HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Apr 12, 2011, 08:00 PM
Registered User
wparsons's Avatar
Canada, ON, Whitby
Joined Aug 2008
8,934 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by scorpion1 View Post
If you run 2s4000 or 2s5000's in parallel you have 2s 8000 or 2s 10,000.........that was my point.

He needs to run 4s5000's in parallel like i suggested earlier.
Or instead of buying new packs, he can wire two 2s packs in series, and then wire two of those in parallel. With four 2s5000mah packs you can get 4s10000mah.

It works just like having 4s5000mah packs, but without having to buy new packs since he already has 2s5000mah packs.
wparsons is offline Find More Posts by wparsons
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 12, 2011, 09:58 PM
I feel the need for speed!
scorpion1's Avatar
Southern U.S.
Joined Jun 2008
7,344 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by wparsons View Post
Or instead of buying new packs, he can wire two 2s packs in series, and then wire two of those in parallel. With four 2s5000mah packs you can get 4s10000mah.

It works just like having 4s5000mah packs, but without having to buy new packs since he already has 2s5000mah packs.
Thats what i suggested eight posts ago - post #68

"you will need two more packs of what you already have and run two sets of two series packs for 10,000 mah."
scorpion1 is offline Find More Posts by scorpion1
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2011, 09:59 PM
"Every boy has a dream to fly"
Airplanekid333's Avatar
Fort Collins Colorado
Joined Sep 2009
510 Posts
That is a good point, and i could save more money. But i have absolutely no skill or knowledge how to set the wiring up.
Airplanekid333 is offline Find More Posts by Airplanekid333
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2011, 10:09 PM
I feel the need for speed!
scorpion1's Avatar
Southern U.S.
Joined Jun 2008
7,344 Posts
I'll scrounge up a photo of 4s2p for you......in the meantime I made a correction to your diagram, series adds the voltage together...not mah
scorpion1 is offline Find More Posts by scorpion1
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2011, 10:27 PM
I feel the need for speed!
scorpion1's Avatar
Southern U.S.
Joined Jun 2008
7,344 Posts
Here's a "2p" setup:
scorpion1 is offline Find More Posts by scorpion1
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2011, 11:17 PM
I feel the need for speed!
scorpion1's Avatar
Southern U.S.
Joined Jun 2008
7,344 Posts
Hey Airplane...................i forgot i took this vid a while back of my two buddies, Stringfly and Bruce, going at it with their new offset rudder setups.............really helped the boats. Looking at the vid again, i really got a kick out of this race..............


Ms. Geicos with Kintec offset rudders (1 min 47 sec)
scorpion1 is offline Find More Posts by scorpion1
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2011, 11:43 PM
"Every boy has a dream to fly"
Airplanekid333's Avatar
Fort Collins Colorado
Joined Sep 2009
510 Posts
Stringfly, thanks for helping me out.

I got my 5.5mm bullet connectors today, and cut off the deans and tried to solder on the bullet connectors, FAIL. I burned my finger really bad and have a loosely wiggly connection between the bulletconnector and the wire. I suck at soldering.
Airplanekid333 is offline Find More Posts by Airplanekid333
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2011, 12:16 AM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2010
215 Posts
Best to get a small vice, and a small propane torch. Clamp the connector into the vice, heat it while filling with solder. Then apply flux to your wire and reheat connector end and while hot and molten, stick wire into lead pool...viola! Don't forget your shrink rap!

Brian
RG-sailor is offline Find More Posts by RG-sailor
Last edited by RG-sailor; Apr 13, 2011 at 07:28 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2011, 04:05 AM
Registered User
Australia, NSW, Sydney
Joined Jan 2007
758 Posts
Hi Airplanekid333, you can also use a 80w soldering iron thats what i use with no problems. Her is a link to one in Australia to give you an idea $25.00 AUD cheap as..

240V / 80W Nicholson Soldering Iron

Barry
Flying Barry is offline Find More Posts by Flying Barry
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2011, 02:08 PM
Registered User
Australia, VIC, Blackburn North
Joined Feb 2011
825 Posts
I use a butane gas Portasol Technic for all soldering jobs. I love the fact that it has no cord to restrict movement, can be taken anywhere & the cylinders I use to refill it are those ones that go in bench top burners, which are very cheap.

This is my model had it for about 15yrs....I think.
http://shop.voltelectronics.com.au/p..._7c44_d_TS1305
Gas stove & canisters.
http://www.amazon.com/Deluxe-Butane-.../dp/B000BVC4NY
http://www.amazon.com/Gasone-Butane-..._bxgy_sg_img_b

It can get so hot it literally melts the tips. I've been through two so far.
Also have a fine tip, to solder switches that my falling 7ch transmitter keeps breaking when it jumps off the desk. These are soldered to a circuit board too.

Soldering is very easy, it just takes practice. Don't be deterred by a messy job. You will get better with time.

A soldering stand is a valuable tool. Invest. It makes difficult jobs easy.
Here's one that would work well.
http://www.instructables.com/id/make...seful-for-sol/

Anyway, just thought you mind find some of this stuff useful. We all soldered with 'matches' once upon-a-time.
mozzyrocks is offline Find More Posts by mozzyrocks
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2011, 05:44 PM
"Every boy has a dream to fly"
Airplanekid333's Avatar
Fort Collins Colorado
Joined Sep 2009
510 Posts
I didn't give up, and i successfully soldered the wires nice and secure onto the connectors. Thanks to RG-sailors advice!
I used a 100w solder iron instead of a propane torch.
Should i also put 5.5mm connectors on the motor leads or are the original ones good enough for stock setup?
Airplanekid333 is offline Find More Posts by Airplanekid333
Last edited by Airplanekid333; Apr 13, 2011 at 05:53 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2011, 09:28 PM
Registered User
wparsons's Avatar
Canada, ON, Whitby
Joined Aug 2008
8,934 Posts
How big are the stock ones on the motor? 5.5 is overkill for a motor at that amp draw, but if they're 3.5mm stock there's no harm in upgrading to 5.5mm.
wparsons is offline Find More Posts by wparsons
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2011, 09:36 PM
Memento Mori
Diesel6401's Avatar
United States, NC, Charlotte
Joined Sep 2009
3,024 Posts
I have seen this motor de-solder the 3.5s before. 5.5mm is a good size and a must do upgrade on this motor IMO
Diesel6401 is offline Find More Posts by Diesel6401
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2011, 10:14 PM
I feel the need for speed!
scorpion1's Avatar
Southern U.S.
Joined Jun 2008
7,344 Posts
For 1p you dont need the middle wire on your ESC harness...............connect a pos. to neg. from each batt, then the other two go to the ESC.
scorpion1 is offline Find More Posts by scorpion1
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2011, 03:09 AM
Registered User
Australia, NSW, Sydney
Joined Jan 2007
758 Posts
Hi Airplanekid333,

Looking at the above pictures you have put the 5.5 female bullet connectors on the battery and the 5.5 male bullet connectors on the ESC wires, be careful doing it that way as you can connect the battery around the wrong way and have a fire on your hands. The best way is to have the connectors male and female on the battery and the reverse on the ESC wire so you cannot connect the battery around the wrong way to the ESC wires have a look at the below picture of the battery connectors.

Barry
Flying Barry is offline Find More Posts by Flying Barry
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Miss Geico w/ New paint gettign some air iPOWERSi Racing Boats - Electric 6 Mar 22, 2011 07:24 AM
Discussion Miss Geico - Maiden voyage Boomer1 Racing Boats - Electric 359 Mar 13, 2011 08:24 PM
For Sale Miss Geico ProBoat RTR dhmojo Boats (FS/W) 5 Oct 06, 2010 04:39 PM
Discussion Maiden for Miss Geico scorpion1 Racing Boats - Electric 6 Sep 17, 2010 11:48 AM
Discussion NEW*** ProBoat Miss Geico 29 Offshore Cat! Darin Jordan Racing Boats - Electric 18 Sep 05, 2010 08:59 AM