SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Mar 04, 2011, 02:19 PM
uk. northampton
Joined May 2009
999 Posts
Discussion
Can anyone help with flying my wing!!

I'm new to flying wings, but have been flying planes and helis for years, just put my new raven wing together and took it out for a couple of test flights, its a right handfull!!! it flys as I would expect at speed but if I try to fly it gently the controls either respond very quickly or not at all, is it just that I have to get used to control response or does anyone think c of g is wrong or set up? I do realise that it needs airspeed over the control surfaces and wing for lift and control but it just seems reeeeeaaaallly hard to fly!!!

Any comments greatfully received! Thanks.
ripmax is offline Find More Posts by ripmax
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 04, 2011, 02:41 PM
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Joined Sep 2007
2,366 Posts
Rip,
Suggest you double check your CG position and your elevon throws as well. It doesn't take much for either to be out of wack to make these things a handful.

Good luck!
Peter

PS: Also are you trying to fly it too slowly? ie does it handle better when its going at speed?
Peter M is offline Find More Posts by Peter M
Old Mar 04, 2011, 03:16 PM
northenden, manchester, england
Joined May 2009
1,445 Posts
+1 for your cg, and do you use dual rates on the raven, if your radio has dual rates then set the low rates to 50% and that will calm down the wing, and pm teslahed he had the raven, and could help you, here is his raven http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...postcount=2481
carl
doggit is offline Find More Posts by doggit
Old Mar 04, 2011, 03:20 PM
uk. northampton
Joined May 2009
999 Posts
Elevon throws are set at max as I like lots of control, think u might be right as far as flying too slow, too used to heli and quad flying where u don't need speed over control surfaces for lift and control! Thanks for your reply. Will double check CG.