HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Oct 24, 2011, 12:14 PM
Registered User
Northwest Indiana
Joined Feb 2011
1,461 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RC_Feen View Post
Thanks for the pic's SnowDog1974. Haven't made much progress with the build. Ordered and received this switch. Once I got it and inspected the switch it's quite large. I would have to cut a huge hole in the fuse to get it in there and re-enforce it with some ply. What switch fits in the already provided cut-outs for the switches? This one? I don't want to have to make too much of a modification to install the switch. Thanks!
I installed my switch into a piece of 3/6" balsa that I mounted inside the plane....

CRFan1 is offline Find More Posts by CRFan1
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 24, 2011, 02:22 PM
Registered User
RC_Feen's Avatar
Culpeper, VA
Joined Oct 2005
716 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by CRFan1 View Post
I installed my switch into a piece of 3/6" balsa that I mounted inside the plane....

I like that idea but the only thing I don't like is having to open the canopy before and after flights to switch on/off.
RC_Feen is offline Find More Posts by RC_Feen
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2011, 03:00 PM
Registered User
Northwest Indiana
Joined Feb 2011
1,461 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RC_Feen View Post
I like that idea but the only thing I don't like is having to open the canopy before and after flights to switch on/off.
Honestly, not a big deal at all and there is not a lot of wood to mount it anywhere else. It works. I don't need to open the canopy to kill the motor remember...thats the beauty of the optical kill...flip the gear switch and she stops.
CRFan1 is offline Find More Posts by CRFan1
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2011, 05:13 PM
Registered User
RC_Feen's Avatar
Culpeper, VA
Joined Oct 2005
716 Posts
My switch

Here is a picture of the PowerBox switch I have. Look at the size of this thing. I like the fact it has as led showing that the switch is one or off. No to crazy of the size and what I'll need to do to make it fit. What do you think? Stick with this one or just get the JR HD switch? I do want to mount it so you can access the switch from the outside of the plane.



RC_Feen is offline Find More Posts by RC_Feen
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2011, 09:34 AM
Registered User
Northwest Indiana
Joined Feb 2011
1,461 Posts
Yeah that switch is pretty big. If you are dead set on mounting it outside, than I would probably look at a smaller HD type of switch.
CRFan1 is offline Find More Posts by CRFan1
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2011, 12:46 PM
Registered User
RC_Feen's Avatar
Culpeper, VA
Joined Oct 2005
716 Posts
Yeah....it is pretty big and pricey at $52. Has a nice charge port and charge adapter included. Not 100% sure its worth it based on the size of the switch and what I would need to do to mount it.....
RC_Feen is offline Find More Posts by RC_Feen
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2011, 01:41 PM
Registered User
Northwest Indiana
Joined Feb 2011
1,461 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RC_Feen View Post
Yeah....it is pretty big and pricey at $52. Has a nice charge port and charge adapter included. Not 100% sure its worth it based on the size of the switch and what I would need to do to mount it.....
Can you maybe mount it in the turtledeck area?
CRFan1 is offline Find More Posts by CRFan1
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2011, 01:48 PM
Registered User
RC_Feen's Avatar
Culpeper, VA
Joined Oct 2005
716 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by CRFan1 View Post
Can you maybe mount it in the turtledeck area?
What area is that?
RC_Feen is offline Find More Posts by RC_Feen
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2011, 04:50 PM
Registered User
Northwest Indiana
Joined Feb 2011
1,461 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RC_Feen View Post
What area is that?
Behind the canopy...maybe just above the longeron where the fuse starts to curve....just a thought....
CRFan1 is offline Find More Posts by CRFan1
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2011, 07:12 PM
Registered User
kerwin50's Avatar
winston mo
Joined Oct 2006
7,539 Posts
yeah that switch is alittle overkill
kerwin50 is offline Find More Posts by kerwin50
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2011, 09:18 PM
Registered User
Northwest Indiana
Joined Feb 2011
1,461 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kerwin50 View Post
yeah that switch is alittle overkill
Yeah, Kerwin is right, hehe...get a different switch if you can
CRFan1 is offline Find More Posts by CRFan1
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2011, 08:19 AM
Registered User
SnowDog1974's Avatar
United States, IL, Crystal Lake
Joined Jan 2009
5,580 Posts
I use a similar switch (but I think it is better) on my Su-26.
The Miracle switch is really nice:
SnowDog1974 is online now Find More Posts by SnowDog1974
Site Sponsor
Latest blog entry: Old Faithful - 3DHS 51" Slick
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2011, 09:25 AM
Registered User
racerman27410's Avatar
United States, NC, Greensboro
Joined Dec 2006
406 Posts
Since i'm running an ignition pack and a flight pack i wanted a dual switch/fuel dot
i put my switch on the vertical and supported it on the backside with a piece of light ply.

racerman27410 is offline Find More Posts by racerman27410
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2011, 09:27 AM
Registered User
Northwest Indiana
Joined Feb 2011
1,461 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SnowDog1974 View Post
I use a similar switch (but I think it is better) on my Su-26.
The Miracle switch is really nice:
Hehe..that is even too big for the Slick...the problem is there is not much wood to mount it on! That's why I just mounted mine on a plate inside. Just less hassle.
CRFan1 is offline Find More Posts by CRFan1
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2011, 01:28 PM
Registered User
SnowDog1974's Avatar
United States, IL, Crystal Lake
Joined Jan 2009
5,580 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by CRFan1 View Post
Hehe..that is even too big for the Slick...the problem is there is not much wood to mount it on! That's why I just mounted mine on a plate inside. Just less hassle.
I had nowhere to mount it either, so I just made a plate for it.
SnowDog1974 is online now Find More Posts by SnowDog1974
Site Sponsor
Latest blog entry: Old Faithful - 3DHS 51" Slick
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion 71" AJ Slick Gas - First time with gas Hewey19 Fuel Plane Talk 7 Sep 06, 2011 04:53 PM
Sold 3dhs 71" aj slick - nib 6L6Amp Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 4 Apr 05, 2011 12:09 PM
Discussion I'm torn, 71 slick or 72 sc? KillerCut 3D Flying 9 Mar 25, 2011 07:20 PM
Discussion 3DHS 42"Slick Side Force Generators bigtexas 3D Flying 3 Mar 03, 2011 01:42 PM
Wanted 3DHS 70" Slick Gas parts!!! helifryer Aircraft - Fuel - Airplanes (FS/W) 0 Feb 20, 2011 08:47 AM