HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Mar 19, 2012, 03:34 PM
Just fly it!
wyowindworks's Avatar
Cody, WY
Joined Nov 2007
6,915 Posts
Giles, I'm using GMFC Pro. It has worked great for several years now. Now when I start it up I get a red box around the window. The program stays up for awhile and then shuts itself down. I've tried rebooting the system. The only thing that I have change recently on the system is a new USB network card. I'm using the parrallel port to drive the machine.
wyowindworks is offline Find More Posts by wyowindworks
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 19, 2012, 04:02 PM
Registered User
gm.cnc's Avatar
France
Joined Feb 2006
276 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by wyowindworks View Post
Giles, I'm using GMFC Pro. It has worked great for several years now. Now when I start it up I get a red box around the window. The program stays up for awhile and then shuts itself down. I've tried rebooting the system. The only thing that I have change recently on the system is a new USB network card. I'm using the parrallel port to drive the machine.
I am sorry but I don't have any idea.

Could you try on another machine?

Gilles
gm.cnc is offline Find More Posts by gm.cnc
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2012, 11:11 PM
Fossilator
danfield's Avatar
Fullerton, CA
Joined Nov 2004
1,808 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by wyowindworks View Post
Giles, I'm using GMFC Pro. It has worked great for several years now. Now when I start it up I get a red box around the window. The program stays up for awhile and then shuts itself down. I've tried rebooting the system. The only thing that I have change recently on the system is a new USB network card. I'm using the parrallel port to drive the machine.


No clue here really but I was wondering if you now have a conflict with the ports. Just an idea. Plan B, disable the USB and see if it goes away.
danfield is online now Find More Posts by danfield
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2012, 11:38 PM
Just fly it!
wyowindworks's Avatar
Cody, WY
Joined Nov 2007
6,915 Posts
Oddly enough, if I unplug the USB network adapter then GMFC will start up fine. It's odd that there is conflict between GMFC and a network adapter. The real bummer is this is the first network combination that is reliable out in my shop. Figures that the best network combination messes with GMFC and all my files are stored on a network server.
wyowindworks is offline Find More Posts by wyowindworks
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2012, 12:39 AM
Fossilator
danfield's Avatar
Fullerton, CA
Joined Nov 2004
1,808 Posts
Sounds like a conflict to me. Control panel/ system/ hardware/ device manager --- check both Ports and USB controllers, first for a Yellow icon telling you there's a conflict. Next would be to go deeper into the usb controller and see if there are any errors , try the trouble-shooting or if the adapter came with installation software there might be a choice as to which IRQ it uses.



Still doesn't sound right it would crash GMFC itself. I would think if there was going to be an issue of port conflicts GMFC maybe wouldn't be able to cut through LPT1 but not crash until you actually tried to cut,,, maybe. Don't know, just trying to offer up some places to look.
danfield is online now Find More Posts by danfield
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2012, 12:52 PM
Just fly it!
wyowindworks's Avatar
Cody, WY
Joined Nov 2007
6,915 Posts
I upgraded to the latest version in an attempt to eliminate the problem.

Now the machine won't run at all.

I get this message when I try to drive the machine:

driver_XP:: Decoupe, DeviceIOC: The parameter is incorrect.
wyowindworks is offline Find More Posts by wyowindworks
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2012, 01:58 PM
Registered User
gm.cnc's Avatar
France
Joined Feb 2006
276 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by wyowindworks View Post
I upgraded to the latest version in an attempt to eliminate the problem.

Now the machine won't run at all.

I get this message when I try to drive the machine:

driver_XP:: Decoupe, DeviceIOC: The parameter is incorrect.
That's probably because there is an old version of the MM2001.sys in the system directory. Delete it and reinstall GMFC.

Gilles
gm.cnc is offline Find More Posts by gm.cnc
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2012, 02:12 PM
Just fly it!
wyowindworks's Avatar
Cody, WY
Joined Nov 2007
6,915 Posts
I'll try that. For now I went back the .87 version and everything seems to work well. No red border of death either.
wyowindworks is offline Find More Posts by wyowindworks
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2012, 12:30 PM
Registered User
sscherin's Avatar
USA, WA, Kennewick
Joined Nov 2005
501 Posts
Wyowindworks.. I have a few machines that don't support USB wireless adapters.
I've had good results running Linksys WRT54G routers or WAP54g Access points loaded with DDWRT running in bridged mode. Let the router handle all the wireless and then you only have to deal with a normal wired ethernet connection at the pc.

PM me if you want details on the setup.
sscherin is offline Find More Posts by sscherin
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2012, 12:32 PM
Registered User
gm.cnc's Avatar
France
Joined Feb 2006
276 Posts
Ggc v2

Hi All,

The new version of the GGC USB interface is now ready. Copearo will have
it in few days, and for the US guys Dan should have it in one or two
weeks depending on the post office...

So what's new:

- a completely new firmware for the GGC that allows a 50 Khz internal
timer. You get even more precision in setting the maximum motor speed.

The benefit is that the motors go even faster than before. My 200 step
bipolar motors in half step mode run at 17mm/s using a 1mm thread screw.

- a faster new firmware for the MM2001 without heat support (which is
now handle by the GGC). This firmware is compatible with the 50Khz GGC
timer.

- I can upgrade your GGC into a GGC V2. This requires hardware and
software changes and will be done only by me for 20 euros.

Enjoy,

Gilles
gm.cnc is offline Find More Posts by gm.cnc
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2012, 12:58 PM
Just fly it!
wyowindworks's Avatar
Cody, WY
Joined Nov 2007
6,915 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by sscherin View Post
Wyowindworks.. I have a few machines that don't support USB wireless adapters.
I've had good results running Linksys WRT54G routers or WAP54g Access points loaded with DDWRT running in bridged mode. Let the router handle all the wireless and then you only have to deal with a normal wired ethernet connection at the pc.
Alright, I started having the red boarder again on GMFC launch and then a crash in few seconds. I uninstalled all the USB network adapter software/drivers, rebooted system, and still had the red boarder on GMFC launch and crash.

It seems like the network adapter had nothing to do with it and was purely coincidence.

After trying to start GMFC multiple times after mulitple reboots it kept on crashing. Everything else works fine on my system. So, in desperation I ran a registry clean-up tool and fixed the 3,000 registry errors. I then went and immediately tried to start up GMFC. It started up and ran fine. I reinstalled the USB network adapter and everything is running.

Maybe something was crossed in the Windows XP registry. I don't know for sure. Everything is running fine for the time being. I hope it holds.
wyowindworks is offline Find More Posts by wyowindworks
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2012, 05:27 PM
Scorpian 60'' 2012
BMtech's Avatar
Kurrajong Australia
Joined Jul 2005
1,457 Posts
Good morning Gilles,

Iv been using Gmfc for 5 years now & when I started it up today the main page has a FISH on the opening page , I like it .....how did it change ???

I have opened up my back up Pc & its the same


Keep up the good work

Rick
Off The Edge Sailplanes (Aus)
BMtech is offline Find More Posts by BMtech
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2012, 07:46 PM
Fossilator
danfield's Avatar
Fullerton, CA
Joined Nov 2004
1,808 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by gm.cnc View Post
Hi All,

The new version of the GGC USB interface is now ready. Copearo will have
it in few days, and for the US guys Dan should have it in one or two
weeks depending on the post office...

So what's new:

- a completely new firmware for the GGC that allows a 50 Khz internal
timer. You get even more precision in setting the maximum motor speed.

The benefit is that the motors go even faster than before. My 200 step
bipolar motors in half step mode run at 17mm/s using a 1mm thread screw.

- a faster new firmware for the MM2001 without heat support (which is
now handle by the GGC). This firmware is compatible with the 50Khz GGC
timer.

- I can upgrade your GGC into a GGC V2. This requires hardware and
software changes and will be done only by me for 20 euros.

Enjoy,

Gilles
Excellent Gilles, hopefully we will have them in stock again soon.

For convenience I also have a Kit available to save you time in rounding up the items you need IF the GGC is to control the heat.
$ 25.00 shipped with a GGC. Separately, add $5 for shipping.

If you plan on running Homing, Limit switches or both, you need one more 14 pin connector which is in stock. I don't stock the switches.

I will also offer the same price to those who purchased a GGC V1 in the USA.

Regards
Dan

Kit includes:
3 toggle Switches
3 Push buttons
1 16 x 1 Large Screen Backlit Blue Screen LCD
2 ea 14 pin ribbon connectors
3 LED
danfield is online now Find More Posts by danfield
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 01, 2012, 03:22 AM
Registered User
gm.cnc's Avatar
France
Joined Feb 2006
276 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by BMtech View Post
Good morning Gilles,

Iv been using Gmfc for 5 years now & when I started it up today the main page has a FISH on the opening page , I like it .....how did it change ???

I have opened up my back up Pc & its the same


Keep up the good work

Rick
Off The Edge Sailplanes (Aus)
April fool :-)

Gilles
gm.cnc is offline Find More Posts by gm.cnc
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 04, 2012, 11:41 PM
225 mph
-Snowfly-'s Avatar
Australia, NSW, Warriewood
Joined Oct 2011
291 Posts
I am setting up a CNC cutter using Hobby CNC components and I am thinking of gettingt he GMFC software.
I am new to this and I am wondering what level of software I need, I'm not sure the light version will do everything I want it to.
A couple of things I want it to do are
- cut opposite wings in 1 pass
- cut the wings in a way that I can use the wing beds in the building process.
- multi tapered wings
- insert spar slots in the wings.
- slice off leading edge or trailing edge.

at this point I think that would keep me happy.
What are some other features I may need?

Thanks
Grant.
-Snowfly- is offline Find More Posts by -Snowfly-
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion CNC Foam Cutting problem with GMFC wimmeke CAD/CAM 0 Jan 14, 2010 12:24 PM
Discussion Foam works foam cutting software issue airmcn_3 The Builders Workshop 5 Aug 29, 2008 10:02 AM
CNC software for foam cutting KAMarks The Builders Workshop 0 Sep 15, 2002 08:20 PM
foam cutting software Dinah Power Systems 0 Mar 19, 2002 10:08 PM
Foam cutting CNC software foam_man Foamies (Kits) 10 Sep 08, 2001 08:50 AM