HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Mar 23, 2011, 10:59 PM
Registered User
Toronto Canada
Joined Jan 2008
656 Posts
Discussion
Dl rssi hookup to et osd pro?? HELP?

I flew my dl the other day with no flaws at all. I only got about 2 miles out, but it was 28 degrees F and my hands were getting cold so I came home. So all is good there. My question is how to hook up the dl rssi with the osd pro from et. Do i just hook up a wire from the rssi pin(there is two of them, so which one do i use?) to the temp A pin. What colour pin do i use on the osd pro?

Thanks guys

B-rad
lilphil26 is offline Find More Posts by lilphil26
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 23, 2011, 11:11 PM
Fly Big, Low and Slow....
Alpina540's Avatar
USA, VA, Wicomico
Joined Aug 2008
1,358 Posts
You can hook to either temp a or b but you must use a 10k resistor on the wire that leads from the DL to the e logger.

-Anson
Alpina540 is offline Find More Posts by Alpina540
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 23, 2011, 11:16 PM
Registered User
Toronto Canada
Joined Jan 2008
656 Posts
Ah so its not just a simple hook up. Ok thanks. I will probably wait for the eagle tree fpv expander.
lilphil26 is offline Find More Posts by lilphil26
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 23, 2011, 11:23 PM
The Fixer
Martin Y's Avatar
Canada, ON
Joined Jan 2009
3,238 Posts
A 10K resistor is nothing to put in line. then cover with a bit of heatshrink and connect, very simple to do.
Martin Y is online now Find More Posts by Martin Y
RCG Plus Member
Old Mar 23, 2011, 11:28 PM
Registered User
Toronto Canada
Joined Jan 2008
656 Posts
I have a box with the components headed your way Martin!! Or you could give me a headsup on where to find a 10k resistor
lilphil26 is offline Find More Posts by lilphil26
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2011, 03:02 PM
Registered User
tsuskas's Avatar
Greece, Makedonia Thraki, Serrai
Joined Feb 2005
47 Posts
does anybody have a picture?pls
tsuskas is offline Find More Posts by tsuskas
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2011, 03:11 PM
Registered User
United States, CA, Rancho Palos Verdes
Joined Sep 2010
284 Posts
Unless I'm mistaken, however, I don't think you can also connect the GPS at the same time. It's sort of either GPS or RSSI until the FPV Expander comes out.
Infernal Bill is offline Find More Posts by Infernal Bill
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2011, 03:12 PM
Going above and beyond
SupaRC's Avatar
Joined Jan 2010
100 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by lilphil26 View Post
headsup on where to find a 10k resistor
Your local Radioshack or electronics store for less then a buck.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Infernal Bill View Post
Unless I'm mistaken, however, I don't think you can also connect the GPS at the same time. It's sort of either GPS or RSSI until the FPV Expander comes out.
I think that is for digital RSSI from something like a Spektrum receiver data port.
With analog RSSI you can use the temp ports
SupaRC is offline Find More Posts by SupaRC
Last edited by SupaRC; Mar 28, 2011 at 03:20 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2011, 03:23 PM
First to go over 106K feet
Crist Rigotti's Avatar
USA, IA, North Liberty
Joined Mar 2008
2,460 Posts
You guys are mixing up the RSSI and 2nd battery inputs. For the 2nd battery you use the 10K resistor. For RSSI it is just a straight wire. The RSSI output from the receiver needs to be buffered though. Here is the link from ET:

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1130784
Crist Rigotti is online now Find More Posts by Crist Rigotti
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2011, 03:28 PM
Registered User
Toronto Canada
Joined Jan 2008
656 Posts
I looked at that buffer, but it says installation requires advanced soldering skills? How advanced are we talking here. Did you get this buffer for your setup Crist? Was it pretty simple to hook up?
lilphil26 is offline Find More Posts by lilphil26
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2011, 03:32 PM
First to go over 106K feet
Crist Rigotti's Avatar
USA, IA, North Liberty
Joined Mar 2008
2,460 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by lilphil26 View Post
I looked at that buffer, but it says installation requires advanced soldering skills? How advanced are we talking here. Did you get this buffer for your setup Crist? Was it pretty simple to hook up?
I don't use RSSI.
Crist Rigotti is online now Find More Posts by Crist Rigotti
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2011, 03:40 PM
Registered User
Toronto Canada
Joined Jan 2008
656 Posts
Ah ok, thanks. They do have a video on the dpcav site, showing how to solder it up, and it looks pretty simple. I think i will just wait for the fpv expander and therefore wont need the buffer.
lilphil26 is offline Find More Posts by lilphil26
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2011, 03:58 PM
First to go over 106K feet
Crist Rigotti's Avatar
USA, IA, North Liberty
Joined Mar 2008
2,460 Posts
DL is supposed to have a buffered output, but it didn't work for me.
Crist Rigotti is online now Find More Posts by Crist Rigotti
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2011, 04:00 PM
Registered User
Toronto Canada
Joined Jan 2008
656 Posts
I just got my dragonlink about a month ago. Maybe its a different version than yours. I will give it a shot and see what happens.
lilphil26 is offline Find More Posts by lilphil26
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Can I use my FMA co-pilot ONE with my ET OSD pro? tconners Eagle Tree Systems 2 Apr 03, 2011 07:18 PM
Discussion Dragon link RSSI + Eagletree OSD PRO ecampos FPV Talk 2 Sep 09, 2010 12:51 AM
Help! Need Help...How do you setup Dx7 to operate ET OSD Pro menus? Mykro FPV Talk 9 Jun 26, 2010 10:33 PM
Discussion Newb Alert! Help with Fatshark Teleporter cam and ET OSD Pro djinni69 FPV Talk 1 Dec 07, 2009 11:28 AM
Discussion Help with my ET OSD Pro & RangeVideo Tx harness Cralis FPV Talk 122 Sep 11, 2009 10:35 AM