HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 30, 2013, 07:49 AM
Registered User
United States, NC, Kure Beach
Joined Dec 1996
185 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dante1 View Post
Instead of putting a wire through the pin holes. Why not solder a small wire to bridge the two points from the underside? That way, you can still use the mod.

after failing at the update procedure, i took a single strand of wire and put the ends into the appropriate holes, then I plugged the mod in and it fit easily despite the jumper wire. plugged in the drive, it started flashing. rebinded, etc., and started the bird up. once i hit the on switch, the drive stopped flashing, and did not start flashing again once i stopped the motors ... which must be the way it's supposed to work, because, finally, videos were saved to the drive and i could view em on my pc. bueno.



thanks to all who helped me through all my various foozles and fumbles!!!

i know i should update my firmware but at this point i'm going to leave well enough alone.
floete is offline Find More Posts by floete
Last edited by floete; Jan 30, 2013 at 08:40 AM.
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 30, 2013, 07:58 AM
Registered User
gta18's Avatar
LA
Joined Mar 2004
280 Posts
@miru, is there still program space to integrate a DSM2 sattelite receiver for the arduino, so we can get rid of the big receiver.
gta18 is offline Find More Posts by gta18
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 08:54 AM
Registered User
pawelsky's Avatar
Polska
Joined Jan 2012
1,522 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dante1 View Post
Is the new Turnigy 9XR the same as having the 9X with er9x code on it?
From the functionality POV I believe yes, but I did not have 9XR in my hands. From what I've heard there are complaints from the er9x team, that the community developed FW was put into 9XR without giving any credit for the hard work) so it seems it is the exact same FW.

From HW POV for sure the advantage of 9XR is a built in programmer. The disadvantage (but for some that could actually be the opposite) is that it comes without the TX module so you have to buy it separately.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dante1 View Post
What is the advantage of having the er9x in your opinion?
Too many to count them all - starting from a full configurability and ending with the option to switch the annoying button press buzzer sound off You even have a PC program to edit/view/simulate the whole configuration.
pawelsky is offline Find More Posts by pawelsky
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 11:19 AM
Registered User
gta18's Avatar
LA
Joined Mar 2004
280 Posts
Anyone has a link for the latest ardrone 2 fw? later than 2.2.29
gta18 is offline Find More Posts by gta18
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 11:36 AM
XR-4Drone.com
dante1's Avatar
Joined May 2011
334 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by gta18 View Post
Anyone has a link for the latest ardrone 2 fw? later than 2.2.29
Try here
http://www14.zippyshare.com/v/54903479/file.html

Google is your friend
dante1 is online now Find More Posts by dante1
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 11:38 AM
Registered User
pawelsky's Avatar
Polska
Joined Jan 2012
1,522 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by gta18 View Post
Anyone has a link for the latest ardrone 2 fw? later than 2.2.29
I don't think there is 2.2.29 version. I guess you meant 2.2.9.

The latest one is 2.3.3 and it is a part of the FreeFlight 2.2.7 on iOS.
pawelsky is offline Find More Posts by pawelsky
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 11:41 AM
Registered User
pawelsky's Avatar
Polska
Joined Jan 2012
1,522 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dante1 View Post
Try here
http://www14.zippyshare.com/v/54903479/file.html

Google is your friend
That is not the latest version. 2.3.3 is.

BTW 2.2.9 is lower than 2.2.29 (assuming there was such version)
pawelsky is offline Find More Posts by pawelsky
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 12:08 PM
Registered User
gta18's Avatar
LA
Joined Mar 2004
280 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by pawelsky View Post
That is not the latest version. 2.3.3 is.

BTW 2.2.9 is lower than 2.2.29 (assuming there was such version)
Pawelsky, do you have 2.3.3?
gta18 is offline Find More Posts by gta18
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 12:37 PM
Registered User
Vista, CA
Joined Feb 2008
1,237 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by gta18 View Post
@miru, is there still program space to integrate a DSM2 sattelite receiver for the arduino, so we can get rid of the big receiver.
The satellite receiver I looked at communicates at 115200 baud, a bad baudrate for a 16Mhz Arduino (3% error). BTW do you know how to bind a satellite receiver by itself?
miru is offline Find More Posts by miru
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 01:02 PM
Registered User
gta18's Avatar
LA
Joined Mar 2004
280 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by miru View Post
The satellite receiver I looked at communicates at 115200 baud, a bad baudrate for a 16Mhz Arduino (3% error). BTW do you know how to bind a satellite receiver by itself?
Not yet, am looking it up though. I think i saw one in the multiwii thread but cant seem to find it again.
gta18 is offline Find More Posts by gta18
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 01:12 PM
Registered User
pawelsky's Avatar
Polska
Joined Jan 2012
1,522 Posts
er9x model file

For those using Turnigy 9x receiver with er9x firmware, here is a model configuration file (zipped) that can be used in eePe.

Features of this config
1) THR on CH1, AIL on CH2, ELE on CH3, RUD on CH4 (config for 9X8Cv2 8CH receiver that comes with the TX)
2) GEAR on CH5, 3-pos F.MODE switch on CH6 (N=LAND, 1=FM1, 2=FM2)
3) spring loaded TRN switch does FM2->FM1 switch (works only when in FM2, so you won't accidentally launch the Drone). That can be used to switch to FM3 mode or trigger animation easily or just switch to FM1 for a moment so the drone can stabilize.
4) THR.CUT switch triggers immediate emergency (Drone falls of the sky) regardless of the position of other switches (normally you would have to do LAND followed by THR right which takes precious time)
5) when ELE D/R switch is on 1, PIT.TRIM knob limits the max value for THR channel (between 0% and 100%) useful e.g. to adjust to changing wind
6) same with RUD D/R switch and HOV.PIT knob for RUD channel
7) same with AIL D/R switch and HOV.THR knob for AIL/ELE channels
8) timer counts down from 10:00 when on FM1/FM2/FM3 (stops when on LAND) - useful to know the real time of the flight

I think that is pretty much it.
pawelsky is offline Find More Posts by pawelsky
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 02:02 PM
Registered User
gta18's Avatar
LA
Joined Mar 2004
280 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by miru View Post
The satellite receiver I looked at communicates at 115200 baud, a bad baudrate for a 16Mhz Arduino (3% error). BTW do you know how to bind a satellite receiver by itself?
Found it here. http://reviews.openpilot.org/browse/...b4ce759c2e4bee
gta18 is offline Find More Posts by gta18
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 02:14 PM
Registered User
Germany, HE
Joined May 2012
51 Posts
Hi,
first of all thank you Miru for the awesome idea with the rc-mod.

i'm really new to the topic about arduino and programming.

But....today i finished my ar.drone 1 conversion to Spektrum.
Its completely solder free (except the "usb" plug for the drone and the 4k7 resistor) everything is just plugged in.

Flies really great, but when i use my iPad simultaneously for recording, the red leds of the drone are beginning, after a few seconds, to flashing and the drone goes down. Moreover i think the agility is much better without the running app.

Flying without the freeflight app is no problem.

Someone got a idea how to fix this?


P.s. Sorry about my bad english..German is my first language.
dirkdirk is offline Find More Posts by dirkdirk
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 02:15 PM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2012
204 Posts
Guys having a strange problem with my GPS modules

Its not writing a log file every time, in fact probably more often it doesnt write anything then it does.

Happening on more than one different one iv tested, everything else is ok, it writes video ok, and I get flashing arduino light when holding down on the throttle to indicate comms with the gps

Am I missing something I have to do at boot to get it to make a log?

I only have the pilot019.arm file on my usb stick
SJW2511 is offline Find More Posts by SJW2511
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 02:21 PM
Registered User
Vista, CA
Joined Feb 2008
1,237 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dirkdirk View Post
Hi,
first of all thank you Miru for the awesome idea with the rc-mod.

i'm really new to the topic about arduino and programming.

But....today i finished my ar.drone 1 conversion to Spektrum.
Its completely solder free (except the "usb" plug for the drone and the 4k7 resistor) everything is just plugged in.

Flies really great, but when i use my iPad simultaneously for recording, the red leds of the drone are beginning, after a few seconds, to flashing and the drone goes down. Moreover i think the agility is much better without the running app.

Flying without the freeflight app is no problem.

Someone got a idea how to fix this?


P.s. Sorry about my bad english..German is my first language.
The video feed from the drone to the iPad, takes some horsepower, actually a drone 1 is pretty much maxed out, when you watch the front camera. The lights flashing could be the battery going down.
miru is offline Find More Posts by miru
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mini-HowTo RC Controlled AR.Drone w/o WiFi! nosaari Multirotor Talk 116 Mar 14, 2014 02:23 PM
For Sale Parrot AR Drone w/TX/RX mod *Flies Nice* Z06 Tony Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 4 Apr 16, 2011 09:42 PM
Discussion Wifi Boosted AR.Drone Fallengod Multirotor Talk 7 Feb 12, 2011 10:52 AM
Discussion And yet another AR drone Arial Video project taudronis Multirotor Talk 17 Dec 07, 2010 11:04 AM
Sold Parrot AR.Drone Four rotor platform control with your iPodTouch/iPhone/iPad Hoverup Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 0 Oct 12, 2010 03:54 PM