SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Mar 13, 2011, 06:32 PM
United States, KY, Paducah
Joined Mar 2011
596 Posts
Discussion
Gonna order a slowstick . . .

Hello Everyone,
I'm new to R/C and I'm wanting to learn how to fly. I've decided to get a GWS Slow Stick.

I already have two GWS micro servos, a GWS pico recever, a Hitec transmitter, a Castle Creations Thunderbird 18 ESC, a 890Kv brushless motor, two 11x4.7 props, and a PowerWing 2100mah 20c Li-po. I'm planning on ordering the Slow Stick from Horizon Hobbies sometime this week. What I was wondering was . . . is there anything else I will need when building the plane that I should put in this order? Will I need servo extensions? The cables that are on the servos are about 4 inch or so. Also, I have a prop saver for my motor - Are there special rubberbands for that? If so do I need them, because I planned on just using my brother's rubberbands that go on his braces.

Any help or advice is appreciated,
PyroMan
PyroMan is offline Find More Posts by PyroMan
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 13, 2011, 09:54 PM
WARNING: May contain spam
United States, CA, Alpine
Joined Oct 2007
21,001 Posts
Your servo lead lengths will be fine. Also, pickup a replacement slingshot band from walmart or wherever and then slice up the surgical tubing to use as prop saver bands.

Or buy some surgical tubing and slice it up.

Also, check around for slow stick build threads here. The manual isn't all that great..
Xpress.. is offline Find More Posts by Xpress..
Old Mar 13, 2011, 11:23 PM
Joined Mar 2011
596 Posts
Right now I'm in the middle or reading this http://mattsrc.rchomepage.com/ssir/allinone.shtml then I'm gonna read this build log http://www.verrill.com/rc/ss/ What other build logs and stuff about the Slow Stick would you (or anyone) recommend?

Thats a very cool idea about using surgical tubing as like mini rubberbands - I never would've thought of that.

Thanks,
PyroMan
Old Mar 14, 2011, 08:08 AM
Delran NJ