HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Mar 24, 2011, 03:22 AM
New Zealand
Joined Jul 2008
848 Posts
Discussion
Peter Rake's Udet Flamingo

After searching for my next build and a couple of messages to Mr Rake I have decided to have a go at building one of his models the 38" Udet Flamingo.
After a short search on the net I became interested in this plane, hopefully I can do it justice
I have settled on an actual plane that I wish to reproduce and while I wait for the kit to arrive from manzano laser I have decided to have a go at making some spoked rims.
I have used 70mm pvc drain pipe for the rim's and copper rivets soldered together to make the hub's, fishing line is used for the spokes.
This is my first attempt at spoked rims so there is a bit of trial and error
I also ordered a graphics kit from Callie Graphics and after a short wait it arrived and is exactly what I wanted
-Reuben
ben199 is offline Find More Posts by ben199
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 24, 2011, 03:35 AM
New Zealand
Joined Jul 2008
848 Posts
Some photo's of the great graphic's kit that Callie has done, it turned out to be more complete and accurate than I had expected and I think it will really set the model off.
-Reuben
Old Mar 25, 2011, 04:35 AM
Norfolk, England
Joined Sep 2001
7,457 Posts
Reuben,
Glad to see you're keen mate. I think you'll find that more spokes around the rim would result in stronger, better looking wheels.
If you were to double the number at the rim, but keep the same number at the hub you could get a much more realistic looking wheel.
I like your drilled rivet hubs, but you might want to consider joining the two parts with about 10-12 degrees off-set - so the holes aren't in the same position on both sides. Then do the lacing all in one run, starting by doing all the bottom 'spokes'.