HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old May 25, 2011, 04:45 PM
Registered User
M4d_D's Avatar
Joined Dec 2006
845 Posts
i just ordered a flyduino and a power bob and a sensor bob with llc , which sensors can i use now ? it seems that jussi doesnt have any left ....

but i found these :

http://cgi.ebay.de/HMC5883L-BMA180-B...item3cb6e39dab

http://cgi.ebay.de/HMC5883L-BMA180-B...item3cb6e3b263

any ideas ?

any other suggestions ?


if anyone is interested :
i asked paul , he suggested to use the one with llc but he also said thet both should work with the llc sensor bob

thanks a lot paul !
M4d_D is offline Find More Posts by M4d_D
Last edited by M4d_D; May 25, 2011 at 04:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old May 25, 2011, 09:25 PM
Registered User
Goofy23's Avatar
Hamburg, Germany
Joined Jan 2011
1,075 Posts
No problem.
Yes 2 llc wont hurt.
Also you can order the non llc version in my shop www.flyduino.com
But Jussi will have new stock soon.
Goofy23 is offline Find More Posts by Goofy23
Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2011, 08:21 AM
Registered User
EnryCorser's Avatar
Italia, Sicilia, Misterbianco
Joined May 2011
17 Posts
All done !!!

i wonder if "all done" is the same of "well done"....

Can someone take an overlook to my work before i plug the ESC ???
Is correct that WMP red wire go to 3.3 instead of 5V (or D37)???
Thanks

Enrico



EnryCorser is offline Find More Posts by EnryCorser
Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2011, 08:27 AM
Registered User
Goofy23's Avatar
Hamburg, Germany
Joined Jan 2011
1,075 Posts
This is looking good.
You have three options to power the WMP.
5V 3.3V and 5V over the CPU with Reset function D37.
It depends a little on your WMP which power is the best, but in most cases the 3.3V should be absolutely perfect.
Goofy23 is offline Find More Posts by Goofy23
Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2011, 08:57 AM
Registered User
EnryCorser's Avatar
Italia, Sicilia, Misterbianco
Joined May 2011
17 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goofy23 View Post
This is looking good.
You have three options to power the WMP.
5V 3.3V and 5V over the CPU with Reset function D37.
It depends a little on your WMP which power is the best, but in most cases the 3.3V should be absolutely perfect.
Thanks Paul !
I'm waiting for FTDI Breakout before i can try it....a couple of day....i can't wait !!!
EnryCorser is offline Find More Posts by EnryCorser
Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2011, 11:23 AM
Hovership
3rdeyepro's Avatar
United States, CA, Cupertino
Joined Aug 2010
1,008 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hogster View Post
I believe you can either power it using a 3 or 4-cell LiPo (this could be your flight pack), or you can feed 5V directly into the pad at the bottom, as shown in this diagram:



As to which is the 'best' ... I don't know ... running from an external 5V source will mean the onboard linear 5V regulator won't be running, so won't get warm / hot ... (correct?)

Cheers


David
I want to be real clear on this before I power the board. When I asked before paul said I only need to connect the + from the lipo to the lipo pin (ground would be returned through ESCs). In this pic you show ground from lipo going to the reset pin?
3rdeyepro is offline Find More Posts by 3rdeyepro
Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2011, 12:29 PM
HeliAP'er!
Hogster's Avatar
Surrey, UK
Joined Aug 2003
8,210 Posts
Good point 3rdeye ... another member PM'd me with that detail which I assumed was correct ... seems odd to connect a ground to the reset pin I must say! I will modify the diagram again. Thanks for the heads up!


David
Hogster is offline Find More Posts by Hogster
Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2011, 04:08 PM
Registered User
Goofy23's Avatar
Hamburg, Germany
Joined Jan 2011
1,075 Posts
Hi Guys made some GPS Bobīs for testing.
These 3 will go out to developers/testers.
Ramon will get one and Oleg will get one.
3rdeye should get one too i tihnk.
From this first 3 none is for me, Jussi can you wait till i have the 3.3V regulators?
As Ramon showed in the Pirates Thread the LLC is not needed it seems, but i will stay with that, its safe.
I may can add support for other modules on the bob?
Goofy23 is offline Find More Posts by Goofy23
Last edited by Goofy23; May 26, 2011 at 05:03 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2011, 04:19 PM
Registered User
Geneva, Switzerland
Joined Jan 2009
795 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goofy23 View Post
Hi Guys made some GPS Bobīs for testing.
These 3 will go out to developers testers.
Ramon will get one and Oleg will get one.
3rdeye should get one too i tihnk.
From this first 3 none is for me, Jussi can you wait till i have the 3.3V regulators?
As Ramon showed in the Pirates Thread the LLC is not needed it seems but i will stay with that, its safe.
I may can add support for other modules on the bob?
Nice work, Paul!

I just ordered your flydusense bob, I will use it with your flyduino and Jussi's FFIMU, and test MP code, I can't wait to get them!

I'm not sure to understand right your last question, but maybe an Xbee bob/adapter could be interesting to have in the Flydu-ino/-bution/-sense tower...
helicoblast is offline Find More Posts by helicoblast
Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2011, 04:23 PM
Registered User
Goofy23's Avatar
Hamburg, Germany
Joined Jan 2011
1,075 Posts
Thanks!
Oh sorry my last question was what other GPS modules we want to support, i can make some pads for it accordingly on the BOB.
Right! a xbee would be fantastic, will investigate in that later.
Goofy23 is offline Find More Posts by Goofy23
Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2011, 04:24 PM
Hovership
3rdeyepro's Avatar
United States, CA, Cupertino
Joined Aug 2010
1,008 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goofy23 View Post
Hi Guys made some GPS Bobīs for testing.
These 3 will go out to developers testers.
Ramon will get one and Oleg will get one.
3rdeye should get one too i tihnk.
From this first 3 none is for me, Jussi can you wait till i have the 3.3V regulators?
As Ramon showed in the Pirates Thread the LLC is not needed it seems but i will stay with that, its safe.
I may can add support for other modules on the bob?
Are you sending it with the GPS on it or everything but the GPS? I just ordered a GPS so I can solder it on myself.
3rdeyepro is offline Find More Posts by 3rdeyepro
Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2011, 04:27 PM
Registered User
Goofy23's Avatar
Hamburg, Germany
Joined Jan 2011
1,075 Posts
The picture is only for demonstration purpose.
The Module is not soldered on it, i can only deliver the BOB atm.
Goofy23 is offline Find More Posts by Goofy23
Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2011, 09:31 PM
Registered User
berkely's Avatar
Belgium, Flemish Region, coast
Joined Nov 2009
219 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hogster View Post
I believe you can either power it using a 3 or 4-cell LiPo (this could be your flight pack), or you can feed 5V directly into the pad at the bottom, as shown in this diagram:



As to which is the 'best' ... I don't know ... running from an external 5V source will mean the onboard linear 5V regulator won't be running, so won't get warm / hot ... (correct?)

Cheers


David
Carefull with the diagrams David

It seems you have connected all gnd's from the ESC's together. It's better not to do so & avoid ground loops. Check this link on that topic if you want.

Regards
B.
berkely is offline Find More Posts by berkely
Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2011, 09:40 PM
Registered User
berkely's Avatar
Belgium, Flemish Region, coast
Joined Nov 2009
219 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goofy23 View Post
New Toys in the shop
www.flyduino.com
Nice Paul,

You think it's an option to add Vibration dampeners M3x15(or similar) to the shop?


The ones that MK uses?

I have pretty good experience with them. Since you provide the standoffs, these might improve overall performance.

Just an idea

Regards
B.
berkely is offline Find More Posts by berkely
Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2011, 09:49 PM
Hovership
3rdeyepro's Avatar
United States, CA, Cupertino
Joined Aug 2010
1,008 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by berkely View Post
Carefull with the diagrams David

It seems you have connected all gnd's from the ESC's together. It's better not to do so & avoid ground loops. Check this link on that topic if you want.

Regards
B.
So how do you do that? Just solder only signal pin for all motors (if I am using the regulator on the flyduino)?
3rdeyepro is offline Find More Posts by 3rdeyepro
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product Please let me introduce myself jimaquo Dock Talk 7 Oct 27, 2010 02:27 AM
Let me introduce the DEMON!!!! (Transparent covering and eliptical wing!!!) modest-master Sport Planes 7 Aug 25, 2002 11:46 PM
Let me introduce Angelis 280/400, Benjamin, Zombi (ARFs) modest-master Parkflyers 17 Mar 14, 2002 01:20 PM
Let me introduce the "NIKE" modest-master Electric Sailplanes 3 Mar 07, 2002 05:20 AM