HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Dec 04, 2011, 05:27 AM
Registered User
2.4g shaun's Avatar
United Kingdom, England, West York
Joined Aug 2008
169 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by aBUGSnightmare View Post
Hi Shaun,

what about posting your PIDs??

aBUGSworstnightmare
Good Idea.....

Will do when I get back home.....

Shaun
2.4g shaun is offline Find More Posts by 2.4g shaun
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 04, 2011, 05:54 AM
Registered User
Deutschland, Schleswig-Holstein, Kiel
Joined Jan 2011
431 Posts
i use stock PID atm.
other than with bigger copters, prop balancing has far more influence to this little copter than PID.....


tested PID from P 2.2 to 5 and D 10 to 30.

but nothing did more effort than balancing props.
alteskind is offline Find More Posts by alteskind
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 04, 2011, 07:11 AM
Registered User
Geneva, Switzerland
Joined Jan 2009
792 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by aBUGSnightmare View Post
Hi Bastien,

pin 10 (COM) of the ULN2803A goes to LiPo! GND is on pin 9; since it's the only GND connection be shure it can handle the current (don't use a two small wire here).

aBUGSworstnightmare
HI aBUGSworstnightmare,

I did as you said and it works, thanks.

But, I still have a power problem: LEDs won't shine enough...

I think I found the problem, but don't know how to solve it.

According to this guide, PIN1 (IN0) has to get a "DigitalWrite(HIGH)" to be ON and "DigitalWrite(LOW)" to be OFF.

In the code I'm currently using (MegaPirate2.0.49), it's originally a Relay used.
As there is no relay on the Flyduino, I've changed the code to use the PIN A1 instead of a relay.
But, I've only changed the Bit adress, so there's no "DigitalWrite(HIGH)" or "DigitalWrite(LOW)" here:

Code:
static void relay_on()
{
	PORTF |= B00000010;
}

static void relay_off()
{
	PORTF &= ~B00000010;
}

static void relay_toggle()
{
	PORTF ^= B00000010;
}
Would the problem comes from here?

Is it possible to change the code like this:

Code:
static void relay_on()
{
	digitalWrite(RELAY_PIN,HIGH);
	//PORTF |= B00000010;
}
static void relay_off()
{
	digitalWrite(RELAY_PIN,LOW);
	//PORTF &= ~B00000010;
}
static void relay_toggle()
{
	relay_on();
	delay(100);
	relay_off();
}
Thanks for your help!

Regards,

Bastien
helicoblast is online now Find More Posts by helicoblast
Last edited by helicoblast; Dec 04, 2011 at 07:13 AM. Reason: correction
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 04, 2011, 07:11 AM
let's brm together!
Czech Republic, Prague
Joined Nov 2011
390 Posts
Yesterday I built my first FlyduSpider, and then did something stupid (but still don't know what) and fried my Flyduino mega and receiver... I had receiver signals coming to the outer (gnd) pins on arduino, receiver blinked strangely. I corrected this, plugged in the receiver and heard a zapping sound and saw some smoke. FC lights went off and motors started spinning.
Nothing visibly damaged but receiver and atmega are toast. FC just heats insanely when connected to any power supply and receiver doesn't light up on signal, so I guess it's gone.
When disassembling it I didn't find anything wrong with the wiring (not at the moment it fried). I just hope it didn't fry the rest of the electronics as well :/

Lesson learned - do not assemble stuff at 3AM, you're gonna do something stupid.
zviratko is offline Find More Posts by zviratko
Last edited by zviratko; Dec 04, 2011 at 07:54 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 04, 2011, 07:27 AM
Registered User
Joined Jul 2011
188 Posts
Hi Bastien,

be shure the internal pull-ups on the I/O were disabled. Also refer to this description of DigitalWrite: http://www.arduino.cc/en/Reference/digitalWrite

Joerg
aBUGSworstnightmare

Quote:
Originally Posted by helicoblast View Post
HI aBUGSworstnightmare,

I did as you said and it works, thanks.

But, I still have a power problem: LEDs won't shine enough...

I think I found the problem, but don't know how to solve it.

According to this guide, PIN1 (IN0) has to get a "DigitalWrite(HIGH)" to be ON and "DigitalWrite(LOW)" to be OFF.

In the code I'm currently using (MegaPirate2.0.49), it's originally a Relay used.
As there is no relay on the Flyduino, I've changed the code to use the PIN A1 instead of a relay.
But, I've only changed the Bit adress, so there's no "DigitalWrite(HIGH)" or "DigitalWrite(LOW)" here:

Code:
static void relay_on()
{
	PORTF |= B00000010;
}

static void relay_off()
{
	PORTF &= ~B00000010;
}

static void relay_toggle()
{
	PORTF ^= B00000010;
}
Would the problem comes from here?

Is it possible to change the code like this:

Code:
static void relay_on()
{
	digitalWrite(RELAY_PIN,HIGH);
	//PORTF |= B00000010;
}
static void relay_off()
{
	digitalWrite(RELAY_PIN,LOW);
	//PORTF &= ~B00000010;
}
static void relay_toggle()
{
	relay_on();
	delay(100);
	relay_off();
}
Thanks for your help!

Regards,

Bastien
aBUGSnightmare is offline Find More Posts by aBUGSnightmare
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 04, 2011, 12:01 PM
Registered User
Goofy23's Avatar
Hamburg, Germany
Joined Jan 2011
1,075 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by r0sewhite View Post
ATAVRSBIN1 is a 9DOF with gyro, acc and mag. It's even more than you need to fly. What other sensors are we talking about?



That wouldn't be my choice since it's too heavy, as you already noticed. Almost any other IMU is lighter and small enough to fit on the WMP reserved space.
Those Atmel Sensors are still a nice avaiable sollution, sure there are lighter ones, but at least those atmels have a very good QC and are reliable units.
As you saw only good reviews.
But i am very open, i will stock lots of different possibilities for sensors in the near future, but this Atmel is nicely suprted by a bugsnightmares board and gives some nice plug and play.
On a regular sized quad weight is no big concern, even with the BMP085, which is for sure a pretty heavy sollution for just a baro.
Goofy23 is offline Find More Posts by Goofy23
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 04, 2011, 01:08 PM
Registered User
2.4g shaun's Avatar
United Kingdom, England, West York
Joined Aug 2008
169 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by alteskind View Post
i use stock PID atm.
other than with bigger copters, prop balancing has far more influence to this little copter than PID.....
tested PID from P 2.2 to 5 and D 10 to 30.
but nothing did more effort than balancing props.
Thats true until you have balanced the props as well as possible, then PID tuning helps.

I have my props balanced to within 1mm of their life


Here we go aBUGSnightmare ......

My PIDS are as follows

Roll and Pitch P - 3.4, I - 0,34, D - 18
Yaw 11, 0, 0

RC
Rate 0.7
Expo 0.5

Motors Turnigy 1811 - 2000
Props GWS 5x3x3
2s 450mAh Lipo

These will all change when I add the frame stiffening rods and use 3S I expect.

On a small frame like this I believe it is down to personal preference on how you like the copter to react.

A friend designed his own small quad, very similar in weight and size to the Flydumini.. His PIDs are very different

Shaun
2.4g shaun is offline Find More Posts by 2.4g shaun
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 04, 2011, 03:22 PM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2011
126 Posts
Hi,
I am having a lot of problem programming flyduino .
I tried version 0022 , oo23 and 1.0
With 1.0 I am unable to compile
With version 0023 I can upload multiwii 1.7 and 1.9

1.7 ulpoad correctlyu but I can't see any value an the gui and the read are all 0

1.9 I can see erratic acc value but the gyro stay always on 0

this is the photo of my board , can someone take a look at it?

(Click for bigger)



This is the video of the gui http://dl.dropbox.com/u/16215769/Gui1.avi
claustro is offline Find More Posts by claustro
Last edited by claustro; Dec 04, 2011 at 03:56 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 04, 2011, 04:57 PM
Registered User
quadraf's Avatar
Holland
Joined Apr 2010
83 Posts
Hi Claustro,

I believe the 3v pin in this case is wrongly connected to the WMP+(as on the first page!) and think you have to connect it to the second pad.
When you have 8 pads and the first pad next to the "hole" then that pad is not connected. See 2 pictures i found for the correct WMP+ connection:



Quote:
Originally Posted by claustro View Post
Hi,
I am having a lot of problem programming flyduino .
I tried version 0022 , oo23 and 1.0
With 1.0 I am unable to compile
With version 0023 I can upload multiwii 1.7 and 1.9

1.7 ulpoad correctlyu but I can't see any value an the gui and the read are all 0

1.9 I can see erratic acc value but the gyro stay always on 0

this is the photo of my board , can someone take a look at it?

This is the video of the gui http://dl.dropbox.com/u/16215769/Gui1.avi
quadraf is offline Find More Posts by quadraf
Last edited by quadraf; Dec 04, 2011 at 05:38 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 04, 2011, 05:36 PM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2011
126 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by quadraf View Post
Hi Claustro,

I believe the 3v pin in this case is wrongly connected to the WMP+(as on the first page!) and think you have to connect it to the second pad.
When you have 8 pads and the first pad next to the "hole" then that pad is not connected. See the picture i found for the correct WMP+ connection:
First of all thank you very much for your replay
So you are suggesting me that I would have to connect the red wire ( in my case) on the pad immediately on the right of the yellow wire , Is it right?
Tomorrow I'll try and keep you posted !!

Andrea
claustro is offline Find More Posts by claustro
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 04, 2011, 05:43 PM
Registered User
quadraf's Avatar
Holland
Joined Apr 2010
83 Posts
yes
quadraf is offline Find More Posts by quadraf
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 04, 2011, 06:20 PM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2008
120 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by claustro View Post
Hi,
I am having a lot of problem programming flyduino .
I tried version 0022 , oo23 and 1.0
With 1.0 I am unable to compile
With version 0023 I can upload multiwii 1.7 and 1.9

1.7 ulpoad correctlyu but I can't see any value an the gui and the read are all 0

1.9 I can see erratic acc value but the gyro stay always on 0

this is the photo of my board , can someone take a look at it?

(Click for bigger)



This is the video of the gui http://dl.dropbox.com/u/16215769/Gui1.avi
did you select the proper board in the arduino IDE?
I used Arduino IDE 022 since 1.7 no problems at all.
treeda is offline Find More Posts by treeda
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 04, 2011, 06:39 PM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2011
126 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by treeda View Post
did you select the proper board in the arduino IDE?
I used Arduino IDE 022 since 1.7 no problems at all.

yes it seems to me
mega 2560.

Thank you
Andrea
claustro is offline Find More Posts by claustro
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 05, 2011, 01:48 AM
QuaDreko pilot :)
Drekavac's Avatar
Slovenia, Kamnik
Joined Oct 2010
116 Posts
In case of using Wii plus and BMA020 it is needed to add two 4k7 resistors for version 1.9 to work.
I spend many hours searching for problem, and then find out, that all I need is two resistors.
Drekavac is offline Find More Posts by Drekavac
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 05, 2011, 02:12 AM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2011
126 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drekavac View Post
In case of using Wii plus and BMA020 it is needed to add two 4k7 resistors for version 1.9 to work.
I spend many hours searching for problem, and then find out, that all I need is two resistors.
two resistors??
Wait this is the first time I here that , can you explain it?
Where you solder the resitors? photos?
Thx
Andrea
claustro is offline Find More Posts by claustro
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product Please let me introduce myself jimaquo Dock Talk 7 Oct 27, 2010 02:27 AM
Let me introduce the DEMON!!!! (Transparent covering and eliptical wing!!!) modest-master Sport Planes 7 Aug 25, 2002 11:46 PM
Let me introduce Angelis 280/400, Benjamin, Zombi (ARFs) modest-master Parkflyers 17 Mar 14, 2002 01:20 PM
Let me introduce the "NIKE" modest-master Electric Sailplanes 3 Mar 07, 2002 05:20 AM