HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Sep 05, 2012, 12:10 AM
Registered User
Vista, CA
Joined Feb 2008
1,235 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ant_30 View Post
It works ok, but I can not get my Drone 2 to do any flips so does this part not work or am I doing something wrong?
The flips worked here, I'll try 0.18 with 2.2.6 tomorrow and let you know.
miru is offline Find More Posts by miru
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 05, 2012, 11:07 AM
Registered User
Italy, Emilia-Romagna, Predappio
Joined Aug 2012
85 Posts
Hi,
did anyone tested this MT3329 GPS? Seems pretty cheap... maybe too much?

http://www.ebay.it/itm/10Hz-MediaTek...item3f1b0eb569

Thanks
G.
Viaggiatore is offline Find More Posts by Viaggiatore
Last edited by Viaggiatore; Sep 05, 2012 at 01:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 06, 2012, 06:03 PM
XR-4Drone.com
Joined May 2011
328 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Viaggiatore View Post
Hi,
did anyone tested this MT3329 GPS? Seems pretty cheap... maybe too much?

http://www.ebay.it/itm/10Hz-MediaTek...item3f1b0eb569

Thanks
G.
From what I heard, the MT3329 is older technology. There is a new GPS module. The MT3339 is the latest chip from MediaTek.
dante1 is offline Find More Posts by dante1
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 06, 2012, 07:49 PM
XR-4Drone.com
Joined May 2011
328 Posts
I have a Drone1 that is acting wierd. The arduino goes through the boot process but when I flip a switch on my DX6i, I get the RED and BLUE led on the arduino go solid and nothing happens.
Can anyone tell me what it means when those 2 leds go solid?

Thanks,

Dante1
dante1 is offline Find More Posts by dante1
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 06, 2012, 09:35 PM
Registered User
Vista, CA
Joined Feb 2008
1,235 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dante1 View Post
I have a Drone1 that is acting wierd. The arduino goes through the boot process but when I flip a switch on my DX6i, I get the RED and BLUE led on the arduino go solid and nothing happens.
Can anyone tell me what it means when those 2 leds go solid?

Thanks,

Dante1
That's a trip back to SETUP mode and finding out what is going on when you flip the switch...
miru is offline Find More Posts by miru
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 06, 2012, 09:42 PM
XR-4Drone.com
Joined May 2011
328 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by miru View Post
That's a trip back to SETUP mode and finding out what is going on when you flip the switch...
Everything works fine in setup mode.
dante1 is offline Find More Posts by dante1
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 06, 2012, 09:43 PM
XR-4Drone.com
Joined May 2011
328 Posts
Is there a way to test the serial port?
dante1 is offline Find More Posts by dante1
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 07, 2012, 03:25 AM
Registered User
pawelsky's Avatar
Polska
Joined Jan 2012
1,469 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dante1 View Post
From what I heard, the MT3329 is older technology. There is a new GPS module. The MT3339 is the latest chip from MediaTek.
Just FYI LS20031 suggested by miru is MT3329, so the chip itself should not be a problem. It is rather the rest of the components that can be better or worse (e.g. antenna).
pawelsky is offline Find More Posts by pawelsky
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 07, 2012, 03:47 AM
Registered User
United States, CO, Silverthorne
Joined Feb 2012
113 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by miru View Post
It does work with the new rev 0.19, don't think there are any issues with rev 0.18.
Can you link to the rev 0.19? I'm assembling the mod after what I assume is a bootloader fail on the macgyver mod and I'm just making my own now.
TZZDC1241 is offline Find More Posts by TZZDC1241
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 07, 2012, 05:44 AM
XR-4Drone.com
Joined May 2011
328 Posts
Would anyone have a spare mainboard for sale? I think i blew the board of my drone 1.
dante1 is offline Find More Posts by dante1
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 07, 2012, 08:54 AM
Registered User
Italy, Emilia-Romagna, Predappio
Joined Aug 2012
85 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dante1 View Post
From what I heard, the MT3329 is older technology. There is a new GPS module. The MT3339 is the latest chip from MediaTek.
Ok. Actually I wanted a MT3329 based because it should work with ArduCopter as well (I'm building a quad from scratch) so wanted to buy a GPS module I could switch for testing from Drone and ArduCopter.
So if this MT3329 works for MiruMod I'm ok
Viaggiatore is offline Find More Posts by Viaggiatore
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 07, 2012, 09:00 AM
XR-4Drone.com
Joined May 2011
328 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Viaggiatore View Post
Ok. Actually I wanted a MT3329 based because it should work with ArduCopter as well (I'm building a quad from scratch) so wanted to buy a GPS module I could switch for testing from Drone and ArduCopter.
So if this MT3329 works for MiruMod I'm ok
This is the one i bought on ebay.

http://www.ebay.ca/itm/170884679143?...#ht_5710wt_922
dante1 is offline Find More Posts by dante1
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 07, 2012, 11:55 AM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2012
3 Posts
Hello All, I'm just in the process of gathering the parts to complete this mod, I'm very new to arduino, I have the software connected and talking to a Leostick (I wanted to get ahead of the game while I wait for my arduino pro min to be delivered)
My question is what s required to to get the mod on to the Leostick, just curious.

Neil
Topangler is offline Find More Posts by Topangler
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 07, 2012, 12:05 PM
Registered User
pawelsky's Avatar
Polska
Joined Jan 2012
1,469 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Viaggiatore View Post
Ok. Actually I wanted a MT3329 based because it should work with ArduCopter as well (I'm building a quad from scratch) so wanted to buy a GPS module I could switch for testing from Drone and ArduCopter.
So if this MT3329 works for MiruMod I'm ok
Miru tried out a couple of modules so he may be able to comment it this one is any good.

BTW I'm not familiar with Ardu project, but you may want to make sure it will work with serial interface (and not i2c) GPS (Mirumod requires serial)
pawelsky is offline Find More Posts by pawelsky
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 07, 2012, 12:38 PM
Registered User
Vista, CA
Joined Feb 2008
1,235 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by pawelsky View Post
Miru tried out a couple of modules so he may be able to comment it this one is any good.

BTW I'm not familiar with Ardu project, but you may want to make sure it will work with serial interface (and not i2c) GPS (Mirumod requires serial)
I don't have one of the newer LS20031s with the MT3339 chip, but since the LS part number did not change, I would assume it should work.
miru is offline Find More Posts by miru
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mini-HowTo RC Controlled AR.Drone w/o WiFi! nosaari Multirotor Talk 116 Mar 14, 2014 02:23 PM
For Sale Parrot AR Drone w/TX/RX mod *Flies Nice* Z06 Tony Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 4 Apr 16, 2011 09:42 PM
Discussion Wifi Boosted AR.Drone Fallengod Multirotor Talk 7 Feb 12, 2011 10:52 AM
Discussion And yet another AR drone Arial Video project taudronis Multirotor Talk 17 Dec 07, 2010 11:04 AM
Sold Parrot AR.Drone Four rotor platform control with your iPodTouch/iPhone/iPad Hoverup Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 0 Oct 12, 2010 03:54 PM