HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Mar 06, 2011, 07:35 PM
Grounded Pilot
USA, MN, Rochester
Joined Jul 2007
213 Posts
Build Log
Design Build Low Wing "Penguin X'

This is my first attempt at designing and building a foam low winger plane. Besides a sketch (which ended up looking like a Penguin when you look at it straight in) rulers, measuring tape, pens, and markers, there were no other attempt at putting the design elements and dimensions on paper before jumping on the foam cutter and going to work.

The design and the build kind of evolves as you go. I am just wondering how it will all end up (short of crashing of course). Here I will share with you mostly in pictures what it is I am attempting to build. I will also share few things I am sure I will learn as the build goes forward.

Updated 3/14/2011: Just added a drawing in attached pictures.

P.I. Aerospace Engineering AKA (My Basement Hangar)
IIIBonesAirForce is offline Find More Posts by IIIBonesAirForce
Last edited by IIIBonesAirForce; Mar 14, 2011 at 05:49 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 06, 2011, 11:32 PM
My plans are in my blog
Kotzebue, Alaska
Joined May 2006
5,411 Posts
Awaiting pics.
Rusty-Gunn is offline Find More Posts by Rusty-Gunn
Old Mar 09, 2011, 09:19 PM
Grounded Pilot
USA, MN, Rochester
Joined Jul 2007
213 Posts
Pictures of the build

Here are some of the initial build starting withe wing and for now ending with the "framing the body. I also installed the blocks for the main landing gear and for the nose wheel. The Sullivan servo linkages "Blue" act to strengthen the frame. Please feel free to comment and add your thoughts, questions, and/or suggestions.
Old Mar 09, 2011, 09:39 PM
Grounded Pilot
USA, MN, Rochester
Joined Jul 2007
213 Posts
fuse and other parts.