HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
This thread is privately moderated by Viper82, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Old Apr 09, 2011, 10:46 PM
Trolls more than he flys.
Gringostr's Avatar
USA, AZ, Queen Creek
Joined Sep 2009
1,883 Posts
also, to smooth it out and pull out some of those rocks on the top, get a roll of fence with a couple bricks in the middle of the roll, and drag it around with your truck, and it will smooth it out a bit, and pull quite a bit of the rocks out.
Gringostr is offline Find More Posts by Gringostr
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 09, 2011, 10:55 PM
Registered User
United States, NC
Joined Feb 2011
1,903 Posts
That too is a great idea. This thing has alot of potential. I wish my jet had landing gear, would be alot less nervous to maiden. I've got my BN2 ready again. I may try the Blue MX reciever but It has already failed on me twice resulting in crashes. Maybe I just had the ants setup wrong. Range tested good.
If I do decide to fly it I will take some pictures of it on the runway for size reference. I might try to setup the tripod and get some takeoff videos.

My plan for tomorrow is to fill any small divets and get all rocks out. I've got about a 20ft section that is slick as ice. Perfect for takeoffs. I attempted to land on it once yesterday, before the RX browned out or failed or something. Overshot the runway and landed @ the end in the loose dirt. Stopped like a mountain runway truck ramp
Viper82 is offline Find More Posts by Viper82
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 09, 2011, 10:57 PM
Trolls more than he flys.
Gringostr's Avatar
USA, AZ, Queen Creek
Joined Sep 2009
1,883 Posts
for your jet, just land in the grass.
Gringostr is offline Find More Posts by Gringostr
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 09, 2011, 11:06 PM
Registered User
United States, NC
Joined Feb 2011
1,903 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gringostr View Post
for your jet, just land in the grass.
Yea, I wish I could land it on the runway tho, and more so takeoff.
With its design and placement of the aileron servos it would be difficult to install retracts or even fixed gear. Not to mention drag.

Oh well.
I'm ready to fly it, I just need to get a full range rx. I should have went to lhs today and got one
Viper82 is offline Find More Posts by Viper82
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 09, 2011, 11:40 PM
Registered User
Newbury, VT
Joined Aug 2010
262 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quick61 View Post
...cover with a thin layer of sand and IF you can get it cheap, ground and cleaned slag...
Just did a Google search of "slag" and got a whole new education about slag, dross, fly ash, ledgepack, stone dust...my head is reeling with the possibilities. Probably should design and build a house first but RC runways are way more interesting. Gotta keep things prioritized.

LaneVT
LaneVT is offline Find More Posts by LaneVT
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2011, 10:49 AM
Registered User
United States, NC
Joined Feb 2011
1,903 Posts
Yea, I've never worked with slag, worked around Fly ash when I was a Boilermaker apprentice. Man that was a hard job.

Well, bout time to go work on the airstrip a little. I may get some more pics

Thanks guys for all your good ideas!
Viper82 is offline Find More Posts by Viper82
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2011, 08:43 PM
Registered User
United States, NC
Joined Feb 2011
1,903 Posts
Didn't work on the airstrip today.

I flew my BN2 almost all day... Broke my nose wheel steering horn on my first landing. So I decided to remove the landing gear, and land in the grass.

So now only plane I have with gear is the champ.

I guess I'll just have to get a EPO T-6 so I can land it on the airstrip

No crashes today. Feels kinda wierd not having a airplane to repair tonight. I need another kit to build.
Viper82 is offline Find More Posts by Viper82
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2011, 10:33 PM
Trolls more than he flys.
Gringostr's Avatar
USA, AZ, Queen Creek
Joined Sep 2009
1,883 Posts
No epo. Get balsa. Flies better. End of story. I used to only do foam, and now I am going to balsa, with the exception of my epp yak.
Gringostr is offline Find More Posts by Gringostr
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2011, 10:53 PM
Registered User
United States, NC
Joined Feb 2011
1,903 Posts
Not sure If I'm ready for balsa.. I was just talking to a guy about that... I've got a whole woodworking shop here. My grandfather used to build all kinds of furniture... Got every kind of saw and stuff you can think off... Shopsmith... thing that drills a square hole, plainers, jointers...
I would probably bust it into 10000 toothpicks...
I think I'll stick with foam for a little longer.
Viper82 is offline Find More Posts by Viper82
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2011, 11:04 PM
Trolls more than he flys.
Gringostr's Avatar
USA, AZ, Queen Creek
Joined Sep 2009
1,883 Posts
Just get a standard ARF.... Maybe like the 41" edge from 3dhs. Its only 99 bucks. Loads of fun to put together.
Gringostr is offline Find More Posts by Gringostr
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2011, 11:38 PM
Registered User
United States, NC
Joined Feb 2011
1,903 Posts
I think I may make the runway twice as wide and a T or + or X shape. Today when the wind was blowing 90* it was almost impossible to land or takeoff.
Viper82 is offline Find More Posts by Viper82
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2011, 11:09 AM
Flutter-Bys are fun
Conehead's Avatar
United States, MI, Honor
Joined Dec 2005
5,119 Posts
Nice runway. Mine is all sand or weeds and sand, nice work, best part, no one can tell you can't fly.

Nice place you got.
Conehead
Orrin Eldred
Conehead is offline Find More Posts by Conehead
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: TRAMPS Air Show, 28-June 2014
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2011, 03:01 PM
Trolls more than he flys.
Gringostr's Avatar
USA, AZ, Queen Creek
Joined Sep 2009
1,883 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Viper82 View Post
I think I may make the runway twice as wide and a T or + or X shape. Today when the wind was blowing 90* it was almost impossible to land or takeoff.
do that. theres a field near my house that i fly at, the runway is just a huge circle.
Gringostr is offline Find More Posts by Gringostr
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2011, 12:15 PM
Registered User
United States, NC
Joined Feb 2011
1,903 Posts
Worked on the runway a little this morning.

It's now 3 times as wide and a little longer. I still haven't made it a X or + shape. Still single North-South strip. I figure that will work good enough for now. Our wind always comes from the south anyway.

I'll try to shoot some video of my P-47 taking off and hopefully landing this evening.
Viper82 is offline Find More Posts by Viper82
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2011, 04:39 PM
Registered User
United States, NC
Joined Feb 2011
1,903 Posts
A few photos of it now.

I still have to rake it before using it this evening.
Panorama isn't that great, kinda bent the photo. I assure you it is straight




I would guess it's 120'+ feet long and 14'-16' wide.
Viper82 is offline Find More Posts by Viper82
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Can I use a RC Plane Transmitter for my RC Boat? chevchelios Dock Talk 2 Mar 03, 2011 11:38 PM
Yippee! we can take away the fance, make a long RC airstrip! GWS4CEO GWS (Grand Wing Servo) 8 Dec 15, 2005 08:47 PM
My airstrip and a Storm AcePilot Aerial Photography 10 Sep 05, 2004 04:12 AM