Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Mar 02, 2011, 06:08 PM
Canada, BC, Penticton
Joined Oct 2010
109 Posts
Discussion
So am I doing more harm than good?

Ok I'm no expert when it comes to elecronics but I would like you folks to read the following and tell me if what he is saying is true then what is the use of buying these 2700 mah packs for my planes if they are not going to offer me any advantages. I should add that I want to use a couple packs in my giant Corsair because of all the equipment on board.
Thank you, here is the Quote from this fellow.

"Right now, NiMH batteries are about the best choice for transmitter packs and receiver packs in many models.

Caution must be observed when using hi-capacity NiMH cells (over 1650mAH in AA size) because these are more easily damaged by over-charging or charging at too high a current. I prefer to stick with a good quality 1650mAH transmitter pack and top them up at the field if needed (charging at up to 1.0A).

While the higher capacity NiMH cells (up to 2700mAH in AA size) might seem to be better, they will self-discharge more quickly when the gear is turned off and can only be charged at currents of about 250mAH -- making field-top-ups impractical.

And don't be tempted to use the hi-capacity AA cells for receiver packs on anything larger than a .40-sized sports model. The price you pay for this higher capacity is a decided tendency for the voltage to drop under load. There's always a risk that if the voltage drops enough, your receiver will stop working and you could lose control of the model (particularly true with 2.4GHz radio systems).

A favorite NiMH receiver pack of mine is the 2/3A-sized Intellect cells with 1400 mAH capacity. These cells can deliver up to 20A continuously and I've flown my 30% Extra using two of these packs without problems. They weigh about the same as an AA-sized pack but are much better."
mrrandyman is offline Find More Posts by mrrandyman
to remove ads between posts