HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Oct 15, 2001, 08:24 AM
JCV
NH USA
Joined Sep 2001
26 Posts
started my 1st plane... not happy so far

I wanted to start building my 1st plane on Saturday night... it's a GWS Pico Cub FD. Well, I've been a machinist all my life AND I've built lots of RC cars so I knew what my major problem would be: I like everything to be an exact science... I like precision!

Well, the first thing I had to do was to mark the angle of thrust... no prob. Then, I had to spot glue the IPS mount (ie: hunk of wood) to one of the fuselage halves. Well, I didn't care for this part too much... I had to line up my pencil mark along the raggy edge of a hunk of styrofoam so I did my best.

Now for the fun! I had to glue the fuselage halves together. The directions say to use paper tape to hold the fuselage together while the glue dries... which would have worked out really well if I was going for the "big white stripes where the yellow used to be because the tape had to come off sometime" look!

Plus, being new to gluing stuff together instead of my normal nut, bolt and screw routine, the glue oozed out everywhere... no prob, I wiped it all off and checked it an hour later... still clean! Well, the next morning there were huge glue gobs everywhere so it looks like I'll have to remove a lot more pretty yellow paint getting the glue off.

I've read through the directions a few times and I'm sure things will get worse. I admit it seems like a very simple plane and is only supposed to take 2 hours to build but I've never even seen an airplane up close before... I know nothing about planes! Plus the directions seem very vague and don't really explain anything.

I'll get it done and it least it will look like crap when it inevitably gets rammed to the earth LOL

Is there a paint that matches nicely so I can make my plane look decent again when it's done? Does anyone have any tips for me before I continue? I would appreciate any advice I can get!