HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Feb 21, 2011, 08:11 AM
Engineer for Christ
IBCrazy's Avatar
Amherst, VA
Joined Jun 2006
10,571 Posts
I seem to recall FMkit having a very small tracking device that did not require a cellular plan. All you needed was a 2 way radio. I met a guy who used it and said it worked great.

-Alex
IBCrazy is online now Find More Posts by IBCrazy
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 21, 2011, 09:14 AM
KB3VOJ
cherokee180c's Avatar
USA
Joined Sep 2007
2,591 Posts
Sorry to here about your loss. Check here for video signal blockage issue explanation. I have a post on RCG that I will try to find that shows the new location which is actually up higher to avoid anything blocking the 2.4 signal.
Antenna Issue (2 min 22 sec)
cherokee180c is offline Find More Posts by cherokee180c
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2011, 09:45 AM
Kiwi in Germany
whakahere's Avatar
Germany
Joined Jun 2010
2,294 Posts
It sucks that you lost your plane. Being 15 it must really hurt as I remember that age and having no income.

I picked up one of these http://www.bevrc.com/bevairplane-alarm-p-79.html to help me find my plane when it goes down. I hope you do find that plane. best of luck and keep looking.

Were you flying over farm land? if so make sure you visit the farmers around the area. I grew up in farm country and they are really good at talk with each other so if you plane does turn up at least you know they will have your contact details.
whakahere is offline Find More Posts by whakahere
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2011, 10:08 AM
Registered User
France
Joined May 2006
657 Posts
usually when i crash , there is no current in the plane because something burned or unplugged like the main batterry or ESC or plug to the RX , i wonder if those beeper are usefull ,they say you can hear the bip to 50 meter , not much IMHO.
vulpina is offline Find More Posts by vulpina
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2011, 10:41 AM
fast
fmkit's Avatar
ISRAEL
Joined Aug 2007
2,682 Posts
I've found my own plane 3 days ago, friend of mine flew out of video range and I was bad spotter. The plane was 1km away in construction site. took as 4 minutes to locate. Interesting that it was brand new beacon for the 3rd time in air. I don't use separate battery and wish the flight pack will disconnect if plane crashed.
fmkit is offline Find More Posts by fmkit
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2011, 11:00 AM
http://drone-pilot.blogspot.fr
lovegroove's Avatar
Rhone Alps, France
Joined Aug 2008
2,540 Posts
I'm just installing my FMKIT beacon on my quad after I had a fly away today. I never thought that could happen with a a quadcopter, but I must have hit throttle hold without realising and my quad flew off into the distance at full speed. Luckily I saw roughly where it landed, so didn't need the beacon, but I'm not taking chances anymore.
lovegroove is offline Find More Posts by lovegroove
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2011, 11:07 AM
Engineer for Christ
IBCrazy's Avatar
Amherst, VA
Joined Jun 2006
10,571 Posts
President's day - ACK!

Beginner - I forgot today is President's day and all of the post offices are closed I will be on vacation (skiing the mountains of Utah) the rest of the week...

I will mail you the antenna system when I get back in town next week. Sorry about the wait, but then again, it probably doesn't matter at this point.

Good luck putting a new airframe together.

-Alex
IBCrazy is online now Find More Posts by IBCrazy
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2011, 12:37 PM
Registered User
beginner4life's Avatar
United States, MD, Ellicott City
Joined Mar 2008
1,198 Posts
I really appreciate all of the advice on here that will certainly help me prevent this from happening on my next plane.

It rained last night so i think i am pretty much SOL with that I will still probably look around again for about an hour today just in case.

My birthday is March 3 and i was going to have my parents pay for half of a DL system, but now im thinking i will cancel that and have them help me with getting a new plane and possibly something else little.

Daniel, i was not expecting a new DOSD from anyone, although i appreciate your sympathy

Alex, you are correct that it really doesnt matter now. As itll probably be at least a month before i can even attempt FPV again.
beginner4life is offline Find More Posts by beginner4life
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2011, 12:53 PM
My tapeworm tells me what todo
United States, TX, Houston
Joined Feb 2007
261 Posts
If doing a quick risk assessment biased on your statements IE: replacement costs/ability to replace you should not be flying non LOS or ver close to it , in my honest opinion. Some like the adrenalin in this type of situation though.
I really hope you find it. I remember being in the same boat years ago learning heli 3d. Took 12k worth of crashes to get my head straight and do a little risk assessment with all my hobby’s.
Also a becon will help ballance out that assessment and push out your distance safey a bit. Altough dont put a very high value on it as a variable.
tconners is offline Find More Posts by tconners
Last edited by tconners; Feb 21, 2011 at 01:11 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2011, 01:05 PM
KB3VOJ
cherokee180c's Avatar
USA
Joined Sep 2007
2,591 Posts
$12K in crashes? Invest $150 in a good simulator. Trust me I have 4 helicopters and my 3D flying has improved leaps and bounds with only 2 major crashes last year.
cherokee180c is offline Find More Posts by cherokee180c
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2011, 02:30 PM
Stay airborne my friends
rc-mike's Avatar
USA, TN, Dickson
Joined Nov 2004
998 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by fmkit View Post
I've found my own plane 3 days ago, friend of mine flew out of video range and I was bad spotter. The plane was 1km away in construction site. took as 4 minutes to locate. Interesting that it was brand new beacon for the 3rd time in air. I don't use separate battery and wish the flight pack will disconnect if plane crashed.
fmkit, I saw where your device has a hookup for a GPS on it. Can you use the same GPS that is being used by an OSD? How does it transmit the coordinates and what do you use to decode it?
rc-mike is offline Find More Posts by rc-mike
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2011, 03:37 PM
Just trying to get a nut.
scrtsqrl's Avatar
United States, VA, McLean
Joined Oct 2006
6,470 Posts
FWIW, you don't have to spend more than $200 to get back in the saddle. Just buy a plane, VTx and Camera and you're back in business.

I learned this from the hight altitude balloon folks...I fly with a couple of those bicycle "blinkies" ON all the time . This makes your plane very visible after dusk...Probably helping you in locating it especially if you are in the ballpark and especially if it is in a tree.

scrtsqrl is offline Find More Posts by scrtsqrl
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2011, 04:01 PM
My tapeworm tells me what todo
United States, TX, Houston
Joined Feb 2007
261 Posts
"$12K in crashes? Invest $150 in a good simulator"
Mute point as seems I have been at this a little longer than you by that statment.
When I was doing that I flew minature aircraft and ambrosia RC aerochopper/ CSM were the ONLY new and hard to get sims on the market, and they SUCKED for learning hard 3D in the day.
A tip over back then was 2-300$ not to mention carbon fiber blades did not exist. We had to build, weight and ballance our wood rotors. Took forever! As well as ordering parts from japan with NO WWW!
I bought my first radio from a casino in las vegas, at the time the largest JR importer.
Can anyone name that casino? There was a clown on it to!!!
tconners is offline Find More Posts by tconners
Last edited by tconners; Feb 21, 2011 at 04:08 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2011, 04:18 PM
Registered User
North London ENGLAND
Joined Dec 2006
1,667 Posts
Way better to have the TX in the wing if possible, allied with a fail safe that will circle the bird if signal lost. (Could be that you are turning and aerial in wing away from you blocked by gear in the fuselage ; auto circle will soon give you signal back..) example design attached. The 1.8 gigs aerial enclosed in a thin ply fairing, (tested for signal attenuation) to ensure it stays straight and undamaged.Tx cooled by intake slot under leading edge and efflux slot,(larger) near trailing edge on top side. Operator has patch receiver aerial velcroed on jacket front.
macboffin is offline Find More Posts by macboffin
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2011, 04:39 PM
Stay airborne my friends
rc-mike's Avatar
USA, TN, Dickson
Joined Nov 2004
998 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by tconners View Post
Can anyone name that casino? There was a clown on it to!!!
Circus circus
rc-mike is offline Find More Posts by rc-mike
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help! Lost control, almost lost a plane - Help!! sgomes Power Systems 3 Jan 09, 2011 09:53 AM
Discussion Real-Time GSM/GPRS Plane Tracking or lost plane finder. for 59$ ganapati08 FPV Aircraft 12 Nov 05, 2010 11:21 AM
Discussion I knew this day would come. LOST my FPV plane!!! Voguna FPV Aircraft 111 Oct 27, 2010 08:44 AM
Help! I LOST MY GLOW DRIVER!!! Can i still use something to start my plane!? P-38J-Lightning Fuel Plane Talk 32 Aug 04, 2006 02:41 PM