HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Dec 05, 2011, 09:18 AM
Registered User
yzguy's Avatar
Florida
Joined Mar 2007
891 Posts
yeah, every flight I take off, fly off a bit, and kick in RTH when in visual sight. Then while circling, put on my goggles. After a scare of almost loosing a smaller plane, I got this:
http://www.fmtv.us/rf_beacon.html
it won't pinpoint the plane, but will get you close.
yzguy is offline Find More Posts by yzguy
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: wing wing z-84 fpv setup
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 05, 2011, 09:28 AM
FPV junkie
m_beeson's Avatar
United States, UT
Joined Jan 2011
3,376 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by joel0407 View Post
How did you fix it turning?

I'm currently holding off ordering a new plane and gear until I give it a couple of months to see if it turns up.
I adjusted the gains and limits until I found the settings that performed to my satisfaction.

RTH was on the top of my list of importance, so I put off flying for enjoyment, while I calibrated. It took a couple of weeks before I was completely satisfied with all of my settings.

-Mike
m_beeson is offline Find More Posts by m_beeson
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 05, 2011, 04:44 PM
Formerly bUd~Fokker
vvV FANG Vvv's Avatar
Australia, NSW, Eurongilly
Joined Aug 2008
2,039 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by joel0407 View Post
Buyer be warned. This thing works awesome. Too awesome in fact.

Saturday was my second attempt at FPV. After my first attempt was with a Helli I thought I needed a plane to start.

My Bixler/Sky Surfer weighed in at about 1.2kgs but the Guardian made it fly soooo smooth and level, I couldn't believe how good it flew. The build took me about 6 months to put together, just doing a bit here and there and waiting for stock of some things.

Finally a mate set a date and said you need to be ready for this weekend. As I was thinking this project has stretched out too long any way I went with it. I should have tested and setup things better but away I (the bixler) went.

After 5 minutes my Bloggie turned off and I lost video. I engaged the Return to Home which I hadn't setup. The plane flew beautifully, so level, keeping altitude. It was too far away at this time to see orientation but I thought it was coming toward me. Apparently not.

I suspect my 900mhz Vtx had interfered with my GPS.

My plane just flew away.

Should have properly tested the Bloggie at home on the Bench until the battery went flat.

Should have setup the OSD with more info like GPS sats.

Should have properly tested RTH with the Simulator.

No point crying over spilt milk.

Good thing is. The location I chose to fly is a mates property in Country Australia, there is only 4 neighbours within the flight range. They all know about my lost plane and I have no doubt that if it is found whilst they are checking sheep or stripping crops, it will get returned. I believe there is a good chance it will be found but I don't know how long away that will be.
Hey man i can feel ya pain with this one!!

I lost my plane whilst flying over some farm land. I was fairly high up at about 3k out when i lost my camera signal, (i think it was because i got slack and didnt charge the battery after the first flight) or the cable came out.

I spent ages looking for it in the canola crop, a bright yellow plane in a bright yellow feild was not a fun search lol.
They have since stripped and harvested the crops but no plane!!

I did not have any OSD gear in the plane at the time... kind of fortunate and unfortunate at the same time. If i had of had that going i could of maybe flown back just on the OSD info.

It was a hard learnt lesson, but now i am back after a couple of months all set to go again better then ever!

I now have the guardian, and an altimeter to go with the rest of my ET stuff, and a ground station recorder.

The GS recorder would of been good too to play back the last visuals i had on the plane~

I also got an RF beacon so i can locate a lost plane anywhere. SO i figure i will soon have thre failsafes 1 the RTH Feature, 2 The GS Recorder and 3 the RF Beacon.

One thing i do wonder with yours is where did you set the home position at?

If you set the home posiiton at a different place and then drove out to your test feild it might explain why it flew away. Maybe have a look around where your home position was set.

Anyway hope ya find it!
vvV FANG Vvv is offline Find More Posts by vvV FANG Vvv
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 05, 2011, 10:21 PM
Registered User
Australia, VIC, Melbourne
Joined May 2009
373 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gundy View Post
Ok,
moving my OSD PRO + logger v3 + Guardian to my new Zephyr ZII
From another wing.
anyone have a good "setup file" for a Zephyr??

Later,
Gundy
Everything should work default , just adjust the gain as a fine tune, all set! nothing simpler really
AeroM'ck'y is offline Find More Posts by AeroM'ck'y
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 06, 2011, 10:31 AM
But often down to earth
Floater73's Avatar
Oklahoma, USA
Joined Sep 2010
736 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bUd~Fokker View Post
I also got an RF beacon so i can locate a lost plane anywhere. SO i figure i will soon have thre failsafes 1 the RTH Feature, 2 The GS Recorder and 3 the RF Beacon.
Would you post some info about the RF Beacon and a link to where you got it?

Thanks,
Steve
Floater73 is offline Find More Posts by Floater73
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 06, 2011, 10:41 AM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2010
880 Posts
...
thekubiaks is offline Find More Posts by thekubiaks
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 06, 2011, 01:48 PM
Registered User
Thint1's Avatar
Austria / Vienna
Joined Feb 2007
1,303 Posts
hi BUd~Fokker,

Quote:
One thing i do wonder with yours is where did you set the home position at?

If you set the home posiiton at a different place and then drove out to your test feild it might explain why it flew away. Maybe have a look around where your home position was set.
the home position is set at the place of the sat-fix after switching on the osd.
the home pos. can be resetted to the actual position at the first menu, first item.
i reset shortly before take-off. there is a flight-timer too which is triggered with the satfix (or reset) and i like to see my air-time.

cheers Thomas
Thint1 is offline Find More Posts by Thint1
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 06, 2011, 05:29 PM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2010
374 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Floater73 View Post
Would you post some info about the RF Beacon and a link to where you got it?

Thanks,
Steve
Just search for FM-kit RF beacon. I got one and it is absolutely excellent. I lost my plane in a forest and found it a few hours later just from using the beacon and a cheap walkie talkie!
Protocrash is offline Find More Posts by Protocrash
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 06, 2011, 09:01 PM
Registered User
abreimeris's Avatar
United States, CO, Aurora
Joined Apr 2009
45 Posts
Please let us know if anyone finds the link where to get the FM beacon.
abreimeris is offline Find More Posts by abreimeris
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 06, 2011, 10:02 PM
Registered User
joel0407's Avatar
Canberra, Australia
Joined Oct 2010
540 Posts
The Thread.

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1274173

The home page

http://fmtv.us/rf_beacon.html

Yes. I'll definitely have one in my next plane.
joel0407 is offline Find More Posts by joel0407
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 07, 2011, 06:42 AM
Registered User
SmithersMK's Avatar
United Kingdom, England, Milton Keynes
Joined Jun 2011
96 Posts
Hello

Going to fit my GS this week. Has anyone got any experience setting it up for a Skywalker with Dragon link?

If you could recommend me any of your settings that have proved successful i would be most grateful

Thank you.

Nick
SmithersMK is offline Find More Posts by SmithersMK
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 07, 2011, 08:00 AM
www.shop.trisembly.co.za
rcimports's Avatar
South Africa
Joined Oct 2005
1,570 Posts
The guru there is Crist Rigotti, worked perfectly for me..

Search his posts, this one allso works - http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...1363186&page=1
rcimports is offline Find More Posts by rcimports
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 07, 2011, 12:06 PM
Registered User
SmithersMK's Avatar
United Kingdom, England, Milton Keynes
Joined Jun 2011
96 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcimports View Post
The guru there is Crist Rigotti, worked perfectly for me..

Search his posts, this one allso works - http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...1363186&page=1
Thanks for that
SmithersMK is offline Find More Posts by SmithersMK
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 07, 2011, 12:25 PM
Spektrum Dev Team
aaronredbaron's Avatar
United States, IL, Champaign
Joined Apr 2002
1,053 Posts
flew my first ever RTH flights yesterday with my twinstar, and everything worked out pretty well! It worked great in full RTH mode, but I really hated the stability augmentation for normal flight. I felt like I had to fight the controls to get it to go where I wanted, and it would snap back to level flight if I eased off the controls. I tried reducing the gains and I was able to improve it, but I still had to hold tons of down elevator to get it to come down in a glide. Also, the AHI seems to move way too much with pitch and roll, but it stays level at neutral..... any ideas?
aaronredbaron is offline Find More Posts by aaronredbaron
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 07, 2011, 02:13 PM
Registered User
Thint1's Avatar
Austria / Vienna
Joined Feb 2007
1,303 Posts
settings for skywalker

Quote:
Originally Posted by SmithersMK View Post
Hello

Going to fit my GS this week. Has anyone got any experience setting it up for a Skywalker with Dragon link?

If you could recommend me any of your settings that have proved successful i would be most grateful

Thank you.

Nick
hi Nick,

have a look at those 2 videos. the basic settings comes from "Christ Rigotti" and i tuned them a bit to get smaller turns. also activated heading hold and centerstick.
cheers Thomas

Eagle Tree OSDpro + Guardian / RTH used for launch (1 min 21 sec)


ET OSDpro Settings for RTH (0 min 49 sec)
Thint1 is offline Find More Posts by Thint1
Last edited by Thint1; May 31, 2012 at 11:47 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Eagle Tree OSD PRO Return to Home Config (Post your setup here). felipesalomao FPV Equipment 157 Sep 18, 2014 10:06 PM
Mini-HowTo Please post your OSD Pro wiring diagrams here! billpa Eagle Tree Systems 297 May 26, 2014 01:56 PM
Question OSD Pro, eLogger V3, GPS V4 problems updating firmware in OSD Pro jbfoamy Eagle Tree Systems 23 Jun 02, 2012 02:59 PM
Discussion 9CH 2,4 Ghz transsmiter and receiver $54.99 tom112233 Hot Online Deals 7 Oct 01, 2010 05:52 PM
Discussion FMP04 GPS module W/ Eagletree OSD Pro vertcnc FPV Talk 2 Aug 08, 2010 07:26 AM