HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Sep 19, 2012, 08:36 AM
Huckin around the Shire
Enterprise7's Avatar
USA, NH, Manchester
Joined Jun 2010
819 Posts
I put the ignition box inside the fuse velcroed to the wood plate just in front of the fuel tank. I had this plane on the other motor and I know the OS is heavier so I needed to move weight aft as it was hard to CG before. I use a techaero IBEC for ignition in all my gassers. It takes up minimal space and saves a bit of weight.

I originally had the ignition box on the left side of the engine box as there is a cut out for the straps.
Enterprise7 is offline Find More Posts by Enterprise7
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 19, 2012, 11:31 AM
3DHS 'native'
going4speed's Avatar
USA, TX, Spring
Joined Jan 2008
5,925 Posts
Dang just put my cowl on...the below circled area is where I put my ignition module with a velcro strap and a piece of foam between it and the motor box and then another piece on top where the strap would secure it. I drilled a 1/2" hole just below the horizontal section of the motor box and routed the power wire through there to the IBEC. The other picture shows the location of my ignition/receiver battery. I added a platform over the rudder servo location to add my receiver battery. Its 1/4" balsa.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RC_Feen View Post
Can someone please post some pictures how you mounted the OS GT33 ignition box on the right side of the motorbox and how you routed the wires? Also please show how you mounted the ignition battery and routed the wires. I'm in the final stages of the build with wiring everything up. Thanks!
going4speed is online now Find More Posts by going4speed
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2012, 03:20 PM
Registered User
RC_Feen's Avatar
Culpeper, VA
Joined Oct 2005
692 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by going4speed View Post
Dang just put my cowl on...the below circled area is where I put my ignition module with a velcro strap and a piece of foam between it and the motor box and then another piece on top where the strap would secure it. I drilled a 1/2" hole just below the horizontal section of the motor box and routed the power wire through there to the IBEC. The other picture shows the location of my ignition/receiver battery. I added a platform over the rudder servo location to add my receiver battery. Its 1/4" balsa.
going4speed....You have only one battery pack powering the Rx and ignition? I was going to mount the ignition module on one side of the motor box and the ignition battery pack on the other side. Not sure if this will make the plane more nose heavy or not.
RC_Feen is offline Find More Posts by RC_Feen
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2012, 06:42 PM
3DHS 'native'
going4speed's Avatar
USA, TX, Spring
Joined Jan 2008
5,925 Posts
I use an IBEC so it uses one of the receiver ports to power the ignition and also as the ignition kill. Fantastic device with a crazy bright light that you can see mid-day in Texas.

I am still contending with balancing so I understand your issues there. I do not think it a great idea to place a battery in the cowl area due to possible heat issues. This may not be a concern with all the air flow but there is also the fuel leak possibilities and batteries that makes me a tad nervous. That is another reason all my switch and battery gear is all the way at the back of the canopy fuse area.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RC_Feen View Post
going4speed....You have only one battery pack powering the Rx and ignition? I was going to mount the ignition module on one side of the motor box and the ignition battery pack on the other side. Not sure if this will make the plane more nose heavy or not.
going4speed is online now Find More Posts by going4speed
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2012, 07:50 PM
Registered User
RC_Feen's Avatar
Culpeper, VA
Joined Oct 2005
692 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by going4speed View Post
I use an IBEC so it uses one of the receiver ports to power the ignition and also as the ignition kill. Fantastic device with a crazy bright light that you can see mid-day in Texas.

I am still contending with balancing so I understand your issues there. I do not think it a great idea to place a battery in the cowl area due to possible heat issues. This may not be a concern with all the air flow but there is also the fuel leak possibilities and batteries that makes me a tad nervous. That is another reason all my switch and battery gear is all the way at the back of the canopy fuse area.
What's your flight time running off of one pack? Also what size fuel tank are you running!
RC_Feen is offline Find More Posts by RC_Feen
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2012, 08:06 PM
Registered User
kerwin50's Avatar
winston mo
Joined Oct 2006
7,504 Posts
I use a 2000 mah batt and a couple of digtal servos and I get better than a 1/2 dozen flights.
The best way is to charge your battery and see how many milli amps you have used.
kerwin50 is offline Find More Posts by kerwin50
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2012, 08:40 PM
Registered User
RC_Feen's Avatar
Culpeper, VA
Joined Oct 2005
692 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kerwin50 View Post
I use a 2000 mah batt and a couple of digtal servos and I get better than a 1/2 dozen flights.
The best way is to charge your battery and see how many milli amps you have used.
I have and extra 2300mAh Rx pack that I'm going to be bringing with me to the field. What about the ignition pack. I'm using a 1100mAh pack. How many flights should I expect to get out of it? Thanks!
RC_Feen is offline Find More Posts by RC_Feen
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2012, 08:41 PM
3DHS 'native'
going4speed's Avatar
USA, TX, Spring
Joined Jan 2008
5,925 Posts
Running a 16 ounce. One pack should be good for about 8 flights. Not pushed it that far yet

I don't have the manual with me but the OS manual tells you draw for flight time and you could figure what you should get out of the ignition pack. That thing should last a month of Sundays though as an ignition pack. The draw of electronic ignition is very very low.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RC_Feen View Post
What's your flight time running off of one pack? Also what size fuel tank are you running!
going4speed is online now Find More Posts by going4speed
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2012, 10:39 PM
Registered User
racerman27410's Avatar
United States, NC, Greensboro
Joined Dec 2006
406 Posts
my OS uses 55mah per 15 minute flight.
racerman27410 is offline Find More Posts by racerman27410
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2012, 04:19 AM
Registered User
RC_Feen's Avatar
Culpeper, VA
Joined Oct 2005
692 Posts
Few Questions

I'm hoping to have my 71" slick with the OS GT33 finished in a few weeks and I have a few questions.
1. Fuel - I've ran Coleman's lantern fuel in my gas helicopter in the past since I kept the heli in the house in my shop. I'm planning on using it in the OS GT33. Is anyone using Coleman fuel in there OS GT33?
2. Break-in oil - I have some Amsoil Saber 2-cycle oil to use after break-in. What 2-cycle oil should I use for the break-in period of the OS GT33?
3. Plane Restraint - I need to get one of these or make one. I've seen the one's that flip down and the ones that just stick in the ground that you have to pick the plane up to get over the restraints after starting and doing your run-up. Is there one that is recommended?
4. First flight - I've only been flying for a few years and still learning. This is my 6th plane but first gas plane and I know the maiden day I'm going to be nervous as hell and I know my leg is going to be jittering like I was Elvis. Any suggestions on how to calm my nerves? I do plan on scheduling a day to take my plane to the club and having one of the experienced gasser club members check over my setup, pre-flight, starting, tune and the whole routine.

That's all I have for now. Thanks!
RC_Feen is offline Find More Posts by RC_Feen
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2012, 07:32 AM
3DHS 'native'
going4speed's Avatar
USA, TX, Spring
Joined Jan 2008
5,925 Posts
Coleman lantern fuel only has an octane rating of 50. That does not sound like a good idea to me.
Use any oil you want for break-in just double the oil content for the break in period.
I am looking for a plane restraint myself. Lifting a running 30cc gas plane over the field restraints just plain sux.
This plane lands faster than my electrics so it is a good plan to have a experienced pilot and spotter for the first landing.
As for getting over the nerves, let me know if you get that one figured out
going4speed is online now Find More Posts by going4speed
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2012, 09:08 AM
When in doubt, gas it!
KTMRacr's Avatar
United States, KS, Spring Hill
Joined Dec 2010
933 Posts
Coleman lantern fuel??? Never heard that one before... Pump gas (don't want any ethanol in it) is cheap. Amsoil is good stuff. I'm running the Saber 100:1 now that I'm broke in. Bought some cheap stuff (non-synthetic) at the quick shop on the corner for break-in mixed 24:1.

You will probably have to chop the throttle almost on your downwind leg on landing and it will still come in a little hot. Best thing to do is start with nice long approaches to give it plenty of time to slow down. I ended up putting a mix on my throttle. "High" idle I use when on the ground and flying. Then a "Low" throttle for landing. After you get it all tuned in, set your low throttle so that wants to die (or just BARELY idle) when on the ground at zero throttle stick. It will stay running when in the air and moving. This will help you get the plane slowed down enough for landing.

This thing is quite a thrill to fly! Have fun with it!
KTMRacr is offline Find More Posts by KTMRacr
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2012, 10:17 AM
Registered User
Hewey19's Avatar
USA, MI, Lansing
Joined Aug 2009
240 Posts
I've heard of people using Coleman fuel when storing airplanes for the winter. It keeps the carb parts from drying out and no alcohol to destroy stuff. But they all pump it out in the spring because the octane is so low.
Hewey19 is offline Find More Posts by Hewey19
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2012, 10:54 AM
Huckin around the Shire
Enterprise7's Avatar
USA, NH, Manchester
Joined Jun 2010
819 Posts
I use ethanol free gas I get at one of the local airports. You can find one locally here.

http://pure-gas.org/

We use Stihl HP Ultra synthetic oil. You get it at the local lawn equipment store.

If you are into spending a lot of money, SEF or Stihl make good pre-mixed fuel. SEF is the stuff fire departments use in their 2 stroke equipment and it is very good in long storage.
Enterprise7 is offline Find More Posts by Enterprise7
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2012, 12:04 PM
Registered User
kerwin50's Avatar
winston mo
Joined Oct 2006
7,504 Posts
I've had the best luck with the sthil ultra. amsoil 100 to 1 will surely be hard on that oil.
I tried different oil and my engine runs the best on 32 to 1 sthil
kerwin50 is offline Find More Posts by kerwin50
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion 71" AJ Slick Gas - First time with gas Hewey19 Fuel Plane Talk 7 Sep 06, 2011 03:53 PM
Sold 3dhs 71" aj slick - nib 6L6Amp Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 4 Apr 05, 2011 11:09 AM
Discussion I'm torn, 71 slick or 72 sc? KillerCut 3D Flying 9 Mar 25, 2011 06:20 PM
Discussion 3DHS 42"Slick Side Force Generators bigtexas 3D Flying 3 Mar 03, 2011 12:42 PM
Wanted 3DHS 70" Slick Gas parts!!! helifryer Aircraft - Fuel - Airplanes (FS/W) 0 Feb 20, 2011 07:47 AM