SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Feb 24, 2011, 05:56 PM
Panzer Killer
North Richland Hills, TX
Joined Jan 2011
57 Posts
Discussion
HL Pershing Build - Work In Progress

Well, I got my first tank in a while back - a Pershing I bought through MatoMart (I'm going to get the rest of mine through Phil - it came from Mato with a broken airsoft gun and the turret wouldn't elevate. I'm also not buying any more airsoft versions - IR all the way now.) I did opt for the metal tracks and metal gearboxes.

I ordered some cammo netting and scale accessories from Phil today. That should add some to it. I'm also trying to figure out how to add a mantlet dust cover. Maybe a scrap of an old shirt glued in place and painted?

Anyway, I've only run it about 15 minutes total. I've had it since late January.

I used to be a fairly decent scale modeler some years ago. I also did some R/C stuff. I felt this hobby combines my love of those things plus my love of history and all things mechanical.

My main desire with this thread is to show you my progress detailing/weathering it. I'm not saying I'm good at that by any means - I just want your feedback and ideas. There are some EXTREMELY talented (and nice!!) people on this board and I value all of your opinions/ideas.

These are some of the few pics I've taken. All with my iPhone so the quality isn't great.

Comment/critique away!! I'll be adding pics as I get more things done to it.

By the way, I'm doing a WWII version of the M26. So my weathering isn't going to be severe since it saw so little action near the end of the war.

First pic: Bone stock except for the metal tracks
Second pic: In the paint shop (lol) I used Model Master Olive Drab #34087
Third pic: Some detailing with some Testors 1138 Grey to simulate paint
rubbing off due to repeated surface contacts