HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Mar 08, 2011, 02:47 AM
Joined Mar 2011
2 Posts
Discussion
Century EVO 180 SE

I've just got one of the new Century EVO 180 SE flybarless helis and while it flies great I can't get any forward motion out of it when I use it outdoors. I'm flying in pretty good conditions with hardly any wind but when I try to fly forwards the head comes up and it goes backwards, then it dips and recovers. I'm pretty new to this so any suggestions ?
DTO666 is offline Find More Posts by DTO666
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 08, 2011, 02:05 PM
Joined Dec 2007
845 Posts
First, any fixed pitch heli of that size will not be able to overcome much wind at all (almost non, a light breeze at best).

I do not have the SE FBL version, the one I have is the standard flybared version and it is fairly good (the best fixed pitch mini I have ever owned) at handling breezes, but even then, it is very slow upwind and takes a bit of stick movement to get it to come back upwind.

But maybe your issue is settings of the FBL unit.
Cyclick is offline Find More Posts by Cyclick
Old Mar 08, 2011, 02:42 PM
Cranky old fart
Germantown, WI.
Joined Oct 2007
21,486 Posts
You need to turn down the stabilization on the gyro.
Balr14 is offline Find More Posts by Balr14
Old Mar 09, 2011, 03:15 AM
Joined Mar 2011
2 Posts
Thanks for the replies gents, I suspected that it might be a "breeze" issue, but I'll adjust the gyro settings slightly to see if that improves things.
DTO666 is offline Find More Posts by DTO666
Old Apr 24, 2011, 06:11 AM
UK, Greater Manchester, Manchester
Joined Jan 2011
8 Posts
Evo 180 se - gyro 'freak-out'

Just adding my two cents worth.

My 180 SE flies really stable during a hover but has issues the minute you try and actually move it around. More accurately, if you fly some forward flight and then try and slow down to a stop it develops what I call a death wobble, where the heli seems to be having its own internal battle to stabilise the EVO 180 SE.