HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Feb 11, 2011, 12:53 AM
Registered User
hawaiitaco's Avatar
Joined Dec 2010
400 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by DroneBuilder View Post
Great news, Taco!

Post that video, sans the Oceanic landing this time! Many of us are eager to see your results!

No twitching with your converter?
no twitch with 20 min of flying. Well see when I put more time into it. Trying to take it a little slower this time. Learned my lesson last time. It's dark right now so I'll have to take vid tomorrow.
hawaiitaco is offline Find More Posts by hawaiitaco
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 11, 2011, 01:22 AM
Registered User
Philippines
Joined Dec 2010
541 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by hawaiitaco View Post
no twitch with 20 min of flying. Well see when I put more time into it. Trying to take it a little slower this time. Learned my lesson last time. It's dark right now so I'll have to take vid tomorrow.
I just received mine. Still trying to understand the pin header setup. A bit confusing on my part. Hope to install it tomorrow.
Ab74 is offline Find More Posts by Ab74
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2011, 01:37 AM
Registered User
hawaiitaco's Avatar
Joined Dec 2010
400 Posts
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...1326138&page=5
post #68

it helped and made the setup easy

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ab74 View Post
I just received mine. Still trying to understand the pin header setup. A bit confusing on my part. Hope to install it tomorrow.
hawaiitaco is offline Find More Posts by hawaiitaco
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2011, 06:35 AM
Registered User
Chukmil's Avatar
United States, AL, Birmingham
Joined Mar 2005
1,022 Posts
Connected my Navi/GPS for the first time, Think I have it wired right but what is this error message telling me?

hawaiitaco, Great news on the converter! I will be placing an order this weekend
Chukmil is offline Find More Posts by Chukmil
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2011, 06:39 AM
WHEN IN DOUBT FLOOR IT!!!
G-unit's Avatar
AZ
Joined May 2006
4,878 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chukmil View Post
Connected my Navi/GPS for the first time, Think I have it wired right but what is this error message telling me?

hawaiitaco, Great news on the converter! I will be placing an order this weekend
Did u plug the USB into the GPS and let it charge over night?? if not try that and see if the error goes away.
G-unit is offline Find More Posts by G-unit
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2011, 06:40 AM
Suspended Account
Joined Dec 2010
11,764 Posts
You connected 10pin and 6pin stuff properly?
I think one of chinaclone things needed to have pins swapped on the 6pin connection? Dan might know more.
timecop is offline Find More Posts by timecop
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Feb 11, 2011, 06:43 AM
a little boy's dream come true
bob.titus's Avatar
France, Corse, Santo-Pietro-di-Tenda
Joined May 2009
3,366 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by G-unit View Post
Did u plug the USB into the GPS and let it charge over night?? if not try that and see if the error goes away.
question : is the battery really a battery or merely a capacitor?
I'm asking this question because it doesn't seem to hold the charge very well causing all sorts of errors.
How could we do to fix this problem, my GPS is very unreliable, "no GPS communication" error is happening randomly and so is GPS booting or not at startup.

This is quite annoying and spoiling the joy, all is otherwise working reasonably well with defaults settings or close.

Bob
bob.titus is offline Find More Posts by bob.titus
Last edited by bob.titus; Feb 11, 2011 at 06:52 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2011, 06:44 AM
Registered User
Philippines
Joined Dec 2010
541 Posts


Ready for testing...
Ab74 is offline Find More Posts by Ab74
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2011, 06:50 AM
a little boy's dream come true
bob.titus's Avatar
France, Corse, Santo-Pietro-di-Tenda
Joined May 2009
3,366 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ab74 View Post


Ready for testing...
read this...

Bob
bob.titus is offline Find More Posts by bob.titus
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2011, 06:53 AM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2005
1,662 Posts
this is how it connect to the FC 1.35

Bob, your is using 5S so the config is maintained by the battery. and yes, it is battery. 3V rechargeable lithium button cell

and you should ready i2c okay with running number and SPI Okay with running number.

also flash all the corresponding firmware to NC/FC.

For GPS, please follow my earlier load on setup.
dt8666 is offline Find More Posts by dt8666
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2011, 06:55 AM
Registered User
Chukmil's Avatar
United States, AL, Birmingham
Joined Mar 2005
1,022 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by timecop View Post
You connected 10pin and 6pin stuff properly?
I think one of chinaclone things needed to have pins swapped on the 6pin connection? Dan might know more.
I think I have that right..see the picture in the last post

G, pluged in a USB to GPS to charge while i'm at work....I dont see a battery?

Would there be any performance benifit to making a pcb "shield" (like the one sold by MK) to increase the ground plane size?
Chukmil is offline Find More Posts by Chukmil
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2011, 06:57 AM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2005
1,662 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chukmil View Post
I think I have that right..see the picture in the last post

G, pluged in a USB to GPS to charge while i'm at work....I dont see a battery?

Would there be any performance benifit to making a pcb "shield" (like the one sold by MK) to increase the ground plane size?
Yours is 4H chipset and no need to charge and no battery
dt8666 is offline Find More Posts by dt8666
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2011, 07:09 AM
a little boy's dream come true
bob.titus's Avatar
France, Corse, Santo-Pietro-di-Tenda
Joined May 2009
3,366 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dt8666 View Post
this is how it connect to the FC 1.35

Bob, your is using 5S so the config is maintained by the battery. and yes, it is battery. 3V rechargeable lithium button cell

and you should ready i2c okay with running number and SPI Okay with running number.

also flash all the corresponding firmware to NC/FC.

For GPS, please follow my earlier load on setup.
thanks Dan
- all MK hardware is flashed with latest FW
- Ublox GPS hasn't been re-flashed yet, does it need to, if yes, which FW?
- when it comes to Ublox config file, you said I should use the one G posted a few threads back, is this correct for the LEA5S ?

Bob
bob.titus is offline Find More Posts by bob.titus
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2011, 07:16 AM
a little boy's dream come true
bob.titus's Avatar
France, Corse, Santo-Pietro-di-Tenda
Joined May 2009
3,366 Posts
I just received some replacement NC-MK3Mag-GPS free of charge from MaximusRC (thanks Max, you're a great guy!)

This is an older different type, but very nicely made.
Do you guys (Dan, G?) have info on how to connect NC to FC and other possible connections (there is only 3 pins used for SPI, the other newer NC have 2x 3 pins)?
What FW can/should I use to flash these?

Thanks for the great help to all the contributors, this is moving fast!
Bob
bob.titus is offline Find More Posts by bob.titus
Last edited by bob.titus; Feb 11, 2011 at 07:21 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2011, 07:28 AM
WHEN IN DOUBT FLOOR IT!!!
G-unit's Avatar
AZ
Joined May 2006
4,878 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob.titus View Post
question : is the battery really a battery or merely a capacitor?
I'm asking this question because it doesn't seem to hold the charge very well causing all sorts of errors.
How could we do to fix this problem, my GPS is very unreliable, "no GPS communication" error is happening randomly and so is GPS booting or not at startup.

This is quite annoying and spoiling the joy, all is otherwise working reasonably well with defaults settings or close.

Bob
Hey Bob,
I would hope it is a battery but i dont know for sure...
G-unit is offline Find More Posts by G-unit
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Alternative MK Flight Control FC v1.33 - v2.0 MK THREAD Quad_Addict Multirotor Talk 4985 Aug 18, 2012 08:21 AM
Poll POLL... Should i CLOSE the Alternative MK Flight Control FC v1.33 - v2.0 MK THREAD??? Quad_Addict Multirotor Talk 33 Feb 09, 2011 08:43 PM
Help! MK FC 2.1 Help I've blown it up AUSUAV Multirotor Talk 4 Jan 22, 2011 05:26 AM
Build Log Building MK Okto FC 2.0 - Now with 111 pictures drhswe Multirotor Talk 18 Oct 20, 2010 02:53 PM
Discussion MK FC ME V2.1 no on off switch? jeffreymikl Multirotor Talk 3 Aug 19, 2010 01:33 PM