmccready's Avatar
United States, MD, Salisbury
Joined Mar 2011
2,257 Posts
I've had no trouble getting my software to run in XP mode on both my Win7 64bits machines. The instructions are not too clear on how to do the "calibration". I do get errrors but only with writing certain settings to the OSD: These include "flight sumurize" and "voltage". I've tried powering the OSD with only the USB and with the battery and rssi connected. Couldn't even get "unit select" to work today, but have in the past, and did set it to imperial mph. Not sure what the voltage is supposed to be set on anyway? I'm using a 4s battery os it is 16.8v topped off or 14.5v when I want to land?
glmccready is offline Find More Posts by glmccready
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product NEW BSII OSD - Smallest OSD in the market fpvsystems FPV Talk 12 Jun 19, 2010 03:59 AM
Discussion DX6i full featured? benedium Radios 24 Feb 28, 2010 07:45 AM
Discussion Smallest 'Full House' EDF FlyAndy Electric Ducted Fan Jet Talk 6 May 13, 2009 11:08 PM
Discussion Larger full featured "Rookie"? hangglider Flying Wings 2 Jan 23, 2006 02:43 PM
"Gilligan's Island" hotwire foam cutter; easy yet full-featured vpatron Foamies (Kits) 19 Dec 19, 2005 10:43 PM