HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Mar 05, 2011, 12:57 AM
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Joined Sep 2003
510 Posts
Discussion
25 Size DH 82 A Tiger Moth

Here are some pictures of my plan built Tiger Moth.
The model was built from Gordon Whitehead's plan. Powered by an OS 25 FX
mchandrayan is offline Find More Posts by mchandrayan
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 05, 2011, 01:06 AM
Joined Sep 2003
510 Posts
Some more
Old Mar 06, 2011, 05:24 PM
United States, NY, Ithaca
Joined Sep 2007
914 Posts
Beautiful job! And really nice in-flight photos. I love those small scale Gordon Whitehead designs. Tell us more about it.

Jim
buzzard bait is online now Find More Posts by buzzard bait
Old Mar 06, 2011, 10:12 PM
I'm a pilot... 100 yrs to late
USA, FL, Palm Harbor
Joined Jan 2005
3,453 Posts
Whats it weigh... looks like a nice candidate for E-conversion too.
Thermalin is offline Find More Posts by Thermalin
Old Mar 07, 2011, 02:38 AM
Joined Sep 2003
510 Posts
Jim,
Thanks for the kind words, yes I am a big fan of Gordon's design too. They are designed for everyday flying. Have a couple more plans from him, will get around building them some day.
Only regret I have with respect to this Tiggie that I could not afford a 4T then, an OS26four stroke would have been eminently suitable and would have avoided that big lump of muffler sticking out of port cowl.
The biggest challenge I face with this model is frequent engine cuts due to inverted engine and tank position. The 25 Fx is way too much power and if flown for some time at 1/2 throttle the engine quits freqently. A 20 FP would have been better so that the engine would be mostly at full throttle

Thermalin,
Never weighed it, but I guess it would be around 4- 4 1/2 pounds mark. Yes should be good with an electric motor too, but I would prefer my Tiggies to be IC powered :-)
Old Mar 09, 2011, 08:41 AM
United States, NY, Ithaca
Joined Sep 2007
914 Posts