SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Apr 13, 2011, 01:00 AM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2010
65 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by miru View Post
The serial GPS will be a problem on the Arduino, it has only 1 UART and we need that to talk to the drone. I think there are I2C GPS chips out there?
A serial GPS is OK to use “soft” serial port provided by NewSoftSerial on Arduino:
http://arduiniana.org/libraries/NewSoftSerial/

Here is an example for GPS to use it:
http://www.ladyada.net/make/gpsshield/download.html

The at2so on-drone app can mark down the GPS position when received Takeoff AT comamnd "AT*REF=1,290718208\r", and make Auto-Return in case of out of control from RC (e.g.: out of range).
MAPGPS is offline Find More Posts by MAPGPS
Last edited by MAPGPS; Apr 13, 2011 at 05:33 AM.
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 13, 2011, 03:20 PM
Registered User
Vista, CA
Joined Feb 2008
1,235 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by MAPGPS View Post
A serial GPS is OK to use “soft” serial port provided by NewSoftSerial on Arduino:
http://arduiniana.org/libraries/NewSoftSerial/

Here is an example for GPS to use it:
http://www.ladyada.net/make/gpsshield/download.html
Thanks for the link. I looked at it, think they are spending way too much time in the interrupt routine and they do turn interrupts off while they are sending. Also, the implementor thinks it is a compiler bug if the scratch registers are not saved when a procedure is called...

Quote:
Originally Posted by MAPGPS View Post
The at2so on-drone app can mark down the GPS position when received Takeoff AT comamnd "AT*REF=1,290718208\r", and make Auto-Return in case of out of control from RC (e.g.: out of range).
That would be a nice feature, you could just turn off your transmitter and it would come back home!
miru is offline Find More Posts by miru
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2011, 08:21 PM
Registered User
United States, OH, Powell
Joined Dec 2006
307 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lorenzo29 View Post
Hello,

in order to help for wiring as asked by some of us :


I hope it is error free.
Please tell me if you spot some mistakes. I will update it...

Cheers.

Laurent D
so...I have the Arduino card that I was going to use with the break box and connect the drone with the USB port.

how is the Arduino programmed.....with out the usb breakout box?
rjrobbin is offline Find More Posts by rjrobbin
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2011, 09:27 PM
Registered User
Vista, CA
Joined Feb 2008
1,235 Posts
I just made a cable, that brings VCC, GND, TX and RX from the serial interface to the board, this way I did not need to solder in more sticks. If you look at the pictures of my previous post, you'll see I put a 4 position header on (RAW,GND,RST,VCC), this is where VCC and GND from the programmer go, TX and RX go to the other header. This setup does not have an auto-reset when you download, so you start the download and press reset on the board until the Arduino IDE shows the message that it has compiled the sketch, it will download right after that.
miru
miru is offline Find More Posts by miru
Last edited by miru; Apr 13, 2011 at 09:37 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2011, 11:35 PM
Registered User
USA, CA, Fontana
Joined Mar 2005
1,091 Posts
Arduino IDE

Okay. Its my first time using this IDE.
1. I launched the IDE. Make sure to choose Tool>Board>Arduino Pro Mini 5V..328
2. From the menu, I click on Sketch>Add File>
3. The choose file "rx2at.c"
4. Then from menu. I click on Sketch>Verify/Complie
5. Once complied, I click File>Upload to Board

I am hoping this is right and I choose the right file "rx2at.c" from the dr003 folder.

Thanks
actionplus is offline Find More Posts by actionplus
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2011, 12:02 AM
Registered User
USA, CA, Fontana
Joined Mar 2005
1,091 Posts
Error

I am getting this error when I try to upload.
Binary sketch size: 11236 bytes (of a 30720 byte maximum)
avrdude: stk500_recv(): programmer is not responding
avrdude: stk500_recv(): programmer is not responding

P/s-I am using a MacBook Pro

Could it be that my programmer is not showing in the Serial Port menu. Only see bluetooth items on there.
actionplus is offline Find More Posts by actionplus
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2011, 05:43 AM
Registered User
France - Brest
Joined Oct 2007
55 Posts
Hello,

i'm on MAC as well...

As a serial interface, i use a FTDI Breakout 5V Sparkfun :
http://www.sparkfun.com/products/9716

On arduino IDE, it appears as :
Tools -> Serial Port =>
/dev/tty.usbserial-A700eDIY

The driver for this serial interface, as long as it is based on a FTDI is given with the Arduino IDE...
The one i use is :
FTDIUSBSerialDriver_v2_2_16.dmg
Pick it up here :
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/2463308/FTDI...er_v2_2_16.dmg

It should work better...

Cheers.

Laurent D
Lorenzo29 is offline Find More Posts by Lorenzo29
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2011, 05:48 AM
Registered User
France - Brest
Joined Oct 2007
55 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by miru View Post
I just made a cable, that brings VCC, GND, TX and RX from the serial interface to the board, this way I did not need to solder in more sticks. If you look at the pictures of my previous post, you'll see I put a 4 position header on (RAW,GND,RST,VCC), this is where VCC and GND from the programmer go, TX and RX go to the other header. This setup does not have an auto-reset when you download, so you start the download and press reset on the board until the Arduino IDE shows the message that it has compiled the sketch, it will download right after that.
miru
and you cross TX with RX and vice versa i suppose...
I mean :
TX Interface -----------> RX Arduino
RX Interface <---------- TX Arduino
Cheers.
Laurent
Lorenzo29 is offline Find More Posts by Lorenzo29
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2011, 07:59 AM
Registered User
Vista, CA
Joined Feb 2008
1,235 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by actionplus View Post
Okay. Its my first time using this IDE.
1. I launched the IDE. Make sure to choose Tool>Board>Arduino Pro Mini 5V..328
2. From the menu, I click on Sketch>Add File>
3. The choose file "rx2at.c"
4. Then from menu. I click on Sketch>Verify/Complie
5. Once complied, I click File>Upload to Board

I am hoping this is right and I choose the right file "rx2at.c" from the dr003 folder.

Thanks
If you choose 'rx2at.c' you will get the version without the drone program. Use 'rxatp.c' to get the plug&play version.
miru is offline Find More Posts by miru
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2011, 08:02 AM
Registered User
Vista, CA
Joined Feb 2008
1,235 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lorenzo29 View Post
and you cross TX with RX and vice versa i suppose...
I mean :
TX Interface -----------> RX Arduino
RX Interface <---------- TX Arduino
Cheers.
Laurent
Yes. I always check on a new setup each side which wire has a voltage, it is the transmitter and needs to go to the one without voltage on the other side...
miru is offline Find More Posts by miru
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2011, 08:25 AM
Registered User
USA, CA, Fontana
Joined Mar 2005
1,091 Posts
Thanks

Thanks Lorenzo29 for the driver. trying it now.

and Thanks miru. Will use the pnp version.
actionplus is offline Find More Posts by actionplus
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2011, 08:38 AM
Registered User
USA, CA, Fontana
Joined Mar 2005
1,091 Posts
Loaded

Nice, it recognized the usb unit and loaded the firmware.
Without anything connected to the arduino, I have the red led on and green led blinking.
actionplus is offline Find More Posts by actionplus
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2011, 09:12 AM
Registered User
Vista, CA
Joined Feb 2008
1,235 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by actionplus View Post
Nice, it recognized the usb unit and loaded the firmware.
Without anything connected to the arduino, I have the red led on and green led blinking.
Please read the SETUP file, it will guide you through the checks to make sure everything is working.
miru is offline Find More Posts by miru
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2011, 09:39 AM
Registered User
USA, CA, Fontana
Joined Mar 2005
1,091 Posts
setup file

miru,

I was reading the that file earlier. It was asking to upload rxat.c file. Should I do upload that to the arduino first to make sure all the commands are doing the right thing?

Once I know the radio is set right, I upload rxatp.c back into arduino.

Another thing is that, I am using a Futaba 10C radio with a Spektrum module for this purpose. The rx is a clone Spektrum. Lets see how it behaves with a clone.

If you have not tested other rx's, I can help test it with Futaba Fasst 6008, 6014, and other Futaba FM rx and Hitec FM rx. I pretty much have all of them.

Just thought I will help out the group if you have not tested it yet.


Thanks
actionplus is offline Find More Posts by actionplus
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2011, 09:49 AM
Registered User
Vista, CA
Joined Feb 2008
1,235 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by actionplus View Post
miru,

I was reading the that file earlier. It was asking to upload rxat.c file. Should I do upload that to the arduino first to make sure all the commands are doing the right thing?

Once I know the radio is set right, I upload rxatp.c back into arduino.

Another thing is that, I am using a Futaba 10C radio with a Spektrum module for this purpose. The rx is a clone Spektrum. Lets see how it behaves with a clone.

If you have not tested other rx's, I can help test it with Futaba Fasst 6008, 6014, and other Futaba FM rx and Hitec FM rx. I pretty much have all of them.

Just thought I will help out the group if you have not tested it yet.


Thanks
The difference between 'rx2at' and 'rx2atp' is that the latter has the drone program attached, otherwise they are the same. So you can always use 'rx2atp'.
I would greatly appreciate it if you test your other receivers and tell the results. I don't have a Futaba nor Hitec setup, only DX7 and some older 72Mhz stuff.
miru is offline Find More Posts by miru
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mini-HowTo RC Controlled AR.Drone w/o WiFi! nosaari Multirotor Talk 116 Mar 14, 2014 02:23 PM
For Sale Parrot AR Drone w/TX/RX mod *Flies Nice* Z06 Tony Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 4 Apr 16, 2011 09:42 PM
Discussion Wifi Boosted AR.Drone Fallengod Multirotor Talk 7 Feb 12, 2011 10:52 AM
Discussion And yet another AR drone Arial Video project taudronis Multirotor Talk 17 Dec 07, 2010 11:04 AM
Sold Parrot AR.Drone Four rotor platform control with your iPodTouch/iPhone/iPad Hoverup Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 0 Oct 12, 2010 03:54 PM