Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Mar 05, 2011, 12:57 PM
Falling with style!
USA, WA, Freeland
Joined Nov 2010
223 Posts
Discussion
46" Pitts Special S1-S

I've been looking for a nice sized scale looking S-1S park flyer for some time now. With the exception of the Banana Hobbies S-2B ARF, there just doesn't seem to be anything out on the market, in any form. Not wanting to give Banana Hobbies any more of my money, and because I would rather have an S-1S like the real one I once flew competition with, I decided to build it from scratch.

Actually, I commissioned my father to build it, as he is retired and has more spare time than I do, and likes to stay busy building models. The Pitts is currently under construction, so I have posted photos of the build progress to date. I will add to the pictures as they become available.

Both my father and I have a lot of experience building full scale sport and antique airplanes, so we have a natural eye for accuracy, and expect our models to appear authenticly scale and correct. But we are more interested in sport flyers than those magnificent intrinsically scale detailed airplanes that grace RC Groups. There are few S-1S designs on the market, and I haven't found any that truly look right to me. This project was inspired primarily by Mike Tully's Pitts S-1S build, who, in my opinion, very accurately captured the true essence of the Pitts S-1S: http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=642548

The tail feathers and wing tip bows are all built up from balsa strips laminated around forms.

The tail will receive a fish-line brace wires for added rigidity, and scale appearance. The wings will probably not receive brace wires, as the one piece lower wing shouldn't require it. This will make disassembling the wings much easier.