SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Oct 14, 2012, 02:37 PM
Registered User
u2builder's Avatar
USA, NH, Alstead
Joined Oct 2007
4,977 Posts
How to connect Skylark Trace IV?

I am thinking of buying one but don't understand connection to camera and TX. I assume I run 12V power and ground to my 12V camera and TX from connections on OSD, correct?

Camin: Is this where the yellow signal wire from the camera connects?
Cbvsout: Is this where video output fromOSD connects to the yellow signal wire of the TX?
Audioout: What is this and does it connect to one of the audio channels of the TX?
u2builder is offline Find More Posts by u2builder
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 15, 2012, 10:26 AM
Gary
glmccready's Avatar
United States, MD, Salisbury
Joined Mar 2011
2,417 Posts
Correct
Camin = camera signal in
Cbvsout = must be Video out
Both must have a common ground
Audio out= ? No clue, audio doesn't need to be processed but the diagram in the manual shows three wires to the Tx?
http://www.skylarkfpv.com/u_file/pro...8575770679.pdf
glmccready is offline Find More Posts by glmccready
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2012, 06:31 AM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2012
3 Posts
Hi,
I need some help with the tiny OSD ii,
I am trying to configure it on a of and can't get it to work.
I installed the USB connector to the GPS port, the of installs the driver and assigns a com port to it, but then when I run the config tool it fails to hardware detect, it comes up with a port 12 open error. I've tried to change ports manually and auto but no luck. I am baffled

Any one know what is going on??

Thanks
John
BondiRC is offline Find More Posts by BondiRC
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2012, 06:33 AM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2012
3 Posts
Sorry I did not realise the spell-check error

Hi,

I need some help with the tiny OSD ii,
I am trying to configure it on a PC and can't get it to work.
I installed the USB connector to the GPS port, the PC installs the driver and assigns a com port to it, but then when I run the config tool it fails to hardware detect, it comes up with a port 12 open error. I've tried to change ports manually and auto but no luck. I am baffled

Any one know what is going on??

Thanks
John
BondiRC is offline Find More Posts by BondiRC
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2012, 10:13 AM
Gary
glmccready's Avatar
United States, MD, Salisbury
Joined Mar 2011
2,417 Posts
Bondrc: You might try to open up "device manager" and then plug it in to see which port actually is used. You can then change it and then try to connect. That is what i had to do.
glmccready is offline Find More Posts by glmccready
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2012, 10:48 AM
-plancks only-
Franck's Avatar
The Netherlands, UT, Benschop
Joined Oct 2001
1,082 Posts
Tiny OSD 1 and RSSI, question

Hi Guys,

I am about to connect my Multiplex IPD DS Reciever to the Tiny OSD. I measured output on the SA676 chip and with TX on I have 1,45V and TX off 1.1V. Can I just connect this voltage (via wire/connector) to the OSD ?

Tnx a bunch!

Franck
Franck is offline Find More Posts by Franck
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 02, 2012, 04:11 AM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2012
3 Posts
Glmccready: thanks buddy, I figured it out. I had to muck about with the com port allocation in the device manager..
BondiRC is offline Find More Posts by BondiRC
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2012, 12:03 PM
Registered User
u2builder's Avatar
USA, NH, Alstead
Joined Oct 2007
4,977 Posts
I have just gotten a new Skylark III Tiny OSD. I don't have it hooked up yet because I am still awaiting some FPV gear but would like to get it "programmed".

What is the basic proceedure to configure the software and/or firmware?

Does the Skylark need to be powered up with 5V in order for it to be programmed, or is the USD connection all that is needed?

I have been to the Skylark website but am a little confused about what software goes with with the Tiny III. If this information is posted somewhere a link would be great, or if not, a brief explanation. Thanks.
u2builder is offline Find More Posts by u2builder
Last edited by u2builder; Nov 11, 2012 at 12:22 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2012, 12:38 PM
Gary
glmccready's Avatar
United States, MD, Salisbury
Joined Mar 2011
2,417 Posts
I think you are good to go if you have version III. I can't recall but just try to plug in the USB and run the software. If it doesn't power then run a servo cable to the Rx for power (5v). Should be everything you might need on this page:
http://www.skylarkfpv.com/en/down.php
And here a a Google doc too:
https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B-tv...N1k/edit?pli=1
glmccready is offline Find More Posts by glmccready
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2012, 02:20 PM
Registered User
u2builder's Avatar
USA, NH, Alstead
Joined Oct 2007
4,977 Posts
When trying to connect it only lets me manually select the Com Port and there is only one choice (com port 4) and I get "open com port 12 err. As fa as I can tell com port 12 is not open. How do I connect. I tried two different computers (Vista and Win 7)
u2builder is offline Find More Posts by u2builder
Last edited by u2builder; Nov 11, 2012 at 02:56 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2012, 04:20 PM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2011
68 Posts
you don't need 5v power, just plug in the USB port.
In order to solve your problem, right click the skylark app, then select properties .
Under the compatability tab, select to windows XP.
Run the program again and let it choose the com port automatically ,
Ask me how I know... (did it yesterday...).
Assaf110 is offline Find More Posts by Assaf110
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2012, 04:53 PM
Registered User
u2builder's Avatar
USA, NH, Alstead
Joined Oct 2007
4,977 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Assaf110 View Post
you don't need 5v power, just plug in the USB port.
In order to solve your problem, right click the skylark app, then select properties .
Under the compatability tab, select to windows XP.
Run the program again and let it choose the com port automatically ,
Ask me how I know... (did it yesterday...).
Yep, finally worked. Thanks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!
u2builder is offline Find More Posts by u2builder
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 11:03 AM
Registered User
u2builder's Avatar
USA, NH, Alstead
Joined Oct 2007
4,977 Posts
Hey guys, what "triggers" the final "flight summary" page?

Also, if Skylark is monitoring this thread, I would like to suggest that they update the Configuration Program to work with modern computers like Win 7 or 8 and not require the XP emulation mode. The screen doesn't really look right on my computer and is hard to navigate even in the XP mode.
u2builder is offline Find More Posts by u2builder
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 11:19 AM
Gary
glmccready's Avatar
United States, MD, Salisbury
Joined Mar 2011
2,417 Posts
u2: I think it triggers when you stop changing position. Mine seems to popup whenever I hover my quad, and it disappears again when I start traveling.
glmccready is offline Find More Posts by glmccready
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 12:07 PM
Registered User
u2builder's Avatar
USA, NH, Alstead
Joined Oct 2007
4,977 Posts
OK, that does seem to be what is happening. And sometimes the "speed" sensing doesn't seem to be all that accurrate so even when I am going, which is always fairly slow, it pops up. The barometric altitude is pretty decent though which is the most important.
u2builder is offline Find More Posts by u2builder
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product NEW BSII OSD - Smallest OSD in the market fpvsystems FPV Talk 12 Jun 19, 2010 04:59 AM
Discussion DX6i full featured? benedium Radios 24 Feb 28, 2010 08:45 AM
Discussion Smallest 'Full House' EDF FlyAndy Electric Ducted Fan Jet Talk 6 May 14, 2009 12:08 AM
Discussion Larger full featured "Rookie"? hangglider Flying Wings 2 Jan 23, 2006 03:43 PM
"Gilligan's Island" hotwire foam cutter; easy yet full-featured vpatron Foamies (Kits) 19 Dec 19, 2005 11:43 PM