SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Mar 27, 2011, 07:33 PM
Gary
United States, MD, Salisbury
Joined Mar 2011
2,257 Posts
Discussion
VC-20-450 Newbie: suggestions?

Complete novice here, experienced photographer, please forgive any stupid questions. I just got through reading this whole thread (Vc20-450 frame), and interested in building a quad.
I have a SRB Quark, can can almost hover. I also have a DX8 and the rx and teli unit that came with it.
Walk me through this? Frame, Paris or Warttox
http://www.multiwiicopter.com/collec...rd-plug-n-play
which is better, or should I use something else?), motors, props, ESC, batteries and .... what else do I need? (besides extras of everything)
I like to build and fiddle, so no problems there. I also have an electrical engineering son if needed in a pinch (specialty = robotics)
I don't mind paying for quality, within reason. Specific esc, motors, etc recommendations would be appreciated. Is everyone still using the ones listed on the first page of the VC20 thread? Thanks from Gary in Salisbury, MD.
glmccready is online now Find More Posts by glmccready
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 27, 2011, 08:06 PM
TECH for XaircraftAmerica!
South Carolina
Joined Mar 2009
5,401 Posts
to start with definatly get the Vic frame. but for boards. the hoverfly is one of the best but cost $$$. but since you are just starting out you could try the KK board. and it will fit nice on the frame.flys very stable. and very easy to set up. also there is the multiwii board but the software isn't perfect yet but good for having fun. there are many motor and esc options out there. you want a motor with fairly low KV, like 800kv or little higher. esc's anywhere from 18amp on up. depending on the motor you use.
tc3wins is online now Find More Posts by tc3wins
Old Mar 27, 2011, 08:29 PM
Gary
Joined Mar 2011
2,257 Posts