HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Apr 07, 2011, 08:56 AM
Registered User
United States, SC, Myrtle Beach
Joined Oct 2006
287 Posts
Charlie


I talked with my IT guy this morning, and told him everything that you are having trouble with and he thinks it a problem how your OS settings. Recommended to have a someone look at you system that knows Microsoft, as chaging setting could get you in more trouble.
roger2525 is online now Find More Posts by roger2525
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 07, 2011, 08:59 AM
Registered User
gm.cnc's Avatar
France
Joined Feb 2006
282 Posts
Charlie,

Could you check the default option when running the installer program (the .exe after unziping). There should be a box like "Protect my computer and data from unauthorized program activity". Clear that box.

Gilles
gm.cnc is offline Find More Posts by gm.cnc
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 07, 2011, 11:08 AM
Registered User
Columbia,PA
Joined Feb 2002
222 Posts
Gilles,

No success.

Roger,

Was your IT person aware that it is occuring in both Vista and Windows 7

Thanks guys

Charlie
cpc625 is online now Find More Posts by cpc625
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 07, 2011, 11:14 AM
Registered User
United States, SC, Myrtle Beach
Joined Oct 2006
287 Posts
Yes he is. He totally hates Vista.
roger2525 is online now Find More Posts by roger2525
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 07, 2011, 11:21 AM
Just fly it!
wyowindworks's Avatar
Cody, WY
Joined Nov 2007
6,915 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by roger2525 View Post
He totally hates Vista.
So does everybody else.
wyowindworks is offline Find More Posts by wyowindworks
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 07, 2011, 11:22 AM
Registered User
Columbia,PA
Joined Feb 2002
222 Posts
Roger2525,

This is the first time I've run into a problem with Vista(other than running slower than I think it should).

I'm sure when we find the problem it will be something simple. Fortunately, I have 2 sources for local assistance. The daughter has been able to load the program successfully on 2 of her computers including a laptop. I will see her this evening and she can compare her settings to mine.


Charlie
cpc625 is online now Find More Posts by cpc625
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 07, 2011, 12:02 PM
Registered User
United States, SC, Myrtle Beach
Joined Oct 2006
287 Posts
Bottom line if your are running any CAD or CAM program your best to run XP PRO
roger2525 is online now Find More Posts by roger2525
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 07, 2011, 12:21 PM
EAC
Registered User
Eureka Springs, AR
Joined Jan 2007
83 Posts
Not true, Roger... Been running all my machines here on 7 since it came out, and never an issue, with GMFC. Mach, CamBam, etc... Just stay away from 64bit on any version...

Don
EAC is offline Find More Posts by EAC
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 07, 2011, 12:32 PM
Registered User
United States, SC, Myrtle Beach
Joined Oct 2006
287 Posts
Dont shoot the messenger. I have had all kinda of problem with vista and w7 and I am back to XP PRO and my IT guy told me if I switch it will not help me anymore.
roger2525 is online now Find More Posts by roger2525
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 07, 2011, 12:33 PM
Registered User
gm.cnc's Avatar
France
Joined Feb 2006
282 Posts
Charlie,

Are your PC personal ones? or company machines with some weird restrictions?

Gilles
gm.cnc is offline Find More Posts by gm.cnc
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 07, 2011, 12:51 PM
EAC
Registered User
Eureka Springs, AR
Joined Jan 2007
83 Posts
Sorry, Not shooting the messenger. As a 35 year survivor in the PC service and IT game, that your 'IT guy' is the problem Very sorry to see you stuck with him for help...

Don
EAC is offline Find More Posts by EAC
Last edited by EAC; Apr 07, 2011 at 12:53 PM. Reason: typo
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 07, 2011, 01:15 PM
Registered User
Columbia,PA
Joined Feb 2002
222 Posts
Gilles,

Both machines are personal machines.

Charlie
cpc625 is online now Find More Posts by cpc625
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 08, 2011, 10:37 AM
Registered User
Columbia,PA
Joined Feb 2002
222 Posts
To Everyone,

My problem with GMFC running under Windows 7 has been resolved.

This morning Gilles sent me a new version of the program with the latest installer. The new version has allowed me to finally install GMFC. Time to get to work and learn the program.

Thanks Gilles for hanging in there and taking the time to resolve the issues.

Charlie
cpc625 is online now Find More Posts by cpc625
Last edited by cpc625; Apr 08, 2011 at 11:37 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 08, 2011, 10:44 AM
Registered User
gm.cnc's Avatar
France
Joined Feb 2006
282 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by cpc625 View Post
To Everyone,

My problem with GMFC running under Windows 7 has been resolved.

This morning Gilles sent me a new version of the program with the latest installer. The new version has allowed me finally install GMFC. Time to get to work and learn the program.

Thanks Gilles for hanging in there and taking the time to resolve the issues.

Charlie
So this is an installer problem... I just made a quick test for Charlie, but it seems that I have to upgrade to a newer installer and update the building process of GMFC....
gm.cnc is offline Find More Posts by gm.cnc
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 09, 2011, 10:00 PM
Registered User
Dog_Squadron's Avatar
Albuquerque, NM
Joined Jun 2004
104 Posts
I am in the process of completing my foam cutter and Hobby CNC Pro board. I will be getting GMFC Pro. I have a separate wire power supply. Do I need the timer board or any other interface boards to run?

Thanks
Dennis
Dog_Squadron is offline Find More Posts by Dog_Squadron
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion CNC Foam Cutting problem with GMFC wimmeke CAD/CAM 0 Jan 14, 2010 01:24 PM
Discussion Foam works foam cutting software issue airmcn_3 The Builders Workshop 5 Aug 29, 2008 11:02 AM
CNC software for foam cutting KAMarks The Builders Workshop 0 Sep 15, 2002 09:20 PM
foam cutting software Dinah Power Systems 0 Mar 19, 2002 11:08 PM
Foam cutting CNC software foam_man Foamies (Kits) 10 Sep 08, 2001 09:50 AM