HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Mar 18, 2011, 12:47 PM
United States, NM, Estancia
Joined Mar 2011
11 Posts
Discussion
Depron/Wall Foams

Hello I am new to RCG and have been lurking on the sight for a few years now, but not new to modeling and RC. What I am new to is the micro sized stuff and depron/wall foam builds with the tissue paper. I am thrilled that we can now have planes that are around a ounce or so. Now after buying a Solo Pro and PZ P-51 I am now converted to the micros almost entirely excepting my helli's which I keep under 450 size anyway. It is nice being able to fly almost any time rain or shine.

Not being able to leave well enough alone I have decided to scrap my P-51 airframe, I had bought the P-51 for it's electronics so I can do some micro builds anyway. Now I am thinking that I would like to build some semi-scale 4ch warbirds with depron or wall foam and some lighter wing loading to slow them down a bit more because I only fly indoors now. I am thinking of doing a Zero or Hellcat first.

Now on to some of the questions I have. I know that wall foam is lighter than the depron, but have never worked with it and it cant be found in the US. Is it worth my time and effort to get some and is it a little more resilient than the depron is? Depron is fine, but the weight of the wall foam looks too enticing to me. with the addition of the tissue I noticed a nice strength gain with little penalty to weight.

Well thats all I can think of right now, but want to get these projects started soon.
highdesert is offline Find More Posts by highdesert
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 19, 2011, 08:41 AM
Canadian Bacon
Kingston, Canada
Joined Jun 2004
12,914 Posts
Where does one find the specs on this wall foam? To get a comparison.

Gord.
flypaper 2 is offline Find More Posts by flypaper 2
Old Mar 19, 2011, 10:06 AM
Flash, AAAAAAAAAAAHhhhhhhhhh
United States, UT, West Jordan
Joined Dec 2008
2,531 Posts