New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old Oct 26, 2012, 08:25 AM
kerwin50 is online now
Find More Posts by kerwin50
Registered User
kerwin50's Avatar
winston mo
Joined Oct 2006
7,733 Posts
also get rid of that mechanical stop.
kerwin50 is online now Find More Posts by kerwin50
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 26, 2012, 08:37 AM
RC_Feen is offline
Find More Posts by RC_Feen
Registered User
RC_Feen's Avatar
Culpeper, VA
Joined Oct 2005
750 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kerwin50 View Post
also get rid of that mechanical stop.
I'll have to look if I can do that on the OS GT33.
RC_Feen is offline Find More Posts by RC_Feen
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2012, 01:04 PM
going4speed is online now
Find More Posts by going4speed
3DHS 'native'
going4speed's Avatar
USA, TX, Spring
Joined Jan 2008
5,935 Posts
get rid of the mechanical stop on the throttle? why?
going4speed is online now Find More Posts by going4speed
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2012, 01:11 PM
RC_Feen is offline
Find More Posts by RC_Feen
Registered User
RC_Feen's Avatar
Culpeper, VA
Joined Oct 2005
750 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by going4speed View Post
get rid of the mechanical stop on the throttle? why?
Yeah...doesn't make sense to me. It's there for a reason.
RC_Feen is offline Find More Posts by RC_Feen
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2012, 01:42 PM
kerwin50 is online now
Find More Posts by kerwin50
Registered User
kerwin50's Avatar
winston mo
Joined Oct 2006
7,733 Posts
your stop should always be the servo and never mechanical. Even though the throttle stop screw is on nitro as well. It's always been a no no to use them. The servo should always be allowed to fully close the butterfly.
kerwin50 is online now Find More Posts by kerwin50
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2012, 01:57 PM
going4speed is online now
Find More Posts by going4speed
3DHS 'native'
going4speed's Avatar
USA, TX, Spring
Joined Jan 2008
5,935 Posts
oh absolutely I agree. I thought y'all were talking about removing the full throttle stop and could not think of one good reason to do that.
going4speed is online now Find More Posts by going4speed
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2012, 09:50 AM
RC_Feen is offline
Find More Posts by RC_Feen
Registered User
RC_Feen's Avatar
Culpeper, VA
Joined Oct 2005
750 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregory.da View Post
I found this this last year after struggling with my setup, it has a good diagram on the proper way to set up your throttle linkage for gas engines. Hope it helps! DG
This is a bad drawling but you'll get the idea. In red is how I currently have my throttle linkage setup and having problems getting the endpoints set. What I'm thinking is I need to make my throttle linkage longer and set it up like the blue drawling to get the correct endpoints based on throttle stick position. Does this look or seem right?

RC_Feen is offline Find More Posts by RC_Feen
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2012, 12:19 PM
Hewey19 is offline
Find More Posts by Hewey19
Registered User
Hewey19's Avatar
USA, MI, Lansing
Joined Aug 2009
245 Posts
Yes RC_Feen the blue drawing how you should set up the linkage. I'm not sure about your endpoints but a setup like that will give you the nice throttle curve that you need on gas engines.
Hewey19 is offline Find More Posts by Hewey19
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2012, 12:36 PM
kerwin50 is online now
Find More Posts by kerwin50
Registered User
kerwin50's Avatar
winston mo
Joined Oct 2006
7,733 Posts
Yes the blue is what you need. Set your EPA's to max 1st then make your linkage. Then reset your epa's after that.
kerwin50 is online now Find More Posts by kerwin50
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2012, 01:56 PM
RC_Feen is offline
Find More Posts by RC_Feen
Registered User
RC_Feen's Avatar
Culpeper, VA
Joined Oct 2005
750 Posts
Great! Now I'm onto something. I'll make a new linkage tonight and hopefully test it out later this week. Probably won't get to maiden is week because Sandy pretty much flooded our field.
RC_Feen is offline Find More Posts by RC_Feen
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2012, 11:06 PM
flyracer is offline
Find More Posts by flyracer
Wannabe 3D Pilot
flyracer's Avatar
USA, AZ, Chandler
Joined Nov 2006
1,199 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RC_Feen View Post
Great! Now I'm onto something. I'll make a new linkage tonight and hopefully test it out later this week. Probably won't get to maiden is week because Sandy pretty much flooded our field.
have you seen Losifanatic's video where he's flying in a culdesac hand launching and catching his Slick?
flyracer is offline Find More Posts by flyracer
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 2012, 12:06 AM
RC_Feen is offline
Find More Posts by RC_Feen
Registered User
RC_Feen's Avatar
Culpeper, VA
Joined Oct 2005
750 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by flyracer View Post
have you seen Losifanatic's video where he's flying in a culdesac hand launching and catching his Slick?

Yeah I think....but he's running electric right? I'm running gas! Would be kind of krazy trying to try to catch a gasser unless I've missed that vid.
RC_Feen is offline Find More Posts by RC_Feen
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 2012, 09:39 AM
3DNater is offline
Find More Posts by 3DNater
3d NOOBular
3DNater's Avatar
United States, NV, Las Vegas
Joined Aug 2010
8,862 Posts
I'm not gonna lie... I'm way too scared of a 4+ HP motor turning a 20" prop to try catching mine.
3DNater is offline Find More Posts by 3DNater
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 2012, 11:26 AM
kerwin50 is online now
Find More Posts by kerwin50
Registered User
kerwin50's Avatar
winston mo
Joined Oct 2006
7,733 Posts
No Nate your not scared, your wise.
kerwin50 is online now Find More Posts by kerwin50
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 02, 2012, 11:04 AM
flyracer is offline
Find More Posts by flyracer
Wannabe 3D Pilot
flyracer's Avatar
USA, AZ, Chandler
Joined Nov 2006
1,199 Posts
hahahah.... I'll be honest, I don't have the guts to try and tail catch a 30cc sized airframe out of the air!
flyracer is offline Find More Posts by flyracer
Reply With Quote


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion 71" AJ Slick Gas - First time with gas Hewey19 Fuel Plane Talk 7 Sep 06, 2011 03:53 PM
Sold 3dhs 71" aj slick - nib 6L6Amp Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 4 Apr 05, 2011 11:09 AM
Discussion I'm torn, 71 slick or 72 sc? KillerCut 3D Flying 9 Mar 25, 2011 06:20 PM
Discussion 3DHS 42"Slick Side Force Generators bigtexas 3D Flying 3 Mar 03, 2011 12:42 PM
Wanted 3DHS 70" Slick Gas parts!!! helifryer Aircraft - Fuel - Airplanes (FS/W) 0 Feb 20, 2011 07:47 AM