HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 29, 2012, 07:02 PM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2011
2 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by miru View Post
This looks like your TX is not on. Does the ORANGERX turn on the LED which shows it is conneted to the TX?
The tx is on. The light on the orangerx is on but dim. When i remove the rx to bind, the light is much brighter.

One thing to note is the light is on once its plugged into the usb and than after to tx is powered on there is no change in the led. Its almost like the binding is lost.
Redeye51 is offline Find More Posts by Redeye51
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 29, 2012, 07:35 PM
Registered User
Vista, CA
Joined Feb 2008
1,305 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redeye51 View Post
The tx is on. The light on the orangerx is on but dim. When i remove the rx to bind, the light is much brighter.

One thing to note is the light is on once its plugged into the usb and than after to tx is powered on there is no change in the led. Its almost like the binding is lost.
Which ORANGERX do you have?
I have never seen a dimm LED on my 6 channel ORANGERX, it's either on or off. Maybe you have a power problem. Can you measure the Voltage on the Arduino 5V pin? Measure it with the RX connected and disconnected.
miru is offline Find More Posts by miru
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2012, 08:28 PM
Registered User
griffinmt's Avatar
Midland MI
Joined Nov 2006
42 Posts
Is it possible that the lines from the arduino to the rx are plugged incorrectly?
That would also account for not reading any signal values.
griffinmt is offline Find More Posts by griffinmt
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2012, 08:47 PM
Registered User
griffinmt's Avatar
Midland MI
Joined Nov 2006
42 Posts
I was thinking about the problem that seems to cause the drone to automatically land for no apparent reason.

Something that will cause this to happen (ie: loss of signal) is a problem with the signal on a 2.4ghz being blocked by any carbon fiber (like the arms), by metal (the internal parts and battery) or the wifi electronics(was considered).

As far as the wifi blockage possibility, the newer dsmx rx are capable of running in fhss mode instead of dsss, which should all but eliminate that issue.

For anyone with this problem, if you have an rx that a sattelite receiver can be attached, try that with the sattelite as far removed as possible and at 90 degrees.

Martyn
griffinmt is offline Find More Posts by griffinmt
Last edited by griffinmt; Jan 31, 2012 at 12:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2012, 09:20 PM
Registered User
griffinmt's Avatar
Midland MI
Joined Nov 2006
42 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by miru View Post
Which ORANGERX do you have?
Speaking of the 6Ch OrangeRX (version that is spektrum compat.), does anyone have a transmitter that is compat with spektrum receivers such as the DX6I or better?

Martyn
griffinmt is offline Find More Posts by griffinmt
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2012, 09:41 PM
Registered User
g3f0rc3's Avatar
United States, AZ, Phoenix
Joined Sep 2010
199 Posts
Just wanted to say thx macgyver. he sent me a replacement. works great now .
g3f0rc3 is offline Find More Posts by g3f0rc3
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 01, 2012, 12:56 PM
Registered User
pawelsky's Avatar
Polska
Joined Jan 2012
1,680 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ssgtmacgyver View Post
This looks like the same spring and lever i have for my FlySky CT6b radios.
Just got the spring from ssgtmacgyver and it indeed fits perfectly! The lever unfortunately is a different one, but it is not problem to make one yourself (I made mine out of an old credit card, which can be easily cut with scissors - took me about 15min)

BTW it was packaged very nicely and arrived in just 4 working days from US to Europe
pawelsky is online now Find More Posts by pawelsky
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 01, 2012, 03:19 PM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2009
167 Posts
Well, I tried 0.13 to see if the disconnect problem went away, it didn't. The behavior is the same as 0.12.

Which is:
1. plug in drone
2. When the drone is ready to fly -> connect iphone to it and start up freeflight
3. push right stick to change camera's around
4. flip takeoff switch and start flying
5. It flashes all greens and lands (I have zero control)

What is really odd is, as soon as I "lose control" I flip the land switch to land and then back to takeoff, and as soon as it touchs the ground, it takes immediately off again.

I am thinking of purchasing an arduino nano so I have the 3.3 volt logic for the gps's that you are using miru (this will also rule out that my wiring job or my arduino mini pro is not bad).

I was wondering, have you tried the GPS chip that arducopter uses, it flies incredibly stable in hold position mode and their software is opensource so you can take their algorithyms so you aren't re-inventing the wheel

They do say that they use a 3 axis magnetometer in combination with gps chip to do this properly

arducopter position hold (perfectly acceptable position hold):
ArduCopter GPS position hold (2 min 29 sec)


gps chip used (same page is their source code on code.google.com):
http://code.google.com/p/arducopter/wiki/MediaTek

Mediatek GPS 3329 datasheet (looks like DIYDRONES runs a custom firmware on it - http://store.diydrones.com/MediaTek_.../mt3329-02.htm
https://docs.google.com/viewer?a=v&p...iNjcy&hl=en_US
afinegan is offline Find More Posts by afinegan
Last edited by afinegan; Feb 01, 2012 at 04:49 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 01, 2012, 04:10 PM
Registered User
Vista, CA
Joined Feb 2008
1,305 Posts
I guess I need to get one of those GPS...
miru is offline Find More Posts by miru
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 01, 2012, 04:34 PM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2008
167 Posts
Hi all,

this GPS has caught my eye already.
Source code is clear, with librarie for the GPS, etc..
RolluS is offline Find More Posts by RolluS
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2012, 05:33 PM
Registered User
griffinmt's Avatar
Midland MI
Joined Nov 2006
42 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by miru View Post
I guess I need to get one of those GPS...
As far as I can tell, the GPS unit is fairly heavy user of power (relative to other choices at least) and it may not be any more accurate/reliable than some of the others that you looked at. But it certainly seems to weigh less.

Martyn
griffinmt is offline Find More Posts by griffinmt
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2012, 05:41 PM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2009
167 Posts
I was just showing a gps working the way we want, and there source code is open :-P, Help push the R&D side of things, maybe.
afinegan is offline Find More Posts by afinegan
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 03, 2012, 03:56 PM
Registered User
unisev's Avatar
Joined Sep 2011
54 Posts
Turborix 6ch cut-off

Hello,

I've tested my Turborix Receiver 6ch, all the channel are doing that :

http://youtu.be/ndU-9B8C3KA

Except N4 & 5 that maintain last signal...

So, Arduino should LAND the Drone when I switch OFF my Tx ?
unisev is offline Find More Posts by unisev
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 03, 2012, 04:04 PM
Registered User
Vista, CA
Joined Feb 2008
1,305 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by unisev View Post
Hello,
I've tested my Turborix Receiver 6ch, all the channel are doing that :
Except N4 & 5 that maintain last signal...
So, Arduino should LAND the Drone when I switch OFF my Tx ?
Yes it should, trust is good, checking is better, use SETUP to verify.
miru is offline Find More Posts by miru
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 03, 2012, 05:42 PM
Registered User
unisev's Avatar
Joined Sep 2011
54 Posts
I already checked it, and no one is going red...
unisev is offline Find More Posts by unisev
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mini-HowTo RC Controlled AR.Drone w/o WiFi! nosaari Multirotor Talk 116 Mar 14, 2014 03:23 PM
For Sale Parrot AR Drone w/TX/RX mod *Flies Nice* Z06 Tony Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 4 Apr 16, 2011 10:42 PM
Discussion Wifi Boosted AR.Drone Fallengod Multirotor Talk 7 Feb 12, 2011 11:52 AM
Discussion And yet another AR drone Arial Video project taudronis Multirotor Talk 17 Dec 07, 2010 12:04 PM
Sold Parrot AR.Drone Four rotor platform control with your iPodTouch/iPhone/iPad Hoverup Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 0 Oct 12, 2010 04:54 PM