HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Feb 21, 2011, 04:10 PM
fast
fmkit's Avatar
ISRAEL
Joined Aug 2007
2,588 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rc-mike View Post
fmkit, I saw where your device has a hookup for a GPS on it. Can you use the same GPS that is being used by an OSD? How does it transmit the coordinates and what do you use to decode it?
the RF Beacon can transmit serial data just like Futaba or JR RF module transmits ppm, you can set AM/FM (OOK/FSK), any frequency and set needed bandwith (modulation level).

This thread has links to data decoder. With the beacon you''ll have double range compared to Radiometrix TX also can use whatever receiver instead of Radiometrix modules.

I keep improving the beacon, latest model added programmable AGC (used with microphone), VOX, flightpack battery meter. One little device configured into beacon,data/ppm transmitter, spy transmitter and telemetry !
fmkit is offline Find More Posts by fmkit
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 21, 2011, 06:03 PM
Registered User
beginner4life's Avatar
United States, MD, Ellicott City
Joined Mar 2008
1,198 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by scrtsqrl View Post
FWIW, you don't have to spend more than $200 to get back in the saddle. Just buy a plane, VTx and Camera and you're back in business.

I learned this from the hight altitude balloon folks...I fly with a couple of those bicycle "blinkies" ON all the time . This makes your plane very visible after dusk...Probably helping you in locating it especially if you are in the ballpark and especially if it is in a tree.

Those look good i think i will get some for my next plane
beginner4life is offline Find More Posts by beginner4life
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2011, 07:17 PM
Registered User
DD_Angels30's Avatar
Chile, Magallanes Province, Antártica Chilena Province
Joined Feb 2011
221 Posts
How about (for the future) using an AirView-Ext? If you use 2.4Ghz.

By accident, I figured out that 2.4Ghz Vtx have a very unique signature. If you attach (probably have to solder a little) a 2.4Ghz patch panel to the AirView, you should be able to find the signal.

It's just a thought, and I'm in 'no way' any kind of expert in this stuff.
DD_Angels30 is offline Find More Posts by DD_Angels30
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2011, 11:13 PM
My tapeworm tells me what todo
United States, TX, Houston
Joined Feb 2007
258 Posts
Quote:
circus circus
winner!!!:d
tconners is offline Find More Posts by tconners
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2011, 01:40 PM
KB3VOJ
cherokee180c's Avatar
USA
Joined Sep 2007
2,591 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by tconners View Post
"$12K in crashes? Invest $150 in a good simulator"
Mute point as seems I have been at this a little longer than you by that statment.
When I was doing that I flew minature aircraft and ambrosia RC aerochopper/ CSM were the ONLY new and hard to get sims on the market, and they SUCKED for learning hard 3D in the day.
A tip over back then was 2-300$ not to mention carbon fiber blades did not exist. We had to build, weight and ballance our wood rotors. Took forever! As well as ordering parts from japan with NO WWW!
I bought my first radio from a casino in las vegas, at the time the largest JR importer.
Can anyone name that casino? There was a clown on it to!!!
I have been flying helicopters since 1982, so if you have been doing it longer, than not by much. And yes I have owned my share of hirobo shuttles, Xcel 60's, 30's, etc. I am also a helicopter instructor, so I still stand by my original post that a good $150 simulator can save anyone a hell of a lot of money in crashes trying to learn 3D. The advent of quality simulators has not been too far behind the advent of quality heading hold gyros that were required for true 3D flying. There is no reason anymore for anyone to go through $12K in crashes.
cherokee180c is offline Find More Posts by cherokee180c
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2011, 06:28 PM
Engineer for Christ
IBCrazy's Avatar
Amherst, VA
Joined Jun 2006
10,343 Posts
I am ordering a beacon... for skis

Well I did the "ride of shame" today. I lost my skis in a crash somewhere on Mt. Millicent in Utah and was taken off the mountain by ski patrol in a toboggan. $1000 of equipment buried under snow and not to be found after 2+ hours of searching

So it looks like I'll be buying those locators for my skis so next time my bindings decide to release prematurely. I'll probably hack the controller for longer range and post a how-to on it as a cheap and easy FPV plane locator.

-Alex
IBCrazy is offline Find More Posts by IBCrazy
RCG Plus Member
Old Feb 22, 2011, 06:34 PM
Engineer for Christ
IBCrazy's Avatar
Amherst, VA
Joined Jun 2006
10,343 Posts
Here's another light emitting lost model indicator that plugs right into your RX. It can use 2 AA batteries as a back up power source in the event of a hard crash.

Alternatively, you can attach a couple of LEDs to the balance port of your Lipo. I do this frequently.

-Alex
IBCrazy is offline Find More Posts by IBCrazy
RCG Plus Member
Old Feb 22, 2011, 06:43 PM
Registered User
beginner4life's Avatar
United States, MD, Ellicott City
Joined Mar 2008
1,198 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by IBCrazy View Post
Well I did the "ride of shame" today. I lost my skis in a crash somewhere on Mt. Millicent in Utah and was taken off the mountain by ski patrol in a toboggan. $1000 of equipment buried under snow and not to be found after 2+ hours of searching

So it looks like I'll be buying those locators for my skis so next time my bindings decide to release prematurely. I'll probably hack the controller for longer range and post a how-to on it as a cheap and easy FPV plane locator.

-Alex
Wow im really sorry to hear that Alex. Hope your doing okay?

Did you mean to post a link to those locators?
beginner4life is offline Find More Posts by beginner4life
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2011, 06:46 PM
It's pronounced Caveman...
Reno, NV
Joined Nov 2009
437 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by IBCrazy View Post
my bindings decide to release prematurely.
Too bad you can't easily make your own set of fail-proof bindings
c4v3man is offline Find More Posts by c4v3man
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2011, 07:41 PM
Engineer for Christ
IBCrazy's Avatar
Amherst, VA
Joined Jun 2006
10,343 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by c4v3man View Post
Too bad you can't easily make your own set of fail-proof bindings
I'm 5'8 - 140 lbs. I had my binding set fr a guy 6'1 - 270lbs and they still released. My next set of skis will be cranked to the max. I don't care if it's set for a 400lb guy. They always release on me before I fall causing the crash. Perhaps I shouldn't ski experts only runs at break neck speed, but that wouldn't be any fun.

Here are the locators I just bought: http://www.loc8tor.com/Store/product...e,154,110.aspx

I will take it apart, find out how it works and see about improving it's range.

-Alex
IBCrazy is offline Find More Posts by IBCrazy
RCG Plus Member
Old Feb 22, 2011, 07:54 PM
Registered User
beginner4life's Avatar
United States, MD, Ellicott City
Joined Mar 2008
1,198 Posts
I ski as well and always set my bindings higher then my weight setting so they do not come off so easily
beginner4life is offline Find More Posts by beginner4life
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2011, 08:10 PM
Don't disturb the pilot !!!
saucisse's Avatar
Canada, QC, Quebec
Joined Jun 2008
2,185 Posts
beginner4life: PM me your info, address etc and if it's not too much to ship it, I'll send to you for free my my AXN Clouds Fly, which is certainly not new but still flies great. All it needs is a receiver, lipo and it's ready to fly! Must also have 2-3 sony cam lying around I can put with it so at least you have something to start with for FPV gear.

I'll take some pics and post them here.

Here we go:









Cheers!

Sebastien
saucisse is offline Find More Posts by saucisse
Last edited by saucisse; Feb 22, 2011 at 08:24 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2011, 08:11 PM
My tapeworm tells me what todo
United States, TX, Houston
Joined Feb 2007
258 Posts
Please post your results when you get it Alex. Thinking about the same thing.
tconners is offline Find More Posts by tconners
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2011, 08:57 PM
How do I change this text?
Darth_Elevator's Avatar
The Beautiful Mountains of Utah
Joined Oct 2006
6,228 Posts
Alex, that sucks about the ski accident. If you're still in Utah and want a free lunch, I'd love to meet up with you and buy you lunch to show my thanks for all the great antenna info you've shared. I work in downtown SLC, but I could meet up with you pretty much anywhere in the SL valley.
Darth_Elevator is offline Find More Posts by Darth_Elevator
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2011, 10:52 PM
Engineer for Christ
IBCrazy's Avatar
Amherst, VA
Joined Jun 2006
10,343 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by saucisse View Post
beginner4life: PM me your info, address etc and if it's not too much to ship it, I'll send to you for free my my AXN Clouds Fly, which is certainly not new but still flies great. All it needs is a receiver, lipo and it's ready to fly! Must also have 2-3 sony cam lying around I can put with it so at least you have something to start with for FPV gear.

I'll take some pics and post them here.

Here we go:









Cheers!

Sebastien
Wow! Looks like all he needs to get flying again is an RX and a VTX. I have a few spare cameras laying around in case you don't find one. I can also help with the cost of shipping that plane.

-Alex
IBCrazy is offline Find More Posts by IBCrazy
RCG Plus Member
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help! Lost control, almost lost a plane - Help!! sgomes Power Systems 3 Jan 09, 2011 08:53 AM
Discussion Real-Time GSM/GPRS Plane Tracking or lost plane finder. for 59$ ganapati08 FPV Aircraft 12 Nov 05, 2010 10:21 AM
Discussion I knew this day would come. LOST my FPV plane!!! Voguna FPV Aircraft 111 Oct 27, 2010 07:44 AM
Help! I LOST MY GLOW DRIVER!!! Can i still use something to start my plane!? P-38J-Lightning Fuel Plane Talk 32 Aug 04, 2006 01:41 PM