SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Mar 26, 2011, 04:57 PM
Suspended Account
Κύπρος, Λευκωσία, Πέρα Χωριό
Joined Jan 2010
9,530 Posts
now I think about it..
it's more of a space issue than a tricky thing to do. a piece of piano wire ment into the canards will do the job. the prob is .. whereto put the servos because you actuelly need 2 next to each other
pavcon is offline Find More Posts by pavcon
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 26, 2011, 05:03 PM
Suspended Account
Joined Feb 2011
1,145 Posts
.

I just do the KISS principle
With 3 servos. Just have 1 servo for canard pitch
plus 2 servos for elevons. Don't worry canards for rolling.

2 Mixes:
- Ch 1 & 6 for flapperons
- Ch 2 -> 6 for elevator to flap mixing

or better yet 2 servos for canards, 2 servos for flaperons
and more mixing fun :-)

for 3 servos set up this would be a good starting point,
full up elevator: Trailing edges of canards go down 3/4", elevons up 3/8"



.
tweeter1 is offline Find More Posts by tweeter1
Last edited by tweeter1; Mar 26, 2011 at 05:33 PM.
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Mar 26, 2011, 05:33 PM
Suspended Account
Κύπρος, Λευκωσία, Πέρα Χωριό
Joined Jan 2010
9,530 Posts
just 1 servo for elevaor for the canards.. they are not really needed but it would be nice just to see movement there
a guy at our airfiled has the canards just for airbrakes and nothing more.
pavcon is offline Find More Posts by pavcon
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2011, 05:36 PM
Suspended Account
Joined Feb 2011
1,145 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by pavcon View Post
just 1 servo for elevaor for the canards.. they are not really needed but it would be nice just to see movement there
a guy at our airfiled has the canards just for airbrakes and nothing more.
Oh you have to see the canards help the jet a lot doing High alfa stuffs.
And Delta platform is great for this.


And yet, during landing, canards are great for airbrakes;
see the end of this video, how canards work as airbrakes

Jas 39 Gripen @ Red Bull Airpower 2009 Zeltweg (4 min 44 sec)

.
tweeter1 is offline Find More Posts by tweeter1
Last edited by tweeter1; Mar 26, 2011 at 05:42 PM.
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Mar 26, 2011, 05:52 PM
Suspended Account
Κύπρος, Λευκωσία, Πέρα Χωριό
Joined Jan 2010
9,530 Posts
I believe that the authority of the tailerons alone as ailerons will be enough... the canards as elevators won' tblock the airflow to the large atailerons so.. working just as elevators will be fine and a piece of cake mod to do.
but the movement for high alfa on those models are inverted.. or is it just me :/ ?
pavcon is offline Find More Posts by pavcon
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2011, 05:55 PM
Suspended Account
Κύπρος, Λευκωσία, Πέρα Χωριό
Joined Jan 2010
9,530 Posts
and btw.. it's better to use the canarsd just for elevators and bother with a rudder mod
pavcon is offline Find More Posts by pavcon
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2011, 08:26 PM
Suspended Account
Joined Feb 2011
1,145 Posts
.

this would be a good starting set up
for 3 servos config

1/ Elevators: up/down 3/8"
2/ canards: up/down 3/4"
3/ elevons: +/- 3/4"
4/ rudder: l/r 1.5"
exponential: +/- 60%
tweeter1 is offline Find More Posts by tweeter1
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Mar 27, 2011, 12:02 AM
Registered User
Patras, Greece
Joined May 2007
1,291 Posts
Hi tweeter1.
Canards are flimsy and this mod will take some time. I have them on Eurofighter, but it is bigger bird and I use them only for up/down.
takiss is offline Find More Posts by takiss
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2011, 02:18 AM
Suspended Account
Κύπρος, Λευκωσία, Πέρα Χωριό
Joined Jan 2010
9,530 Posts
takiss. Just a piece of piano wire bended at a π shape will do the job for the cnards. It will not take that long.. I will take some photos of what are my thoughts and i will post when i get home. Only thing you need is a xacto knife. A small piece of piano wire and a small piece of plastic tubing for the wire to pass through..
Now thats for the elevator function. If yoou want ailerons too thats a complete different story and probably out of my bounds to do
pavcon is offline Find More Posts by pavcon
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2011, 02:34 AM
Suspended Account
Joined Feb 2011
1,145 Posts
pavcon;

I thought you are still there forever with that
500,000+ posts on those mini jets.
Very funny thread though, same thing over, over... over again

.
tweeter1 is offline Find More Posts by tweeter1
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Mar 27, 2011, 02:17 PM
Suspended Account
Κύπρος, Λευκωσία, Πέρα Χωριό
Joined Jan 2010
9,530 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by tweeter1 View Post
pavcon;

I thought you are still there forever with that
500,000+ posts on those mini jets.
Very funny thread though, same thing over, over... over again

.
yeah.. I'm not a monster of patience but when a thread is growing huge it's inevitable to have the same questions over and over again.. I guess the next question is going to be like... .. DOES THE STOCK ESC HANDLE 4s ? ? ? orrr.. which is the fastest airframe?? or.. are those real JETS??? bah...
pavcon is offline Find More Posts by pavcon
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2011, 08:55 PM
To Have & To Hold
Percivale's Avatar
Joined May 2010
100 Posts
Alright, I ordered the Rafale. This is going to be my first 70mm Delta Wing and for the power system, I will probably ditch the landing gears and use:
  • 60A Turnigy Plush ESC
  • 3000kv Freewing Motor
  • 2200mah 4S1P 45C Nanotech Lipo

Will Metal Gear servos be needed? Please post any of your building/flying tips here for sharing
Percivale is offline Find More Posts by Percivale
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2011, 02:48 AM
Suspended Account
Κύπρος, Λευκωσία, Πέρα Χωριό
Joined Jan 2010
9,530 Posts
Percivale no metal gear servos needed. some HXT900s will do the job.
pavcon is offline Find More Posts by pavcon
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2011, 02:57 AM
Registered User
ozgur's Avatar
Joined May 2009
473 Posts
takiss,

According to you, do we have any chance to convert the wings to bolt-in version? By using some ply and carbon tube.

Ozgur
ozgur is offline Find More Posts by ozgur
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2011, 03:04 AM
Suspended Account
Κύπρος, Λευκωσία, Πέρα Χωριό
Joined Jan 2010
9,530 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ozgur View Post
takiss,

According to you, do we have any chance to convert the wings to bolt-in version? By using some ply and carbon tube.

Ozgur
can;t wait for ozgur to start his magic
pavcon is offline Find More Posts by pavcon
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Crashed my 70mm A7 Corsair II need new airframe. redtail Foamy EDFs 18 Apr 19, 2011 12:06 PM
Mini-Review "Rafale" park flayer EDF by HobbyKing eFly.co.il Foamies (Kits) 5 Feb 28, 2011 03:50 AM
Sold 3 New Hobbyking Hercules 2800kv 70mm EDF motors. T-CAT Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 3 Jan 13, 2011 07:47 PM
Sold 4 New Hobbyking 70mm EDF units with a three wide blade rotor design. T-CAT Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 7 Jan 13, 2011 06:59 PM
New Product New Twin 70mm composite Rafale lavochkin Electric Ducted Fan Jet Talk 2 Jul 17, 2009 08:41 PM