HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Aug 12, 2012, 12:08 AM
3DHS 'native'
going4speed's Avatar
USA, TX, Spring
Joined Jan 2008
5,929 Posts
Perhaps that is why it is a decent throttler servo. No need for crazy torque.
going4speed is offline Find More Posts by going4speed
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 12, 2012, 12:47 AM
When in doubt, gas it!
KTMRacr's Avatar
United States, KS, Spring Hill
Joined Dec 2010
933 Posts
Well, 140 oz-in of torque is still a lot, its just not 400 oz-in like the more expensive servos.

I'm a 3D newbie. I'm not going to be doing full throttle blenders (only half throttle). I'm still learning rolling circles. I can do a basic hover but only if I'm looking at the top of the plane. I don't know that I need 400 oz-in of torque. I wonder sometimes if a lot of decisions on what equipment to use are made on peer approval or one-up-man-ship. I have no interest in either of those things, I just want a reliable, good flying plane that I can have some fun with.

Now, in the time I've just spent researching which servo I should get, I could have been working and made enough money to pay for the super fancy 7954-SH. Maybe I should stop wondering, go do some work, and buy the super fancy ones and not worry about it anymore!
KTMRacr is offline Find More Posts by KTMRacr
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2012, 03:20 AM
Registered User
racerman27410's Avatar
United States, NC, Greensboro
Joined Dec 2006
406 Posts
sometimes the good stuff is actually worth the extra money.... i looked at my 7954SH servo purchases as an investment in fun and possibly an even larger airframe for them to go in. IMO too much servo is always better than marginal or not enough servo. if you look around the net you can find them for 72.00 ea.

Plus if anything ever happens to them Hitec also has a very good service dept and will stand behind their product.
racerman27410 is offline Find More Posts by racerman27410
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2012, 10:33 AM
Registered User
kerwin50's Avatar
winston mo
Joined Oct 2006
7,539 Posts
The solar d 770 is a wonderful servo. and for 20 bucks.
The main thing about a throttle servo is it must center.
A servo that won't center will never idle right.
kerwin50 is offline Find More Posts by kerwin50
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2012, 10:35 AM
Registered User
kerwin50's Avatar
winston mo
Joined Oct 2006
7,539 Posts
hers the link http://www.hobbypartz.com/33p-solarservo-d770.html
kerwin50 is offline Find More Posts by kerwin50
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2012, 05:01 PM
When in doubt, gas it!
KTMRacr's Avatar
United States, KS, Spring Hill
Joined Dec 2010
933 Posts
I'm sure I could dig for a while and find the answer, but it's easier to just ask...

So what voltage are you guys running your Solars on?
KTMRacr is offline Find More Posts by KTMRacr
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2012, 05:35 PM
3d NOOBular
3DNater's Avatar
USA, UT, St George
Joined Aug 2010
8,062 Posts
2s LiFe unregulated. nominal voltage is 6.6 but the top of the pack is 7.4 I think. Mine worked fine... wicked fast and plenty strong. Mine had a jitter but went away with an rf choke.
3DNater is online now Find More Posts by 3DNater
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2012, 07:44 PM
3DHS 'native'
going4speed's Avatar
USA, TX, Spring
Joined Jan 2008
5,929 Posts
Well my motor spacers were too long so I ordered more. Took the opportunity to redo the throttle servo and linkage. Moved it back to inside the fuse and now the throttle linkage will be perfectly straight instead of the 5 bend mess I had before.
going4speed is offline Find More Posts by going4speed
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2012, 01:13 PM
When in doubt, gas it!
KTMRacr's Avatar
United States, KS, Spring Hill
Joined Dec 2010
933 Posts
allerc.com responded to my plea for help with the Hyperion servos. They didn't have any ideas for me and promptly issued me an RMA. Even though the Hyperions didn't work out on this plane, I would still use the non-HV servos in other applications. I do think they are a quality servo. I just think they have some issues with their HV controllers that they need to work on. Allerc.com is a stand up online business that will have my continued patronage in the future for sure!
KTMRacr is offline Find More Posts by KTMRacr
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2012, 05:21 PM
Wannabe 3D Pilot
flyracer's Avatar
USA, AZ, Chandler
Joined Nov 2006
1,198 Posts
I think I posted this before... I'm using Futaba s3051HV servos that are rated at 146oz torque @ 7.4v.... $40 each from my LHS.

I've increased the intensity of my flying with the Slick over the last couple of months... these servos have hung right in... no detectable sag or drop when doing high throttle manuavers.

Flyracer
flyracer is offline Find More Posts by flyracer
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2012, 02:36 PM
Registered User
racerman27410's Avatar
United States, NC, Greensboro
Joined Dec 2006
406 Posts
got out with my 71's today......



i need a hat cam so i can catch some of this action on video.... obviously the OS GT33 is stronger than grass

racerman27410 is offline Find More Posts by racerman27410
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2012, 02:41 PM
Registered User
SnowDog1974's Avatar
United States, IL, Crystal Lake
Joined Jan 2009
5,544 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by racerman27410 View Post
got out with my 71's today......

i need a hat cam so i can catch some of this action on video.... obviously the OS GT33 is stronger than grass
Very nice!
I'm still working on a good hatcam system too. Let me know what you find.
SnowDog1974 is online now Find More Posts by SnowDog1974
Site Sponsor
Latest blog entry: Old Faithful - 3DHS 51" Slick
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2012, 04:04 PM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2012
29 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregory.da View Post
I use blue loctite and drill a hole in the muffler can and attach it via wire to something on the fuse in case it vibrates loose in flight. Mufflers are expensive to replace!
Not a smart idea above. Just do it right so the bolts cant come loose. Install cap screws or bolts so the head is exposed, and drill a 1/16" hole through the bolt head and safety wire them together. Never lose a muffler because the bolts can't back out.
hooliganpilot is offline Find More Posts by hooliganpilot
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2012, 05:44 PM
When in doubt, gas it!
KTMRacr's Avatar
United States, KS, Spring Hill
Joined Dec 2010
933 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by racerman27410 View Post
got out with my 71's today......
Nice! I like the blue accents you put on the orange one!

Pulled the trigger on some Hitec HS-7954SH servos. I didn't like the grand total on the order all that much, but I'm sure I'll forget about it once I have a smile on my face cause the plane is in the air.
KTMRacr is offline Find More Posts by KTMRacr
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2012, 08:54 PM
Wannabe 3D Pilot
flyracer's Avatar
USA, AZ, Chandler
Joined Nov 2006
1,198 Posts
KTM
I'm with you... it's a bit of sticker shock when you plunk down that load of cash for quality servos! My wife tracks the expenses on the credit card statements and when the servos arrived she said "you paid how much for those!"

Flyracer
flyracer is offline Find More Posts by flyracer
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion 71" AJ Slick Gas - First time with gas Hewey19 Fuel Plane Talk 7 Sep 06, 2011 03:53 PM
Sold 3dhs 71" aj slick - nib 6L6Amp Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 4 Apr 05, 2011 11:09 AM
Discussion I'm torn, 71 slick or 72 sc? KillerCut 3D Flying 9 Mar 25, 2011 06:20 PM
Discussion 3DHS 42"Slick Side Force Generators bigtexas 3D Flying 3 Mar 03, 2011 12:42 PM
Wanted 3DHS 70" Slick Gas parts!!! helifryer Aircraft - Fuel - Airplanes (FS/W) 0 Feb 20, 2011 07:47 AM