SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Apr 22, 2012, 11:20 PM
Registered User
United States, MD, Glen Burnie
Joined Mar 2012
331 Posts
if your running a 7.4v lipo for the dle 30 ignition what regulator would i have to use to get the volts down to 4.8v? i know smartfly makes the 3a voltage regulator would that drop the volts low enough to use on my ignition?
VENOMiTry is offline Find More Posts by VENOMiTry
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 23, 2012, 12:07 AM
3d NOOBular
3DNater's Avatar
USA, UT, St George
Joined Aug 2010
8,135 Posts
I don't know what you are looking for exactly. I'd be tempted to just try a cheap BEC for it. That way you get constant voltage that doesn't drop at all as your pack goes down.

Something like one of these. The 3A one is only like $8.

http://www.valuehobby.com/power-syst...imate-bec.html
3DNater is offline Find More Posts by 3DNater
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 2012, 08:44 PM
Registered User
RC_Feen's Avatar
Culpeper, VA
Joined Oct 2005
711 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by brathanke View Post
I don't know what you are looking for exactly. I'd be tempted to just try a cheap BEC for it. That way you get constant voltage that doesn't drop at all as your pack goes down.

Something like one of these. The 3A one is only like $8.

http://www.valuehobby.com/power-syst...imate-bec.html

I'm using that same BEC on my 48" EPP Extra. No issues at all.
RC_Feen is offline Find More Posts by RC_Feen
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 2012, 08:50 PM
Registered User
RC_Feen's Avatar
Culpeper, VA
Joined Oct 2005
711 Posts
Throttle Servo install

I had the hardest time figuring out where/how I was going to install my throttle servo. So here is were I installed it. Made a mounting plate out of some thin ply then epoxied it into place. Next step is to drill a hole in the firewall, cut the linkage to size and hook everything up.









RC_Feen is offline Find More Posts by RC_Feen
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 2012, 08:51 PM
3d NOOBular
3DNater's Avatar
USA, UT, St George
Joined Aug 2010
8,135 Posts
brown dropped off some goodies the best part is the TME pro smoke pump. We are hoping it performs as well as it looks because it looks killer
3DNater is offline Find More Posts by 3DNater
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 2012, 10:13 PM
Registered User
kerwin50's Avatar
winston mo
Joined Oct 2006
7,539 Posts
O RC your a man after my own heart. I love that OS.
kerwin50 is offline Find More Posts by kerwin50
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 2012, 11:26 PM
Registered User
SnowDog1974's Avatar
United States, IL, Crystal Lake
Joined Jan 2009
5,565 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by VENOMiTry View Post
if your running a 7.4v lipo for the dle 30 ignition what regulator would i have to use to get the volts down to 4.8v? i know smartfly makes the 3a voltage regulator would that drop the volts low enough to use on my ignition?
I'm planning on using on of these:

http://www.valleyviewrc.com/estore/m...regulator.html

its working just fine in another airframe right now.
SnowDog1974 is online now Find More Posts by SnowDog1974
Site Sponsor
Latest blog entry: Old Faithful - 3DHS 51" Slick
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2012, 01:13 AM
3d NOOBular
3DNater's Avatar
USA, UT, St George
Joined Aug 2010
8,135 Posts
Would anyone be willing to show a pic of how they set up their choke? I am trying to decide whether to have it operate through the bottom of the cowl or just have it come back through the firewall where it will be operated with the canopy off. I'm thinking I'd rather have it operate with the canopy on though if possible.
3DNater is offline Find More Posts by 3DNater
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2012, 02:01 AM
Registered User
United States, MD, Glen Burnie
Joined Mar 2012
331 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SnowDog1974 View Post
I'm planning on using on of these:

http://www.valleyviewrc.com/estore/m...regulator.html

its working just fine in another airframe right now.
yea i went to the hobby store and got a 5a regulator by reedy its for cars but they all do the same and the 5a reg drops the volts to 6v if using a 2s lipo pack at least thats what they told me
VENOMiTry is offline Find More Posts by VENOMiTry
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2012, 06:59 AM
Registered User
Northwest Indiana
Joined Feb 2011
1,461 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by brathanke View Post
Would anyone be willing to show a pic of how they set up their choke? I am trying to decide whether to have it operate through the bottom of the cowl or just have it come back through the firewall where it will be operated with the canopy off. I'm thinking I'd rather have it operate with the canopy on though if possible.
I will see if i have a pic of mine...it is simple and light
CRFan1 is offline Find More Posts by CRFan1
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2012, 09:06 AM
Registered User
Northwest Indiana
Joined Feb 2011
1,461 Posts
Nate, here is a pic of how I did my choke...simple and effective. This is how a lot of guys do it...





I also put my smart switch inside the plane cause there is very little wood to mount it to, lol:



I unfortunately do not have any pics of the battery tray but it's easy enough.
CRFan1 is offline Find More Posts by CRFan1
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2012, 09:15 AM
Registered User
United States, MD, Glen Burnie
Joined Mar 2012
331 Posts
[QUOTE=CRFan1;21421375]Nate, here is a pic of how I did my choke...simple and effective. This is how a lot of guys do it...

i set mine up like this also its pretty much the only way that works and its easy
VENOMiTry is offline Find More Posts by VENOMiTry
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2012, 09:40 AM
Registered User
kerwin50's Avatar
winston mo
Joined Oct 2006
7,539 Posts
Run that DLE 30 on 6 volts and you'll be replacing that Ign before long.

Nate I can't wait to see your smoke system. Looks like you'll have a real show machine.
kerwin50 is offline Find More Posts by kerwin50
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2012, 11:24 AM
Registered User
SnowDog1974's Avatar
United States, IL, Crystal Lake
Joined Jan 2009
5,565 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by VENOMiTry View Post
yea i went to the hobby store and got a 5a regulator by reedy its for cars but they all do the same and the 5a reg drops the volts to 6v if using a 2s lipo pack at least thats what they told me
sorry, perhaps I was not clear...I have a 6v regulator going from a Life pack to the RX and servos (ATX RX's do not like more than 6v).

For my ignition, I use a 4 cell NIMH pack directly to the ignition system. Kerwin is correct - don't run your ignition at 6v, it is too much voltage and will result in the premature demise of your RCEXL ignition.
SnowDog1974 is online now Find More Posts by SnowDog1974
Site Sponsor
Latest blog entry: Old Faithful - 3DHS 51" Slick
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2012, 01:26 PM
Registered User
United States, MD, Glen Burnie
Joined Mar 2012
331 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kerwin50 View Post
Run that DLE 30 on 6 volts and you'll be replacing that Ign before long.

Nate I can't wait to see your smoke system. Looks like you'll have a real show machine.
but on there site it says 4.8v-6.0v for the ignition
VENOMiTry is offline Find More Posts by VENOMiTry
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion 71" AJ Slick Gas - First time with gas Hewey19 Fuel Plane Talk 7 Sep 06, 2011 04:53 PM
Sold 3dhs 71" aj slick - nib 6L6Amp Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 4 Apr 05, 2011 12:09 PM
Discussion I'm torn, 71 slick or 72 sc? KillerCut 3D Flying 9 Mar 25, 2011 07:20 PM
Discussion 3DHS 42"Slick Side Force Generators bigtexas 3D Flying 3 Mar 03, 2011 01:42 PM
Wanted 3DHS 70" Slick Gas parts!!! helifryer Aircraft - Fuel - Airplanes (FS/W) 0 Feb 20, 2011 08:47 AM