HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Mar 10, 2011, 12:27 PM
Joined Mar 2011
28 Posts
Discussion
Need some advice on some RC questions

I'm brand new to the RC world here so please bear with me. I am looking for a decent transmitter and I managed to come across this:

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...idProduct=8992

I know nothing about them. It seems to have about as many features as I need at this time. Is there a way to interface the Turnigy 9x with an Arduino controller? I want to be able to put the RC device into an autonomous mode with the flip of one of the switches, but I am not sure (without severe hacking of the device) if it's possible. Looks like the range is pretty promising from what the reviews have said and it seems to be very programmable.

Second question for you all. I bought 2 10x6x3 props. How do you size the motors for them, or all props for that matter? I've found conversion equations for converting prop sizes from 2 to 3 & 4 props, but I'm still trying to find info on motor sizing.

Any information would be GREATLY appreciated.

Rami
Ramidan is offline Find More Posts by Ramidan
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 10, 2011, 02:45 PM
Dave the Rave
Joined Jun 2007
869 Posts
The general rule of thumb for a 3-bladed prop is that you drop down one inch in diameter and one number in pitch from the recommended 2-blade sizes. Most motors will include recommended prop sizes for various types of flying and/or wattage loads desired. As for motor sizing, a good way to choose a motor is to look at the motor's specs and make your choice based on the weight of the model.

I think the Turnigy transmitter/receiver combo will interface with an Arduino as well as any other brand, whether or not it will do what you want it to do will depend mostly on the code.
dmccormick001 is offline Find More Posts by dmccormick001
Old Mar 10, 2011, 05:13 PM
Joined Mar 2011
28 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmccormick001 View Post