HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Feb 24, 2011, 05:05 AM
Speed Nut
Joined Jan 2010
479 Posts
Discussion
Help from you designing the "BEST" FPV plane

I am really loving my new FPV hobby ( I have been flying FPV for a year now),
and I have never used store bought planes.
I am a designer and builder so I always built my own fpv planes (3 so far).

I'd like to design, with the help and input of the most esperienced FPVers a larger ALL-ROUND FPV plane. I'd like it to be a viable option to store-bought planes for FPVers, durable, great flyer, lots of room, good L/D ratio with slippery airfoil, for this reason I am asking for these info from you.

1: What do you like the WS to be?
2: What would you like the Wing area to be?
3: which configration is preferrable? Twin motors, pusher behind the TE or pusher way at the back of the fuselage, twin boom, or large cargo fuselage, Flying Wing with or without pod?
4: steerable trike Landing gear, yes or no?
5: Predicted RTF weight ?
6:flaps yes or no?
7: what material for availability, ease of build, and crash resistance?
MarcAntonio is offline Find More Posts by MarcAntonio
Last edited by MarcAntonio; Feb 24, 2011 at 05:18 AM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 24, 2011, 05:14 AM
UK, South Yorkshire, Sheffield
Joined May 2009
968 Posts
Knowing what I do today I would go for a slow/medium flying wing. something between 40-50'' wingspan. 1-1.5kg AUW.

very easy to build. very durable. very good at component positioning (separating radio from video)

just my 2cents
Bandarra is offline Find More Posts by Bandarra
Old Feb 24, 2011, 05:16 AM
Speed Nut
Joined Jan 2010
479 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarcAntonio View Post

I'd like to design, with the help and input of the most esperienced FPVers a larger ALL-ROUND FPV plane. I'd like it to be a viable option to store-bought planes for FPVers, durable, great flyer, lots of room, good L/D ratio with slippery airfoil, for this reason I am asking for these info from you.