SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Feb 04, 2013, 07:48 PM
Pilot Francis 😄
RCPilot1234's Avatar
United Kingdom, England, Brighton
Joined Jan 2012
1,760 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vince_TT View Post
+1, I actually fly my 42" Slick and 33" Ultimate more because I can fit both in the trunk and a 50" in the back seat of my Saab. But I need to use my wife's SUV to hull my 60" planes during the weekend, which limit my fly time. I plan to get a 51" this summer as a daily flier after work.

Btw, 59 really give me the big plane feel. Even though she is lighter, but feel bigger in the air than my other 60".
Exactly! I'd say the 59 sees about 25% of flying time compared to my 50" stuff, simply due to increased setup times. But when I do have the spare time to setup it's really worth it setting it all up as it flies great

+1 on the big plane feel. It's a light plane for its size, but not so light it can't haul the momentum to do manoeuvres like pop tops. When flying really big precison IMAC lines with this, it feels really big, if not even bigger than my old 71 Slick (don't know why, haha! ). I really love the 59!
RCPilot1234 is offline Find More Posts by RCPilot1234
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Best of Blackout
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 04, 2013, 08:02 PM
Aussies fly Down Under!
Shirty's Avatar
Australia, WA, Perth
Joined Oct 2012
352 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcpilot1234 View Post
exactly! i'd say the 59 sees about 25% of flying time compared to my 50" stuff, simply due to increased setup times. But when i do have the spare time to setup it's really worth it setting it all up as it flies great :d

+1 on the big plane feel. It's a light plane for its size, but not so light it can't haul the momentum to do manoeuvres like pop tops. When flying really big precison imac lines with this, it feels really big, if not even bigger than my old 71 slick (don't know why, haha! :d). I really love the 59! :d
+1,000,000! :d
Shirty is offline Find More Posts by Shirty
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 04, 2013, 08:35 PM
Pilot Francis 😄
RCPilot1234's Avatar
United Kingdom, England, Brighton
Joined Jan 2012
1,760 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shirty View Post
+1,000,000! :d
Now that's a lot of pluses, haha!
RCPilot1234 is offline Find More Posts by RCPilot1234
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Best of Blackout
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 06, 2013, 09:56 AM
Registered User
byoung's Avatar
O'Fallon, MO USA
Joined Dec 1999
1,416 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vince_TT View Post
I got a notice from 3dhs saying many parts will be available early next week. You can just call them next Monday.
I'm still waiting for motor box kits to come back in stock. Does anyone have one in reserve? If so, would you be willing to put the formers on a copier and send me the paper copies, so I can cut my own parts?

Never mind, 3DHS says they can help me out.

Thanks,
Brad
byoung is offline Find More Posts by byoung
Last edited by byoung; Feb 06, 2013 at 04:01 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 01:36 PM
Registered User
San Antonio,TX
Joined Jan 2010
57 Posts
Well I put a rimfire .55 and it fit great but has no power on 4s 4000, looking at specs again looks like that motor needs min of 5s. 18.5v. I did try a 5s 3300 and it still was not great. Very slow up line and was slow in general. I ordered the hacker 40a-12 ?? I hope that resolves the issue. Guess you can't always go by the kv rate.
pgls421 is offline Find More Posts by pgls421
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 04:24 PM
Freedom isn't Free
BearBow's Avatar
United States, VA, Woodbridge
Joined Oct 2012
973 Posts
Motrolfly 4315-668 or 410 is THE 59" slick motor.

Oops, typo, meant 668 or 714!!
BearBow is offline Find More Posts by BearBow
Last edited by BearBow; Feb 20, 2013 at 12:16 AM. Reason: old age
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 04:29 PM
TEAM HILLBILLY
Eagle34's Avatar
Pass Christian, MS
Joined Jan 2010
2,366 Posts
I'm using the 4315-714 on mine. Running 4S lipo and an 85A ZTW esc.
Eagle34 is offline Find More Posts by Eagle34
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 05:06 PM
Got the Slickness
gabrielisrael's Avatar
Seattle, WA
Joined Jul 2010
2,521 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eagle34 View Post
I'm using the 4315-714 on mine. Running 4S lipo and an 85A ZTW esc.
+1, or you can run a Motrofly 3620-750kv on 4s power using a 15x7 Xoar electric prop. Plenty of power.

The 4315-714 will provide a motor that comes down cool to the touch, which I use on another airframe.
gabrielisrael is offline Find More Posts by gabrielisrael
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 05:15 PM
Wingman II
diggity2424's Avatar
United States, KY, Louisville
Joined Sep 2011
1,259 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by gabrielisrael View Post
+1, or you can run a Motrofly 3620-750kv on 4s power using a 15x7 Xoar electric prop. Plenty of power.

The 4315-714 will provide a motor that comes down cool to the touch, which I use on another airframe.
+1, I'm using the 3620 on 15x7 prop with 4s 4000s. I love the way the 59 performs. I thought about using the 15x8 prop but I think the 15x7 is the sweet spot for my setup
diggity2424 is online now Find More Posts by diggity2424
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 05:53 PM
ex-noob
Lardog's Avatar
Sammamish, WA, USA
Joined Jan 2010
2,386 Posts
For the 3620 750Kv, a 15x7 Xoar already pulls ~80A. A 15x8 would be a bit much for it. While it provides plenty of power, if you do hard, violent 3D, the recommendation from Ken at SubSonic is to use the 4315 instead. The 3620 isn't up to the task for hardcore 3D use. If you just fly low and slow with it, no problem.
Quote:
Warning
The 3620-750 used for 3D flight will not handle hard 3D maneuvers, damage can result to the magnets and stator if repeated blenders, walls, and tumbles are performed and is not covered under warranty. This motor is meant for light 3D systems where slow light 3D is desired. If you are a "Stick Bash r" go with the 4315 which can handle this kind of abuse.
Lardog is offline Find More Posts by Lardog
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 07:02 PM
Wingman II
diggity2424's Avatar
United States, KY, Louisville
Joined Sep 2011
1,259 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lardog View Post
For the 3620 750Kv, a 15x7 Xoar already pulls ~80A. A 15x8 would be a bit much for it. While it provides plenty of power, if you do hard, violent 3D, the recommendation from Ken at SubSonic is to use the 4315 instead. The 3620 isn't up to the task for hardcore 3D use. If you just fly low and slow with it, no problem.
Yep, I am aware of the "do not use for hardcore 3D warning" . But the 3620 is what I had for my 57" and now I put it in the 59". Doing pretty good so far after at least 50-60 flights. I'm willing to risk it, it's a good motor!
diggity2424 is online now Find More Posts by diggity2424
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 07:07 PM
Got the Slickness
gabrielisrael's Avatar
Seattle, WA
Joined Jul 2010
2,521 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by diggity2424 View Post
+1, I'm using the 3620 on 15x7 prop with 4s 4000s. I love the way the 59 performs. I thought about using the 15x8 prop but I think the 15x7 is the sweet spot for my setup
agreed... I tried the 15x8 prop, but went back to the 15x7.
gabrielisrael is offline Find More Posts by gabrielisrael
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 07:42 PM
Perpetual 3D Noob
PlaneCraz3d's Avatar
United States, KY, Calvert City
Joined Jun 2010
282 Posts
+1. I tried the 15x8 with the 4315-714 and also went back to the 15x7. The 15x8 gave too much speed. was really difficult to hover with it. (or maybe it was just my crappy 3d skills)
PlaneCraz3d is offline Find More Posts by PlaneCraz3d
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 08:07 PM
Got the Slickness
gabrielisrael's Avatar
Seattle, WA
Joined Jul 2010
2,521 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by diggity2424 View Post
Yep, I am aware of the "do not use for hardcore 3D warning" . But the 3620 is what I had for my 57" and now I put it in the 59". Doing pretty good so far after at least 50-60 flights. I'm willing to risk it, it's a good motor!
Perfect motor for the 57" Extra!
gabrielisrael is offline Find More Posts by gabrielisrael
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 08:39 PM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
27,097 Posts
4315-714 in mine!!

SteveT.
SteveT. is offline Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wanted 3DHobbyShop 70" AJ Slick bbigdog2243 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 2 Dec 31, 2010 11:24 PM
Video 3DHobbyShop Aj Slick ''Rc Day Two Rockin'' with onboard video Get Real Electric Plane Talk 2 Jun 18, 2009 03:07 AM
Sold 3dhobbyshop AJ Slick Wings Flazo Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 4 May 16, 2009 10:46 PM
Discussion 3DHobbyShop 51" AJ SLICK - how durable for 3D moves? Voyager 3D Flying 13 May 06, 2009 06:10 AM