HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Feb 09, 2011, 10:50 PM
USA, MI, Traverse City
Joined Dec 2010
346 Posts
Discussion
Struggling with my next step: msr or mcp x

I am pretty new to helis - only have about 6 weeks of flight time, and all of that with an mcx2 and a CX3. I have not yet flown a fixed pitch, a collective, nor do I own a sim.

Unfortunately, I am hopelessly hooked. I spent more on parts for the CX3 than what I paid for it trying to stabilize it and learn it, but felt extremely proud once I "gained control" and felt more like I was flying it instead of it flying me.

So now I am wanting another and am struggling between the msr and the upcoming mcp x. I have read a ton about both and am beginning to understand how truly difficult the mcp x likely will be.

I am sort of leaning toward the mcp x, but feel like I shouldn't just because most people post about how difficult they are to fly and that fixed is the next logical step. Or that I should at least buy a sim to appreciate the nuances of cp flight before investing in a cp heli. The rub is that a decent sim is almost the price of the mcp x, which is hard for me to justify.

So I ask you: is this just crazy thinking?

As a side note: I have a DX6i and want to stay with the Eflight line, which is how I am settling on those two helis.

thanks in advance for being kind and gentle with my question. :-)
Bill
bunger is offline Find More Posts by bunger
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 09, 2011, 11:06 PM
United States, CA
Joined Jul 2010
4,385 Posts
Go for MSR, the MCP is alot harder to fly than the coaxial helis. Since the mcp is a cp and can be broken easier and is harder to fly(does not self recover). The msr is very durable and can be bought for $100 BNF. The mcp would take another few months to arrive, so grab the MSR and wait till the mcp arrives. Pratice with the MSR while you are waiting. It is one step up from a coaxial, it doesn't stop when you let go of the stick, it will glide a little bit.