HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Apr 05, 2012, 12:54 AM
Registered User
gm.cnc's Avatar
France
Joined Feb 2006
276 Posts
Hi Grant,

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snowy170 View Post
I am setting up a CNC cutter using Hobby CNC components and I am thinking of gettingt he GMFC software.
I am new to this and I am wondering what level of software I need, I'm not sure the light version will do everything I want it to.
A couple of things I want it to do are
- cut opposite wings in 1 pass
- cut the wings in a way that I can use the wing beds in the building process.
- multi tapered wings
- insert spar slots in the wings.
- slice off leading edge or trailing edge.

at this point I think that would keep me happy.
What are some other features I may need?

Thanks
Grant.
I am not sure about what you mean by "cut opposite wings". Otherwise the light version could be a good start. If you need to do more, you can upgrade to the PRO version later.

Gilles
gm.cnc is offline Find More Posts by gm.cnc
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 05, 2012, 01:10 AM
225 mph
-Snowfly-'s Avatar
Australia, NSW, Warriewood
Joined Oct 2011
294 Posts
By opposite I just meant cutting the left and right wing in one go.
-Snowfly- is offline Find More Posts by -Snowfly-
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 05, 2012, 01:14 AM
Registered User
gm.cnc's Avatar
France
Joined Feb 2006
276 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snowy170 View Post
By opposite I just meant cutting the left and right wing in one go.
ok, then you need the PRO version to do that.

Gilles
gm.cnc is offline Find More Posts by gm.cnc
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 05, 2012, 10:17 AM
Just fly it!
wyowindworks's Avatar
Cody, WY
Joined Nov 2007
6,915 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snowy170 View Post
By opposite I just meant cutting the left and right wing in one go.
If you do this AND want usable beds for building that line up right then your going to be frustrated. For maximum accuracy you want the foam firmly resting on the table for the cut. This will insure that the bed height will line up with each other. When you start gang cutting the foam with settle in the cuts in a less accurate fashion which will end up throwing the bed height off. If accurate bed height is an objective then it's best to remove any variable.
wyowindworks is offline Find More Posts by wyowindworks
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 05, 2012, 11:32 AM
Registered User
gm.cnc's Avatar
France
Joined Feb 2006
276 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by wyowindworks View Post
If you do this AND want usable beds for building that line up right then your going to be frustrated. For maximum accuracy you want the foam firmly resting on the table for the cut. This will insure that the bed height will line up with each other. When you start gang cutting the foam with settle in the cuts in a less accurate fashion which will end up throwing the bed height off. If accurate bed height is an objective then it's best to remove any variable.
I fully agree. Gang cutting is only interesting for foamies

Gilles
gm.cnc is offline Find More Posts by gm.cnc
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 07, 2012, 10:02 AM
225 mph
-Snowfly-'s Avatar
Australia, NSW, Warriewood
Joined Oct 2011
294 Posts
Thanks for the tip. Looks like I'll be cutting one at a time.
Can I cut the wing beds in the light version?
-Snowfly- is offline Find More Posts by -Snowfly-
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 08, 2012, 12:23 PM
Registered User
gm.cnc's Avatar
France
Joined Feb 2006
276 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snowy170 View Post
Thanks for the tip. Looks like I'll be cutting one at a time.
Can I cut the wing beds in the light version?
Yes, this is done by playing with a negative skin.

Gilles
gm.cnc is offline Find More Posts by gm.cnc
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 09, 2012, 07:55 PM
Scorpian 60'' 2012
BMtech's Avatar
Kurrajong Australia
Joined Jul 2005
1,457 Posts
Gilles,

Im using Pro version 3.0.86 on XP & some times it hangs at 99% when ending the cut , i have a sound wav file at the end & this works but it wont reset for the next cut , I have to close & reopen GMFC, any thoughts ?


Rick
BMtech is offline Find More Posts by BMtech
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 09, 2012, 10:38 PM
Registered User
Ward Hagaman's Avatar
San Diego
Joined Mar 2003
2,305 Posts
Rick, does it happen when aborting the cut? Happens to me about half the time. I just save, close and restart GMFC.
Ward Hagaman is online now Find More Posts by Ward Hagaman
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 09, 2012, 11:59 PM
Registered User
gm.cnc's Avatar
France
Joined Feb 2006
276 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by BMtech View Post
Gilles,

Im using Pro version 3.0.86 on XP & some times it hangs at 99% when ending the cut , i have a sound wav file at the end & this works but it wont reset for the next cut , I have to close & reopen GMFC, any thoughts ?


Rick
Hi Rick,

The answer is quite technical and complex. It seems that the way I use windows for detecting the end does not work all the times. I don't know if the bug is due to me or windows...

Anyway, it seems that I have to find another solution ;-)

Do you use a USB interface or the parallel port?

Gilles
gm.cnc is offline Find More Posts by gm.cnc
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2012, 12:12 AM
Just fly it!
wyowindworks's Avatar
Cody, WY
Joined Nov 2007
6,915 Posts
The only time that I have this problem is if I do something within GMFC while the cut is happening.
wyowindworks is offline Find More Posts by wyowindworks
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2012, 04:24 AM
Scorpian 60'' 2012
BMtech's Avatar
Kurrajong Australia
Joined Jul 2005
1,457 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by wyowindworks View Post
The only time that I have this problem is if I do something within GMFC while the cut is happening.
Gilles I'm using the parallel port, Adam could be right, I did open the panel parameter page , Ill keep any eye out & do some testing

I would not normally open any other pages or use the pc for anything else but Gmfc


Rick
BMtech is offline Find More Posts by BMtech
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2012, 06:41 AM
Registered User
gm.cnc's Avatar
France
Joined Feb 2006
276 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by BMtech View Post
Gilles I'm using the parallel port, Adam could be right, I did open the panel parameter page , Ill keep any eye out & do some testing

I would not normally open any other pages or use the pc for anything else but Gmfc


Rick
If you find with a repeatable way to produce the problem, please let me know. Part of the problem is that I am now developing on win7 and usb, and I am not sure that this issue exists on recent versions of windows.

Gilles
gm.cnc is offline Find More Posts by gm.cnc
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2012, 09:52 AM
Just fly it!
wyowindworks's Avatar
Cody, WY
Joined Nov 2007
6,915 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by BMtech View Post
Gilles I'm using the parallel port, Adam could be right, I did open the panel parameter page , Ill keep any eye out & do some testing

I would not normally open any other pages or use the pc for anything else but Gmfc
That will do it everytime. I do surf the web and other things while cutting. I just never open anything in GMFC, like opening the panel cut and prepping the next cut, while GMFC is cutting.
wyowindworks is offline Find More Posts by wyowindworks
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2012, 01:15 PM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2011
7 Posts
Problems running a Profili-generated .CUT file

Hi,

I have generated a .CUT file from a Profili wing Panel. I'm picking up problems with the wire almost stopping, normally at turnarounds (like on the leading edge, spars and lightening holes). The outer surface seems ok, except for the very point of the leading edge.

It slows down so much that there are huge voids in the foam, up to 5mm at times. Is there a way to solve this?

The reason that I'm using Profili Pro to generate the cut files is that it aligns the trailing edge with the Y axis so that I can fit the cut on the table. I can't do that in GMFC directly.

I notice that the Profili .CUT file contains only absolute coordinates:


T:0.270552 XG:453.130359 YG:70.903123 XD:452.460262 YD:74.908200
T:0.270436 XG:452.795886 YG:70.163969 XD:452.065756 YD:74.233953
T:0.270509 XG:452.443406 YG:69.432987 XD:451.663564 YD:73.565713
T:0.270498 XG:452.069726 YG:68.712649 XD:451.223326 YD:72.919815

whereas the cut files created by GMFC has mostly relative coordinates:


44 +XG -XD
// Upper surface cut, point 478
T:3.278628 XG:31.601722 YG:84.120001 XD:149.179987 YD:73.047776
// VXG:2514127197 VYG:1088652776 VXD:0 VYD:1092158354
127
127
127
19 +XG
127
69 +XD
127
58
19 +XG
127
127
127
11 +XD
7 +XG
127
127
127
19 +XG
127
62 +XD
127
etc.


Could this be causing the problem?

Any help would be appreciated!

Thanks,
Adrian
Trellian is offline Find More Posts by Trellian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion CNC Foam Cutting problem with GMFC wimmeke CAD/CAM 0 Jan 14, 2010 12:24 PM
Discussion Foam works foam cutting software issue airmcn_3 The Builders Workshop 5 Aug 29, 2008 10:02 AM
CNC software for foam cutting KAMarks The Builders Workshop 0 Sep 15, 2002 08:20 PM
foam cutting software Dinah Power Systems 0 Mar 19, 2002 10:08 PM
Foam cutting CNC software foam_man Foamies (Kits) 10 Sep 08, 2001 08:50 AM