HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Mar 17, 2011, 02:00 PM
Falkland Islands
Joined Dec 2010
64 Posts
Discussion
formulae for flying wing design?

Hi there, just built a crude flying wing for slope soaring...which I am a total newbie at....its been test glided and while it does glide, sort of I just wonder if its a bit too hefty to be successful...winds are quite light at the moment but am aiming to head to a slope to see what happens.

I would guess that there is a rule of thumb for the design of these. I was just fooling about with some foam, tape and spare servos etc...but would like to take it more serious.

Seen a lot of ytube footage of wings, sure looks a lot of fun.

Rob
robwilkinson is offline Find More Posts by robwilkinson
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 17, 2011, 02:02 PM
EPP Extrordinare
United States, CA, San Clemente
Joined Feb 2008
3,325 Posts
Any pics? Specs (wingspan, chord lengths, weight, airfoil, etc)?
Mr. Combat Certain is offline Find More Posts by Mr. Combat Certain
Old Mar 17, 2011, 02:32 PM
Wellington, New Zealand
Joined Sep 2009
395 Posts
meh, there's no such thing as too heavy for a sloper - only not enough wind...
taurineman is online now Find More Posts by taurineman
Old Mar 18, 2011, 02:02 PM
Falkland Islands
Joined Dec 2010
64 Posts
err..no..the airfoil is not very good...it was all cut with a sharp knife...span is about 36 inch or so...weighing in at 800grams.

Took her up this morning where almost gale force winds actually made it fly...to a degree.

The airfoil is so poor that the control surfaces dont work too good had a heck of a job flying it yesterday...got a good glide in though...it was heading for a road so had to land her...could have sworn that there was a little ground effect going on there...just wouldnt land!