SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Mar 09, 2011, 07:46 PM
Joined Mar 2011
6 Posts
Discussion
Noob Questions - Fixed Pitch/Coaxial/Gyro

Hi Everyone - I am new to the hobby and only have been flying for a week, so please bear with me -

I have a question about Fixed Pitched helicopters - I was on xheli.com and was interested in purchasing a Walkera HM CB180D and noticed that it had only one set of blades - Is that what fixed pitch means? Are they harder to fly?

Also, I noticed that many coaxial helicopters have built in Gyro systems - Are there any fixed pitched helicopters with built in gyros?

My last question is what is it like flying without a Gyro system? I understand a Gyro box is for balancing of the aircraft, so I was wondering if I would have a difficult time with a heli that is fixed pitched without a Gyro system -

Thanks for reading!
SPR Phantasm is offline Find More Posts by SPR Phantasm
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 09, 2011, 07:53 PM
Cranky old fart
Germantown, WI.
Joined Oct 2007
21,470 Posts
That is basically what is meant by fixed pitch. There are no hobby grade helis that do not have gyros. Hasn't been one in years. It's hard to say if they are harder to fly, harder than what? You should know the CB180D has been replaced by the CB180Z, due to a number of issues. Parts could be a problem.
Balr14 is offline Find More Posts by Balr14
Old Mar 09, 2011, 07:57 PM
that's gonna leave a scar
United States, NC, Mooresville
Joined Aug 2007
3,481 Posts
i would say the Walkera HM CB180D/Z is a fixed pitch heli...and has the gyro built into the reciever there should be a whole thread about this heli in the "micro" section !!!

welcome to RCG
KCinNC is offline Find More Posts by KCinNC
Old Mar 09, 2011, 09:07 PM
Joined Mar 2011
6 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Balr14 View Post