SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Dec 14, 2012, 05:24 PM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2012
204 Posts
Cool do you take power straight from lipo with that or could you use power from rx channel
SJW2511 is offline Find More Posts by SJW2511
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 14, 2012, 05:42 PM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2012
204 Posts
Or even a split off one of the power wires from the serial port on drone
SJW2511 is offline Find More Posts by SJW2511
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 12:38 AM
Registered User
RHTizzy's Avatar
The Netherlands, NH, Bussum
Joined Feb 2012
207 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by miru View Post
5) uses a MOSFET that can reliably deal with the 1.8V.
Excellent. Should we just send out a donation with details via paypal to cover cost and shipping? Say $15 for two?
RHTizzy is online now Find More Posts by RHTizzy
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 05:49 AM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2012
2,603 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by miru View Post
It is independent of the GPS. I am working on integrating it as well as the HMC5883 magnetometer. Happul3 got the barometer working and uses it to stabilize altitude if you leave the throttle stick alone for 4 seconds. Unfortunately it takes a lot of code space to deal with these extra sensors, which means the ccompanion program would have to be installed on the drone...
If it would help with code room, could you make the Setup code dependent on a flag at compile time?

As the setup code isn't required when flying, and maybe the .arm code isn't required when testing with Hyperterminal, you probably don't need them both on board at the same time.

E.g. set flag, compile with 'Setup' code, test Tx/Rx etc. with Hyperterminal, reset flag, recompile with 'Flight' code, plug into Drone, fly?
Brandigan is offline Find More Posts by Brandigan
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 09:16 AM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2012
7 Posts
No connection from drone to arduino?

Hi all
This is my first post in this forum, and i could use some guidance about this mod.
My setup:Ardrone 2.0 Arduinonano with latest scetch. Futaba 9c with FR sky 2,4 hz rx/tx (V8FR-II) What is loaded to the drone: Hardware 2.1 software 2.2.9 Inertal hardware 2.3 software 5.34. To me it look OK i hyperterminal. It seems that the program is loaded to the drone, but no return signal? I have checked both rx/tx lines.(I use the level converter and have checked everyting several times) So if someone could see through the videos ( if I manage to hyperlink to youtube) and give me a hint, I would make my day

Led on arduino and drone:
Arduinonano.MOV (1 min 13 sec)


Hyper window:
Hyper (1 min 27 sec)
Pappjeger is offline Find More Posts by Pappjeger
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 09:26 AM
Registered User
Vista, CA
Joined Feb 2008
1,235 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brandigan View Post
If it would help with code room, could you make the Setup code dependent on a flag at compile time?

As the setup code isn't required when flying, and maybe the .arm code isn't required when testing with Hyperterminal, you probably don't need them both on board at the same time.

E.g. set flag, compile with 'Setup' code, test Tx/Rx etc. with Hyperterminal, reset flag, recompile with 'Flight' code, plug into Drone, fly?
You are right about setup/.arm code.
miru is offline Find More Posts by miru
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 09:35 AM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2012
204 Posts
pappjeger, there is a problem with the arduino nanos, I personally think its because they are cheap chinese hardware, others have various other ideas, however there is no fix at present.

you will probably have to get a sparkfun arduino pro mini to get it to work reliably
SJW2511 is offline Find More Posts by SJW2511
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 09:36 AM
Registered User
Vista, CA
Joined Feb 2008
1,235 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pappjeger View Post
Hi all
This is my first post in this forum, and i could use some guidance about this mod.
My setup:Ardrone 2.0 Arduinonano with latest scetch. Futaba 9c with FR sky 2,4 hz rx/tx (V8FR-II) What is loaded to the drone: Hardware 2.1 software 2.2.9 Inertal hardware 2.3 software 5.34. To me it look OK i hyperterminal. It seems that the program is loaded to the drone, but no return signal? I have checked both rx/tx lines.(I use the level converter and have checked everyting several times) So if someone could see through the videos ( if I manage to hyperlink to youtube) and give me a hint, I would make my day
It looks like the Arduino is not seeing the start character from the drone (This is the wire drone-TX -> LLC -> Arduino-RX).
miru is offline Find More Posts by miru
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 09:56 AM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2012
2,603 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SJW2511 View Post
pappjeger, there is a problem with the arduino nanos, I personally think its because they are cheap chinese hardware, others have various other ideas, however there is no fix at present.

you will probably have to get a sparkfun arduino pro mini to get it to work reliably
Main problem is price and time. Sparkfun are a) 3 times the price of a chinese ebay version and b) in the US, which is only great if you are too.

What would be useful is if someone had some decent testing gear: Oscilloscope etc. and was willing to put these under the knife. I'd be happy to send them one of the Nanos and Pro Minis that I've been using and if others did too, maybe they could find out where the problems lie.

Could be an extra external resistor or diode somewhere could even things out if the clone makers are building too close to the tolerances on the boards themselves.

Any one up for that?
Brandigan is offline Find More Posts by Brandigan
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 09:58 AM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2012
204 Posts
same I have loads of these nanos kicking around now lol, most of them new unopened
SJW2511 is offline Find More Posts by SJW2511
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 10:39 AM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2012
7 Posts
Thanks for quick reply. The nano is from sparkfun, it says Gravitech.us -as is the levelconverter, but ofcource it could be broken. I am just trying to figure out what my next move should be from here on. I am going to make this happen(i am used to helis so i was a bit dissopointed about the range from wifi) Does the hyperterminal look good? If so the problem most likely is the board? should I by the mini instead, or try another nano? Or is there anything else i could try before ordering.( as long as it does not involve telnet to the drone)
Cheers
Pappjeger is offline Find More Posts by Pappjeger
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 10:45 AM
XR-4Drone.com
dante1's Avatar
Joined May 2011
332 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pappjeger View Post
Thanks for quick reply. The nano is from sparkfun, it says Gravitech.us -as is the levelconverter, but ofcource it could be broken. I am just trying to figure out what my next move should be from here on. I am going to make this happen(i am used to helis so i was a bit dissopointed about the range from wifi) Does the hyperterminal look good? If so the problem most likely is the board? should I by the mini instead, or try another nano? Or is there anything else i could try before ordering.( as long as it does not involve telnet to the drone)
Cheers
If you actually bought it from Sparkfun, then the theory of the clones is pretty much out the window.
Maybe as mentioned, it would be a good idea to put the arduino nano under a microscope. Unfortunately, the is beyond me level of expertise.
dante1 is offline Find More Posts by dante1
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 11:01 AM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2012
7 Posts
Thanks Dante1
So you think the values in hyperterminal looks good? I have seen so many screenshots with various settings and values (loop and fuses etc.)
There are only 4 wires going to the drone, as long as they are good(checked with multimeter) and the right voltage i dont see what else could be wrong.
Pappjeger is offline Find More Posts by Pappjeger
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 11:07 AM
XR-4Drone.com
dante1's Avatar
Joined May 2011
332 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pappjeger View Post
Thanks Dante1
So you think the values in hyperterminal looks good? I have seen so many screenshots with various settings and values (loop and fuses etc.)
There are only 4 wires going to the drone, as long as they are good(checked with multimeter) and the right voltage i dont see what else could be wrong.
They seem fine to me.
can you take a picture of your Level converter? Just to be sure it is wired correctly.
Please don't get me wrong, I am not judging your ability. But I have built many kits and occasionaly reversed a wire and fried my mainboard.
dante1 is offline Find More Posts by dante1
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 11:40 AM
Registered User
Vista, CA
Joined Feb 2008
1,235 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pappjeger View Post
Thanks for quick reply. The nano is from sparkfun, it says Gravitech.us -as is the levelconverter, but ofcource it could be broken. I am just trying to figure out what my next move should be from here on. I am going to make this happen(i am used to helis so i was a bit dissopointed about the range from wifi) Does the hyperterminal look good? If so the problem most likely is the board? should I by the mini instead, or try another nano? Or is there anything else i could try before ordering.( as long as it does not involve telnet to the drone)
Cheers
The Hyperterminal video looks very good, frametime is somewhat short (18ms versus 22ms), so it must be the link Drone->Nano. Your Nano->Drone link is good,because it does upload AND start the companion program (orange blinking of drone).
miru is offline Find More Posts by miru
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mini-HowTo RC Controlled AR.Drone w/o WiFi! nosaari Multirotor Talk 116 Mar 14, 2014 02:23 PM
For Sale Parrot AR Drone w/TX/RX mod *Flies Nice* Z06 Tony Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 4 Apr 16, 2011 09:42 PM
Discussion Wifi Boosted AR.Drone Fallengod Multirotor Talk 7 Feb 12, 2011 10:52 AM
Discussion And yet another AR drone Arial Video project taudronis Multirotor Talk 17 Dec 07, 2010 11:04 AM
Sold Parrot AR.Drone Four rotor platform control with your iPodTouch/iPhone/iPad Hoverup Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 0 Oct 12, 2010 03:54 PM