HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Feb 07, 2011, 11:41 AM
Still AWD, Subaru
St.Louis
Joined Nov 2006
883 Posts
PBM Mariner please!
ShawnM4kq is offline Find More Posts by ShawnM4kq
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 07, 2011, 12:07 PM
No such thing as overpowered
Wilit run? 353's Avatar
Suffolk, England
Joined Sep 2008
1,794 Posts
The last thing i was expecting from parkzone was a Mosquito!!!

Lancaster next please parkzone!
Wilit run? 353 is offline Find More Posts by Wilit run? 353
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 07, 2011, 12:37 PM
Registered User
aurorae's Avatar
Joined Sep 2008
675 Posts
I wonder if there would be any way to rig up a bomb drop. It would have to be really lightweight, of course.

Does the brick have a way to hook up an extra servo?
aurorae is offline Find More Posts by aurorae
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 07, 2011, 12:44 PM
Power Wheels Guru
UNGN's Avatar
Southlake, TX
Joined Jan 2008
7,327 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by aurorae View Post
I wonder if there would be any way to rig up a bomb drop. It would have to be really lightweight, of course.

Does the brick have a way to hook up an extra servo?
The Brick has 2 hook ups for extra servos, if you reverse one of the onboard aileron servos and build a Y-harness using connectors from Glenn2626.

Otherwise, the Gear Channel is still open (the Flap channels is used for the other aileron)

You could probably build a Bomb drop mechanism that weighs less than 2g grams using an AS2000 servo (1.5g)

Based on the 74g weight of this plane and the fact that my 20" Mosquito with less wing area flies fine at 100g, this one probably would fly OK carrying another 20g.
UNGN is offline Find More Posts by UNGN
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 07, 2011, 01:06 PM
Fly, be free! (splat)
United States, CA, Danville
Joined Jan 2008
1,311 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcphil3 View Post
So from the pictures it looks like the aileron servos are in the engine nacelles. This suggests the opportunity for flapperons. Are there two aileron servos and can they be activated separately?

Inquiring minds...
Yes! The AR6400 has spare channels so we can unhook the Y-harness.
jdwolters is offline Find More Posts by jdwolters
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 07, 2011, 01:11 PM
Fly, be free! (splat)
United States, CA, Danville
Joined Jan 2008
1,311 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wilit run? 353 View Post
The last thing i was expecting from parkzone was a Mosquito!!!

Lancaster next please parkzone!
A four-engine micro? That would be quite the sight. Can the B-17 be far behind? Nah! (we could use a spare channel to add a servo-activated something or other.)
jdwolters is offline Find More Posts by jdwolters
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 07, 2011, 01:34 PM
Power Wheels Guru
UNGN's Avatar
Southlake, TX
Joined Jan 2008
7,327 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdwolters View Post
Yes! The AR6400 has spare channels so we can unhook the Y-harness.
There shouldn't be a Y-harness.

The AR6400 has a "Channel 2/Reverse Channel 2" setting that plugs the other aileron servo into Flaps.

The Picture of the AR6400T shows both servos plugged into the brick.
UNGN is offline Find More Posts by UNGN
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 07, 2011, 02:27 PM
Registered User
Indianapolis, IN
Joined Oct 2010
1,864 Posts
Wonder how fast this thing little thing will fly! I am thinking use some of the NE motors and this little thing would move!
IndyMatt is offline Find More Posts by IndyMatt
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 07, 2011, 02:54 PM
Registered User
United States, FL, North Port
Joined Mar 2004
3,156 Posts
Looks like i finally found a proven power system for my DWE P-38 kit
invertmast is online now Find More Posts by invertmast
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 07, 2011, 03:03 PM
Registered User
Redhood's Avatar
United States, MN, Odin
Joined Aug 2010
343 Posts
Does anyone know if this aircraft is configured to work will the stock transmitter that comes with the RTF P-51 or T-28?
Redhood is offline Find More Posts by Redhood
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 07, 2011, 03:25 PM
Registered User
ducatirdr's Avatar
United States, MA, Sutton
Joined Aug 2006
1,301 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redhood View Post
Does anyone know if this aircraft is configured to work will the stock transmitter that comes with the RTF P-51 or T-28?
From the Parkzone web site details on the plane -


You will need:


A 4+ channel DSM2 compatible transmitter is all you will need.

Sounds like the RTF TX will work just fine.
ducatirdr is offline Find More Posts by ducatirdr
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 07, 2011, 03:40 PM
Registered User
Redhood's Avatar
United States, MN, Odin
Joined Aug 2010
343 Posts
I thought that was the case but wasn't sure. Thanks!
Redhood is offline Find More Posts by Redhood
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 07, 2011, 03:44 PM
Fly, be free! (splat)
United States, CA, Danville
Joined Jan 2008
1,311 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by UNGN View Post
There shouldn't be a Y-harness.

The AR6400 has a "Channel 2/Reverse Channel 2" setting that plugs the other aileron servo into Flaps.

The Picture of the AR6400T shows both servos plugged into the brick.
I wonder why they did that? Then again, it will be that much easier to make flapperons (not that this really needs it, looking at the video). In spite of the weight compared to the mustang (twice?) it looks like it has pretty light wing loading.
jdwolters is offline Find More Posts by jdwolters
Last edited by jdwolters; Feb 07, 2011 at 06:58 PM. Reason: Wing loading
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 08, 2011, 09:42 AM
Registered User
Wisconsin
Joined Jan 2007
175 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdwolters View Post
I wonder why they did that? Then again, it will be that much easier to make flapperons (not that this really needs it, looking at the video). In spite of the weight compared to the mustang (twice?) it looks like it has pretty light wing loading.
My math gives the following oz/ft^2:
C-210---------------------------3.1
Champ---------------------------3.5
Um P-51-------------------------3.8
Um T-28-------------------------3.6
T-28 with cockpit and pilot--------4.1
Mosquito-------------------------5.6
bob2fly is offline Find More Posts by bob2fly
Last edited by bob2fly; Feb 08, 2011 at 09:51 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 08, 2011, 11:16 AM
Fly, be free! (splat)
United States, CA, Danville
Joined Jan 2008
1,311 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob2fly View Post
My math gives the following oz/ft^2:
C-210---------------------------3.1
Champ---------------------------3.5
Um P-51-------------------------3.8
Um T-28-------------------------3.6
T-28 with cockpit and pilot--------4.1
Mosquito-------------------------5.6
Yeah, this seems right but look in the video at each landing - it is hardly moving. Well, it should make quite a camera platform and I'm sure a larger battery would be no problem - we'll just have to figure out where to put it since it is way in front of CG (in the bomb bay?)

Wouldn't it be fun to have a working bomb bay? Then you could put bombs, confetti, or a paratrooper in there.
jdwolters is offline Find More Posts by jdwolters
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product New Hobby-Lobby micro P-51 and Spirfire! - direct competitor to Parkzone Ultra Micro? Smokescreen38 Micro Ready-to-Fly 316 Aug 22, 2012 11:51 PM
Discussion Parkzone New Ultra Micro Mosquito Mk VI ChuckTseeker Scratchbuilt Indoor and Micro Models 4 Feb 03, 2011 01:22 AM
For Sale parkzone ultra micro J-3 cub BNF trade for micro trojan ED3 Aircraft - Electric - Micro & Indoor Airplanes (FS/W) 3 Nov 06, 2010 02:19 AM
Sold Moved to micro section -Parkzone Sukhoi SU-26m Ultra Micro BNF - w/ Lots of new parts major.monogram Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 2 Jun 08, 2010 12:00 AM
Found Parkzone Ultra Micro P-51D BNF (New or like new condition) CGReload Aircraft - Electric - Micro & Indoor Airplanes (FS/W) 1 Oct 09, 2009 01:28 PM