Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Closed Thread
This thread is privately moderated by ScorpionRacing, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Old Feb 13, 2011, 11:01 AM
NMPRA 86T
United States, FL, Winter Haven
Joined Jan 2008
161 Posts
Data
How did I get involved in model aviation?

Not everyone may care, but if you ever wondered what got me into model aviation, here it is! When I was born in the summer of 1970, my dad (Doug Smith) began a 10 year build on a full scale "Baby Great Lakes" aerobatic biplane. He labored on this airplane construction while creating tooling, learning techniques needed for construction, purchasing materials as he could afford them, working and getting out to fly full scale when he could. I was always fascinated with what my dad did while I was growing up, and his love of aviation was contagious. I always used a good portion of my allowance buying those little balsa gliders and wind up rubber powered airplanes to keep a flying fleet airworthy. I graduated to stick and tissue covered "peanut" and "walnut" scale planes by the time I was 7 or 8, and I even used the 3 views on the instructions for plastic models to make balsa gliders from them.

High school was pretty busy, but aviation still had a hold on me and RC was an option, since mowing yards and other odd jobs could give me some capital to work with. I bought my first RC airplane when I was 15 (CG Eaglet w/ OS 25F, Futaba 5 ch. Gold FM) and began flying on the weekends. I of course then wanted faster, bigger and more aerobatic planes, so I began to design them for myself. I also got pretty good at building doing this, and soon began framing and finishing airplanes for club members to make a few bucks to continue my projects. My downfall from RC came in 1991; Working, College, living expenses and all those things made it impossible to continue RC at this time.