HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jun 12, 2011, 05:47 AM
Registered User
Australia, VIC, Blackburn North
Joined Feb 2011
825 Posts
Here you go Taki.

This is what mine looks like.

mozzyrocks is offline Find More Posts by mozzyrocks
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 12, 2011, 11:44 AM
Registered User
Joined Apr 2011
37 Posts
No Teflon washer? :P

I had a bitch of a time trying to put my strut on. The holes were a little to far apart, but still close enough to make it look like everything would be alright. I drilled the holes and put the bolts through only to find out there was no room to put a nut on. So had to rip it off glue the bottom holes up and then drill 2 new holes higher up on the strut. Fits perfect now.

How do you go about cutting your flex shaft to size? I was going to wrap it in tape then cut it with a dremel.
deadspeedv is offline Find More Posts by deadspeedv
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2011, 02:38 AM
Zombie Apocalypse
Rusty Old Fart's Avatar
Newcastle, Australia
Joined Nov 2010
1,973 Posts
Yep cut with a dremel and then solder. Or as some do forget the tape, solder it first then cut with the dremel.
Rusty Old Fart is offline Find More Posts by Rusty Old Fart
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2011, 04:08 AM
Registered User
Bulgaria, Burgas, Pomorie
Joined Mar 2011
67 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mozzyrocks View Post
Here you go Taki.

This is what mine looks like.

Hi Mozzy,

must I glue the bushing to the strut or live it free and just to fix it on the back with heat shrink to the brass tube?

May I use i file to make a flat spot to the prop shaft for the drive dog?

Cheers.
Taki_bg is offline Find More Posts by Taki_bg
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2011, 06:29 AM
Registered User
Australia, VIC, Blackburn North
Joined Feb 2011
825 Posts
Do not glue it!

The heatshrink is to stop the water pushing up the brass tube through the strut.
It doesn't hold anything.

The brass tube should go almost through the strut & the bushing slides inside the tube & then your teflon liner should slide in from the top, till it touches the speedmaster bushing.

Do I need a teflon washer? Maybe I should get one.
mozzyrocks is offline Find More Posts by mozzyrocks
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2011, 07:32 AM
Registered User
Bulgaria, Burgas, Pomorie
Joined Mar 2011
67 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mozzyrocks View Post
Do not glue it!

The heatshrink is to stop the water pushing up the brass tube through the strut.
It doesn't hold anything.

The brass tube should go almost through the strut & the bushing slides inside the tube & then your teflon liner should slide in from the top, till it touches the speedmaster bushing.

Do I need a teflon washer? Maybe I should get one.
Thank you for supporting me Mozzy!

I think you really need a teflon washer. What about making the flat spot on the prop shaft?

Cheers.
Taki_bg is offline Find More Posts by Taki_bg
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2011, 07:37 AM
Registered User
Australia, VIC, Blackburn North
Joined Feb 2011
825 Posts
I think I made the flat spot on mine.....although, I really can't remember it was so long ago!

Flat spot it as you will want it to grip.

Yeah, I think I'll get a teflon washer.

I wonder if I have one here? Hmmmmm.
mozzyrocks is offline Find More Posts by mozzyrocks
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2011, 08:14 AM
Registered User
Joined Feb 2010
77 Posts
just ordered the genisis from Hk AUS, they told me 3 weeks to new stock. Was gonna run stock with some 2cell 4000 batteries so do I need to glass motor mounts to start?
Thanks for info so far great forum for this boat
goldcoastflyer is offline Find More Posts by goldcoastflyer
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2011, 08:20 AM
Zombie Apocalypse
Rusty Old Fart's Avatar
Newcastle, Australia
Joined Nov 2010
1,973 Posts
The boat will run stock out of the box just fine. Prolonged use will force the upgrade to 3/16. Do the usual.

1 Pull down and regrease everting
2 Locktight everything when you put it back together

and enjoy
Rusty Old Fart is offline Find More Posts by Rusty Old Fart
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2011, 08:31 AM
Registered User
Joined Apr 2011
37 Posts
Dont hit fish when running it. It can bend the strut

Do you solder your shaft farty? I found that it no longer fits into the collet gripping thingy :P. I think I need to buy a soldering iron that it is bit hotter so it flows better. If it is even a wire bigger it will not fit.
deadspeedv is offline Find More Posts by deadspeedv
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2011, 08:37 AM
Registered User
Australia, VIC, Blackburn North
Joined Feb 2011
825 Posts
YES, glass the mounts in properly!!!

Just over lay them as they are.

I cut slots in the carbon & kevlar I used & went over the top & just resined it in. Worked out pretty well.

The battery mounts don't like to hold heavy (6S) packs as I found out.

Realistically, 2S x 2P = 4S in parallel will be much better. More weight & longer run times.

Use the T180 ESC & the 5.5mm bullets. Make a bigger mount for the ESC too.

Can't go wrong.

Deadspeed, have you tried one of those flame burner things to do your soldering?
That's what I used & it doesn't require anything to touch the components, just the flame.
mozzyrocks is offline Find More Posts by mozzyrocks
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2011, 09:10 AM
Registered User
Bulgaria, Burgas, Pomorie
Joined Mar 2011
67 Posts
Guys is it a problem to run 2 x 3S 5000mAh battery in series, one of them is 20C the other one is 40C? Or the 2 batt must be with the same C rating?
Taki_bg is offline Find More Posts by Taki_bg
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2011, 11:33 AM
Registered User
F1 madness's Avatar
Staffs UK
Joined Feb 2010
3,086 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taki_bg View Post
Guys is it a problem to run 2 x 3S 5000mAh battery in series, one of them is 20C the other one is 40C? Or the 2 batt must be with the same C rating?
batts have to have same MAH,C Rating
dont run like you said disaster waiting to happen
F1 madness is offline Find More Posts by F1 madness
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2011, 04:30 AM
Registered User
Bulgaria, Burgas, Pomorie
Joined Mar 2011
67 Posts
Hello guys,

2 days ago I have reinforced my Genesis with fiberglass clothe and glued back the ESC and servo stands. Here are some pictures.
Taki_bg is offline Find More Posts by Taki_bg
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2011, 10:14 AM
Registered User
Australia, VIC, Blackburn North
Joined Feb 2011
825 Posts
Nice work Taki.

That's what's got to be done if you want to increase the power plant later on.

I finally drilled & tapped my motors endbell too.



Next is laying more carbon & kevlar into the sponsons.
mozzyrocks is offline Find More Posts by mozzyrocks
Last edited by mozzyrocks; Jun 18, 2011 at 10:38 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question TFL Hobby GENESIS twin setup Alfa Twin Spar Racing Boats - Electric 54 Feb 21, 2014 08:43 AM
Yippee! Carbon Fiber Genesis Hulls!! FighterCat57 Racing Boats - Electric 7 Dec 03, 2010 01:34 PM
Discussion Genesis setup recommendations stuglas69 Racing Boats - Electric 4 Nov 16, 2010 06:56 PM
Discussion bought the "Genesis Offshore Twin Hull",need opinions! ginnz Racing Boats - Electric 77 Oct 20, 2010 04:52 PM
Sold Genesis Cat Dangerous_toys Boats (FS/W) 5 Sep 09, 2010 11:29 PM