HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old May 09, 2011, 01:07 AM
AMA 52726
Edge767's Avatar
United States, TX, Spring
Joined Jun 2005
1,493 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by timmybeetle View Post
Hi Guys

I'm flying this plain also.
She really flies very well and I modified so that I can use also 2200maH 3 cell lipo.
I put markers on wing for CG and this works great for me.
I removed Lipo holder and placed it bit forward and cut out a bit of frame and foam, glued it back in and now I can fly with standard 1300 or bigger 2200 lipo's.
Rest is stock and I removed pilot and landing gear and she is a beauty in the
How is the motor holding up with the 2200 mah batteries?

I had a disastrous landing today; decided to try to cut power about 4 feet in the air to see how she'd do; she didn't do well at all. She literally dropped out of the sky and the landing gear plastic piece broke. I CA'd it back together; next flight will determine if it will hold or not.

I've had the widest array of landings with this plane. I've had some greasers and some really scary landings. It doesn't seem to be as stable in crosswind as my Corsair or P-47. It flies great, but if you need to land with precision, this plane can be a challenge at times (ie: crosswind).
Edge767 is offline Find More Posts by Edge767
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old May 09, 2011, 02:00 AM
No Guts, No Glory
timmybeetle's Avatar
Nederland, LI, Helden
Joined Sep 2010
558 Posts
landing spit and 2200 lipo

Hi

Well landing this spit can be tricky sometimes.
The only advice I can give you is to keep a bit of speed in it for landing.
Also I noticed yesterday with an instable wind that Spitfire is more stable with 2200maH Lipo compare to 1300maH lipo.
Of course with 2200 lipo Spit is heavier and more stable in the wind.
And in my opinion I prefer plane to be a slightly bit of nose heavy
And with 2200maH lipo yours flying time will be of course longer ha ha...

Spitfire landing practice and sunset flying (2 min 10 sec)


take care greetings HAns
timmybeetle is offline Find More Posts by timmybeetle
Reply With Quote
Old May 09, 2011, 04:55 AM
Registered User
richard9999's Avatar
Sydney, Australia
Joined Jan 2007
1,659 Posts
Hi Timmybeetle,

I just got mine (not yet assembled) and have not been looking forward to the first landing, having had a GWS Spit before. I was very happy to see your belly landing since I have to fly off grass. Did you remove the scoops on the underside, or did these handle the landing OK? It is a beautiful looking plane (except for the crappy tape) and I hope it stays that way!
richard9999 is offline Find More Posts by richard9999
Reply With Quote
Old May 09, 2011, 03:02 PM
No Guts, No Glory
timmybeetle's Avatar
Nederland, LI, Helden
Joined Sep 2010
558 Posts
ArtTech HobbyKing Spitfire

Hi

Those Scoops under the wing they came off after several landings..
So I never put them on again.
About tape I read somewhere on this forum to use an iron to glue them back..I did it too and works great just watch the heat of iron....
Also I removed pilot and modified so I can use 2200 lipo you also can see this I posted it too..

But she flies very well just watch you CG


greeting hans
timmybeetle is offline Find More Posts by timmybeetle
Reply With Quote
Old May 09, 2011, 11:01 PM
Registered User
Warbird@home's Avatar
The Netherlands, NB, Hapert
Joined Apr 2002
1,284 Posts
windy day..

But she flies great, completely stock power with 1350 Lipos. changed pilot and opened canopy....

Aeroclub Bladel-Ray Richards flying the HK Spitfire (0 min 58 sec)


Ray
Warbird@home is offline Find More Posts by Warbird@home
Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2011, 05:53 AM
Kit Manufacturer
coreman's Avatar
United States, MA, Southbridge
Joined Feb 2010
3,453 Posts
Not sure which is the active thread as we have two. I may have updated the old one http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...9&postcount=31

I crashed, fixed and flew mine this week. I am using flaperons with the two aileron servos and found it to help with landing
coreman is offline Find More Posts by coreman
RCG Plus Member
Old May 28, 2011, 06:15 AM
No Guts, No Glory
timmybeetle's Avatar
Nederland, LI, Helden
Joined Sep 2010
558 Posts
Motor update arttech/hobbyking spitfire

Hi spitfire flying guys.

I updated my Spitfire motor because the stock motor works good but has in mine opinion a little bit lack off power.

I used this http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=14742

as replacement and you can see its fits the same as stock one.
I use at the moment a 10E7 prop which gives me 1450 grams of static trust.
I use a 3s 2200 Lipo and a 30A mystery ECS, rated 30A with burst 45A for 12 sec
It throws around 38 amps , 350-400 watts.
So be careful with full throttle.



ps nice cockpit I put it in mine in black and white looks nice, but color is better haha
timmybeetle is offline Find More Posts by timmybeetle
Last edited by timmybeetle; May 28, 2011 at 06:36 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old May 28, 2011, 07:02 AM
Kit Manufacturer
coreman's Avatar
United States, MA, Southbridge
Joined Feb 2010
3,453 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by timmybeetle View Post
Hi spitfire flying guys.

I updated my Spitfire motor because the stock motor works good but has in mine opinion a little bit lack off power.
I would think that motor would give you pure vertical. I have found I get off rough grass in about 15 feet with the stock motor and prop. I went to a 2 bladed GWS 1170 and have the same performance. As a matter of fact, a couple of guys in the peanut gallery commented on how I seem to really like fast planes when I was doing my passes back and forth over the field
coreman is offline Find More Posts by coreman
RCG Plus Member
Old May 28, 2011, 08:35 AM
No Guts, No Glory
timmybeetle's Avatar
Nederland, LI, Helden
Joined Sep 2010
558 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by coreman View Post
I would think that motor would give you pure vertical. I have found I get off rough grass in about 15 feet with the stock motor and prop. I went to a 2 bladed GWS 1170 and have the same performance. As a matter of fact, a couple of guys in the peanut gallery commented on how I seem to really like fast planes when I was doing my passes back and forth over the field

Hi

yes with this setup I can go vertical but for me it's just having the extra power available when needed.
With stock it flies very well.
Great to hear that you are flying with you spit again, mine also went into the trees a couple of weeks ago and fusalage was broken into 4 pieces.
Luckely I retrieved all parts and also flying again with this beautiful plain.

I also fly the Durafly/Hobbyking spit and she really flies so well.

see my youtube video's search for timmybeetle.

greets Hans
timmybeetle is offline Find More Posts by timmybeetle
Last edited by timmybeetle; May 29, 2011 at 02:35 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old May 28, 2011, 08:38 AM
Kit Manufacturer
coreman's Avatar
United States, MA, Southbridge
Joined Feb 2010
3,453 Posts
Have you split the aileron servos into flaperons yet? i find that that really slows it down for landings. I have been having fun with it
coreman is offline Find More Posts by coreman
RCG Plus Member
Old May 28, 2011, 08:45 AM
No Guts, No Glory
timmybeetle's Avatar
Nederland, LI, Helden
Joined Sep 2010
558 Posts
ArtTech HobbyKing Spitfire

Quote:
Originally Posted by coreman View Post
Have you split the aileron servos into flaperons yet? i find that that really slows it down for landings. I have been having fun with it
Hi

No becaus I flying with my XMTR several plains so its not an option.
But it is a great idea and sertanly something that I will keep in mind.



greets Hans
timmybeetle is offline Find More Posts by timmybeetle
Reply With Quote
Old May 28, 2011, 09:08 AM
Kit Manufacturer
coreman's Avatar
United States, MA, Southbridge
Joined Feb 2010
3,453 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by timmybeetle View Post
Hi

No becaus I flying with my XMTR several plains so its not an option.
But it is a great idea and sertanly something that I will keep in mind.



greets Hans
yeah, I have multiple model memory and the ability to backup the planes to the computer so when I saw dual servos I couldn't resist. I also couple them with the elevator because I wasn't thrilled with the elevator throw. I guess I've been practicing with the 3D foamies too often. I have it on a switch so I can disable it also

Jim
coreman is offline Find More Posts by coreman
RCG Plus Member
Old May 28, 2011, 09:22 AM
Fly, crash, rebuild.
United States, NY, Shelter Island
Joined May 2011
873 Posts
Hi Spit fans,
I wanted a great little warbirds to fly on a lunch break over the soccer fields behind my office. Criteria were less than 1 meter wingspan, 2 or 3S, EPO foam, and as scale as possible, with little tip stall.

This plane is it.

She's no pylon racer. 3D is limited to WW II style fighter pilot stuff which is within my reach. The plane is very light and the landings are bouncy to say the least. I now belly land in the grass. Decals and aileron tape are not very good. All are peeling away or cracking.

my hobbyking Art-Tech Spitfire maiden YouTube video

Thanks for the initial reviews leading me to this great purchase. I set up dual rates on the ailerons and moved the elevator pushrod to the middle horn position. I switched the servos /pushrods so they cross in the fuse and therefore deflect less than from the factory. Big battery mod is next. 2 blade and big motor may come soon.
shelterock is offline Find More Posts by shelterock
Reply With Quote
Old May 28, 2011, 12:31 PM
No Guts, No Glory
timmybeetle's Avatar
Nederland, LI, Helden
Joined Sep 2010
558 Posts
ArtTech HobbyKing Spitfire

Big battery mod is next. 2 blade and big motor may come soon.[/QUOTE]

thats no problem just look at page 1 I modified mine so I can use 3s 2200 lipo

and watch CG.

great flying plane.

greets Hans
timmybeetle is offline Find More Posts by timmybeetle
Reply With Quote
Old May 28, 2011, 02:33 PM
Fly, crash, rebuild.
United States, NY, Shelter Island
Joined May 2011
873 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by timmybeetle View Post
Big battery mod is next. 2 blade and big motor may come soon.
thats no problem just look at page 1 I modified mine so I can use 3s 2200 lipo

and watch CG.

great flying plane.

greets Hans[/QUOTE]

Groetjes Hans,
I have a 1550 from gens ace and an 1800mAh too. I worry my concentration will waiver if I fly a 2200. That's got to deliver 20+ minutes at full throttle on the stock motor? Right now with a 1300 mAh I get 6-10 minutes depending on the level of aggression with the throttle stick. I took the landing gear of mine due to your video.
Happy flying,
Harold
shelterock is offline Find More Posts by shelterock
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Art-Tech Spitfire Ta152 Electric Warbirds 30 May 24, 2011 01:25 PM
Discussion Reinforcing Art Tech Spitfire ttuzun Electric Warbirds 1 Aug 11, 2009 03:51 AM
Discussion Art-Tech Spitfire ad at Hobby Lobby Ta152 Electric Warbirds 14 Apr 15, 2009 02:46 PM
Discussion Art Tech Spitfire. Atra Parkflyers 0 Sep 23, 2008 04:23 AM
For Sale Art Tech P-51 RTF & Parkzone Spitfire RTF; Price Reduced Codehead Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 2 May 06, 2008 11:07 PM