Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Feb 23, 2011, 06:38 PM
Registered User
Goofy23's Avatar
Hamburg, Germany
Joined Jan 2011
1,075 Posts
@ reverend there are other options, thanks for posting this.
the ones you found are quite cheap and i think they will work.
Other interesting aproach
http://hackaday.com/2010/02/25/nokia...l-in-disguise/
http://www.societyofrobots.com/robot...c=12751.0;wap2
http://letsmakerobots.com/node/23728

But i dont know if its possible to get the autoreset.
Goofy23 is online now Find More Posts by Goofy23
Last edited by Goofy23; Feb 23, 2011 at 06:45 PM.
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 23, 2011, 06:58 PM
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Aug 2009
11,623 Posts
Well, I took the risk and ordered one and will test it with my existing arduinos. I will update you when it arrives.

Thanks
rimshotcopter is online now Find More Posts by rimshotcopter
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2011, 07:28 AM
Registered User
Goofy23's Avatar
Hamburg, Germany
Joined Jan 2011
1,075 Posts
You will go the letsmakerobots route (Data Cable)?

Sound very interessting, really looking forward for your results.
A cheap usb interface will be a good thing.

I Thank you for investigating in this

On the page
http://letsmakerobots.com/node/23728
they mention a DTR pin, so autoreset should work also.
The FTDI chip is more comon then that prolific chip used in the link above.

This is a wiring i found:

FTDI +5V bzw. +3,3V to Vcc Arduino
FTDI Gnd to Gnd Arduino
FTDI RX to TX Arduino
FTDI TX to RX Arduino
FTDI DTR to Reset Arduino (the 100nf, its allready on most boards, its also on my flyduino)
FTDI CTS not needed
Goofy23 is online now Find More Posts by Goofy23
Last edited by Goofy23; Feb 24, 2011 at 07:34 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2011, 01:24 PM
OS Sponsor
kinderkram's Avatar
Germany, NRW, Dusseldorf
Joined Jun 2010
5,192 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by reverendrichie View Post
Well, I took the risk and ordered one and will test it with my existing arduinos. I will update you when it arrives.

Thanks
Which one did you order, Richie?

The one from Texas, I guess.

btw: the Chinese Ebay guy also has some nice & cheap LCD displays:
http://cgi.ebay.com/Character-LCD-Mo...item2c516cc68b

Sooner or later we'll need some of these...
kinderkram is offline Find More Posts by kinderkram
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2011, 01:34 PM
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Aug 2009
11,623 Posts
I ordered this one, this person states, they are located in Texas.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...=STRK:MEWNX:IT
rimshotcopter is online now Find More Posts by rimshotcopter
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2011, 01:40 PM
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Aug 2009
11,623 Posts
I figured the worse case scenario would be, having the press the Arduino's reset button before uploading the software. And if that does not work, I have other usage for it, so it would not be a total wash.
rimshotcopter is online now Find More Posts by rimshotcopter
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2011, 02:41 PM
Registered MisUser
whiteturbo's Avatar
Bristol UK
Joined Oct 2009
711 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kinderkram View Post
Which one did you order, Richie?

The one from Texas, I guess.

btw: the Chinese Ebay guy also has some nice & cheap LCD displays:
http://cgi.ebay.com/Character-LCD-Mo...item2c516cc68b

Sooner or later we'll need some of these...
Norbert are these serial lcd or do we have to mod them?
whiteturbo is online now Find More Posts by whiteturbo
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2011, 02:49 PM
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Aug 2009
11,623 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kinderkram View Post
Which one did you order, Richie?

The one from Texas, I guess.

btw: the Chinese Ebay guy also has some nice & cheap LCD displays:
http://cgi.ebay.com/Character-LCD-Mo...item2c516cc68b

Sooner or later we'll need some of these...
I am sorry, thought you were referring to the USB TTL,

I have seen those LCD for sometime now, they do not have any interface, serial or I2C. The would require a minimum of 4 Digital pins to work and code to make it work.
rimshotcopter is online now Find More Posts by rimshotcopter
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2011, 02:59 PM
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Aug 2009
11,623 Posts
Any Risk takers here?


Dual-axis Magnetic Sensor Module UART& I 2 c Interface
rimshotcopter is online now Find More Posts by rimshotcopter
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2011, 10:02 PM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2006
1,435 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by reverendrichie View Post
i'll bite.
noobee is offline Find More Posts by noobee
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2011, 04:35 AM
OS Sponsor
kinderkram's Avatar
Germany, NRW, Dusseldorf
Joined Jun 2010
5,192 Posts
Yohey!



Cover parts for the next Pirates' frame. My frame...
kinderkram is offline Find More Posts by kinderkram
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2011, 08:58 AM
Registered User
Goofy23's Avatar
Hamburg, Germany
Joined Jan 2011
1,075 Posts
Nice, Norbert, Nice.
Looks like a stylish pirate ship

@Reverend those USB to Serial you choose looks good, i like the wiring.
I may will try to modify a data cable in the future and will comment on that.
Goofy23 is online now Find More Posts by Goofy23
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2011, 10:31 AM
Friend is a 4 letter word...
JussiH's Avatar
3rd stone from the sun
Joined May 2007
2,670 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kinderkram View Post


Cover parts for the next Pirates' frame. My frame...
I Like it. Thumbs up!
JussiH is offline Find More Posts by JussiH
RCG Plus Member
Old Feb 25, 2011, 03:04 PM
Droner
SebastianJ's Avatar
Denmark, Capital Region of Denmark, CPH
Joined Mar 2006
2,410 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kinderkram View Post

Cover parts for the next Pirates' frame. My frame...
Cool!
SebastianJ is offline Find More Posts by SebastianJ
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2011, 07:11 PM
OS Sponsor
kinderkram's Avatar
Germany, NRW, Dusseldorf
Joined Jun 2010
5,192 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by reverendrichie View Post
I wonder where you dig all these out?
But these are dual axis sensors. Dunno...
One can't have enough degree of freedom (DOF).
kinderkram is offline Find More Posts by kinderkram
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion JR Indoor Photo Coverage - Higher Plane Productions JR Indoor Jim T. Graham JR Indoor Electric Festival 21 Dec 06, 2010 07:51 AM
Discussion We proudly present: brandnew Lubach F16 f. 90mm fan ost Electric Ducted Fan Jet Talk 17 Oct 03, 2010 11:46 AM
Poll nevermind pirates vs. ninjas Karl Bē Life, The Universe, and Politics 3 Sep 05, 2010 10:59 PM
Hobbico - Futaba Apparel and Accessories - Wear your Futaba orange proudly! Dave Lauck Product Announcements 0 Apr 18, 2005 05:13 PM