SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Mar 08, 2011, 03:28 AM
Scratchest Aeromodelling;-)
Merog's Avatar
Visakhapatnam, INDIA
Joined Sep 2008
314 Posts
Help!
Can we get 1S power from 2S LiPo?

Guys, this may look strange but I need it. Is there any way to get a 1S power (3.7v) from a 2S (7.4v) LiPo?

This thing I need to power my key chain cam externally from on board airplane main LiPo.

Awaiting replies....//MEROG
Merog is offline Find More Posts by Merog
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 08, 2011, 03:43 AM
Registered User
Letchworth, Great Britain (UK)
Joined Jul 2004
12,015 Posts
If your pack has a balance plug, the answer is yes. The balance plug should have three pins, and you simply need to get a mating socket and connect any two adjacent pins.

However, if you do this you need to be very careful. The camera's current draw should be very small compared to what the motor and radio are drawing, otherwise the LiPo cells will go way out of balance, and the cell that's running the camera might be damaged by over discharging because it won't have the lvc protection that's built into the ESC. Don't forget to disconnect the camera from the battery the same time as you disconnect the power system.
abenn is offline Find More Posts by abenn
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 08, 2011, 03:58 AM
Registered User
Staffs, UK
Joined Nov 2003
10,771 Posts
That will work and has the advantage of no additional weight. The other way is to build a simple voltage regulator to feed the camera. Only a few components and a couple of minutes work.

Steve
slipstick is offline Find More Posts by slipstick
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 08, 2011, 04:54 AM
Scratchest Aeromodelling;-)
Merog's Avatar
Visakhapatnam, INDIA
Joined Sep 2008
314 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by slipstick View Post
That will work and has the advantage of no additional weight. The other way is to build a simple voltage regulator to feed the camera. Only a few components and a couple of minutes work.

Steve
abenn's suggestion may have a risk. Then steve, any schema to build a regulator?
Merog is offline Find More Posts by Merog
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 08, 2011, 05:05 AM
Registered User
lipoflyer's Avatar
Australia
Joined Nov 2010
2,876 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by slipstick View Post
That will work and has the advantage of no additional weight. The other way is to build a simple voltage regulator to feed the camera. Only a few components and a couple of minutes work.

Steve
i would go for the voltage regulator option if it were me

other way has the ability to throw a pack out of ballance easily
lipoflyer is offline Find More Posts by lipoflyer
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 08, 2011, 08:24 AM
Registered User
Staffs, UK
Joined Nov 2003
10,771 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Merog View Post
abenn's suggestion may have a risk. Then steve, any schema to build a regulator?
What exact voltage and current do you need ? If you can use 5V and 100mA or less then a 78L05 will work. E.g http://www.national.com/mpf/LM/LM78L05.html#Overview

Like I say, not many components .

Steve
slipstick is offline Find More Posts by slipstick
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 08, 2011, 09:16 AM
Registered User
United States, IL, Carbondale
Joined Jun 2005
443 Posts
Removed as it's incorrect info ..
baratta930 is offline Find More Posts by baratta930
Last edited by baratta930; Mar 08, 2011 at 11:41 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 08, 2011, 09:41 AM
HAL... Open the damn doors!
jfetter's Avatar
Miramar, Florida
Joined Jul 2007
8,517 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by baratta930 View Post
Another option is if you're not going to draw much current (<2A) then just parallel the balance outputs. You'll get 1S power and not risk unbalancing the pack.
They are already wired in series, all that will do is short the pack (DO NOT TRY!)...

Jack
jfetter is offline Find More Posts by jfetter
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 08, 2011, 10:46 AM
Retired CFI Helicopter
Hughes500Bob's Avatar
Southeast PA
Joined Jun 2007
1,609 Posts
http://www.dimensionengineering.com/AnyVoltMicro.htm

If you try and take power from just one of the cells the pack will become out of balance.
Hughes500Bob is offline Find More Posts by Hughes500Bob
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 08, 2011, 11:41 AM
Registered User
United States, IL, Carbondale
Joined Jun 2005
443 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfetter View Post
They are already wired in series, all that will do is short the pack (DO NOT TRY!)...

Jack
oh yeah, didn't think before posting ... sorry about that.

I'll edit my original post to remove it ...
baratta930 is offline Find More Posts by baratta930
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 08, 2011, 12:50 PM
Scratchest Aeromodelling;-)
Merog's Avatar
Visakhapatnam, INDIA
Joined Sep 2008
314 Posts
ok guys, so strictly not going to use from 2S. Trying to buy a 1S.

Thank you
Merog is offline Find More Posts by Merog
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 08, 2011, 02:48 PM
Southern Pride
everydayflyer's Avatar
Haralson County GA. USA
Joined Oct 2004
34,839 Posts
http://www.dimensionengineering.com/AnyVoltMicro.htm
everydayflyer is online now Find More Posts by everydayflyer
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Can we get this man a Hawaiian birth certificate?? Dave Campbell Life, The Universe, and Politics 88 Nov 27, 2010 04:30 PM
Question instead of UBEC, can I use a 2s Lipo to power my Servos? rclab1 Electric Plane Talk 7 Nov 15, 2010 12:38 PM
Question Can we please get some moderation on this thread? SkylineFlyer Site Suggestions / Complaints 8 Sep 28, 2010 09:24 PM
Discussion Can We Get Harding and Coolidge Back? Big Foot 48 Life, The Universe, and Politics 25 Sep 13, 2010 02:55 PM
Question How much power can I get from a LiPo? rafcab Batteries and Chargers 4 Sep 15, 2009 04:14 PM