HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Feb 23, 2011, 05:13 PM
Oslo, Norway
Joined Jan 2011
242 Posts
Build Log
Beginner plane both easy to build and easy to fly (with plans and videos)

Hello,

I am a beginner both in building and flying rc planes and I really enjoy both thanks to all the info available on the forum :-)

The first plane I built was not based on a plan but loosely inspired by the shape of some balsa gliders I had seen before. After experimenting a bit and tuning the design I now have a plane which flies quite good.

The point of this plane is to be easy to build (and repair) but also to be super stable and easy to fly. It does not look the best, it cannot do crazy aerobatics, fly very fast or fly in windy conditions but it has been a great plane for me to learn how to fly rc planes without breaking too many things.

Here is a video of it flown by a pilot with below 1 hour plane flying experience (but a bit of experience flying a coaxial helicopter):

Easy to build beginner rc plane (2 min 22 sec)

And here is a video of me practicing taxi, take-off and landing in the garage:

rc plane in garage (2 min 21 sec)

Here are the characteristics and components:
* Wingspan: 105cm
* Length: 70cm
* Wing Surface: ~1600 cm²
* Wing Airfoil: KFm2 (Leading edge: 6mm, Trailing edge: 3mm) in 3mm Depron
* Control surfaces: Elevator and rudder
* Weight: about 100 to 125g (without battery)
* Battery: 2S 300 to 500 mAh or 3S 300 to 600 mAh
* Propeller: 6030 or 5043
* Motor: [18-11 2000kv Micro Brushless Outrunner (10g) (http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...idProduct=5358) - $7.99
* ESC: [Hobbyking SS Series 8-10A ESC (http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...idProduct=6455) - $6.15
* Servos: 2 x HXT500 5g / .8kg / .10sec Micro Servo (http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...?idProduct=663) - $3.49 ($6.98)

It is a quite fun plane to fly with a 3S battery and once trimmed properly it is very stable and has very gentle stall characteristics.